We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended for Paris” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Bretonnerie

Save Saved
You added Hotel de la Bretonnerie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 rue Sainte-Croix de la Bretonnerie | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #343 of 1,795 hotels in Paris
Turlock, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Recommended for Paris”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just spent 4 nights here and would definitely stay again. The location is excellent--walking distance to many sites, lots of cafes and things nearby, and le Marais is a charming district. The rates were very reasonable by Paris standards, the staff was very friendly, and the room was comfortable. I also like the boutique feel and quirkiness of this hotel; it's certainly not a Marriott.

My room (9) was plenty spacious enough for me, if a little eccentric. The toilet was in a cubicle in one place, and the tub and sink were on the other side of the room. The tub had a handheld shower head with no stand (or curtain), which annoyed me. Otherwise, the room was well equipped and the wifi is free, if a little wonky.

With my window open, there was quite a bit of street noise. There's a club across the street and the guys are pretty loud until pretty late--even on week nights. On the other hand, the room was quiet if I kept the window closed, and the street was peaceful in the mornings.

I wouldn't bother with the hotel breakfast. There are plenty of cafes within a very short walk.

I'd definitel recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid room 9 if the street noise will bug you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    134
    28
    5
    6
See reviews for
45
121
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I truly loved this place! We spent 4 days in Paris, and at the end of each night were so glad to go back to this hotel! Marais is definitely the best place to stay, and this hotel is cozy and comfy and had everything we needed. We could walk to so many places, but if we decided to train it, it was close to many good stations. There was no a/c and I worried about that at first, but with the beautiful french windows open and fan it was no problem at all. Our room faced into a courtyard like area and he street, and even in the night the room was very quiet. Also the people working at the desk were so helpful! Gave us good restaurants recommendations and helped us with directions. I would no doubt stay here again and again. It truly made our trip to pais perfect!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This was our second time staying at this hotel and we were very happy that we chose this hotel again. Since our first time (probably about five years ago), the hotel has been renovated with new carpets, wall and ceiling coverings, and now is in excellent condition.

Even though it was August and reasonably warm, we did not miss A/C and could easily sleep with the windows open as we had a room at the back of the hotel. The room and bathroom were very clean and the bed was comfortable. Wifi was free and works fine, albeit a bit slow. Selection of TV channels is rather limited with mainly French channels, but who needs to watch a lot of TV when in Paris!

Overall, service was very friendly, good, and professional. Also the breakfast was pretty good, even though one of the mornings we had to wait for a while for some items to be refilled.

As we stayed here in August, the hotel had a special deal (120 Euro per night for 2 people including breakfast), which is a reasonable price for this type of hotel in such a good central location. Regular prices during other times of the year are quite high, but that is quite normal for good quality hotels in or near the center of Paris.

The location of the hotel is just perfect... right in the middle of Le Marais, very close to the Centre Pompidou and several metro stops (Hotel de Ville metro is only a few minutes walking from the hotel, or Chatelet-Les Halles station about ten-fifteen minutes walking).

If a good deal is available, we certainly will stay here again on our next visit to Paris.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, away from the street in front, to avoid too much noise (esp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Hotel de la Bretonnerie is located on a small , quiet, street at the heart of the Marais, a busy and artsy section of Paris, not far from the stupendous Place des Vosges. The buiding itself dates back to the 18 th century, with thick stone walls ( cool in summer). Rooms are very nicely decorated, mostly uphostered in the Normandy style , curtains and bedspreads in Toile de Jouy, very spacious, the top floor ones have beamed ceilings, which adds to their charm. AC, TV, Wi-Fi. Very clean.Excellent breakfast , good coffee ( in fine Pierre Frey China ). reasonably priced. Only flaw, the receptionist ( Russian, I think ) was too busy to be polite.... But that s another story.

I would certainly stay there again, it s very convenient and charming!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have beamed ceilings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed for one night. Brilliant location In the marais. Nice decor- flowery cloth walls and marble. Big French windows. Our room was very quiet and faced onto a courtyard. And staff very helpful when I felt ill in the night.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The Hotel Bretonnerie couldn't be located in a more vibrant, central and interesting district, with a wide variety of shops, bistros and bars on its doorstep. It is in easy reach of the usual Parisian landmarks (no more than 10 minutes walk to Notre Dame) and around the corner from the atmospheric old Jewish quarter, The walk to the Place de Vosges is an easy stroll and the old streets are stunning.
Given its central location, we expected there to be plenty of noise in our hotel room, but it was remarkably quiet - we really could have been in the middle of nowhere! We had requested a quiet room and so we were able to sleep with the windows open without any disturbance.
The room itself was rather quirky in terms of decor but we were not looking for corporate uniformity for this trip. The bed was a little lumpy and the room rather small, but it would be unrealistic to expect a big room at a reasonable price in central Paris, especially since it is an old building.
We found all the staff on reception to be extremely helpful, knowledgeable and welcoming and the foyer has a great selection of guidebooks and novels to borrow. In all, we would certainly make a point of booking the hotel again as we regularly visit Paris and this has so far proven to be the best located and friendly hotel we have used.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard are quiet and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

A fairly simple 3 star hotel in the Marais, near the Hotel de Ville, easy stroll to the Pompidou Centre and the Seine. Friendly, efficient staff. Clean and comfortable room if maybe a little on the small side. No a/c. Nice place, good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel de la Bretonnerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Bretonnerie

Address: 22 rue Sainte-Croix de la Bretonnerie | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#271 Family Hotel in Paris
#403 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Bretonnerie 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the Place des Vosges, the Picasso Museum, the Georges Pompidou Center and from the Notre-Dame, you will enjoy a charming residence typical of the Marais area, which has managed to preserve its character.Each of its 7 suites and 22 rooms, uniquely decorated, invites you to an intimate stay. It resides in an old private hotel from the 17th Century and buried in the heart of Pari, where it is easy to get lost among the old facades and flowered interior gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel de la Bretonnerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Bretonnerie Paris
De La Bretonnerie Hotel
Hotel De La Bretonnerie Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Bretonnerie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.