We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming little hotel in the Marais” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Bretonnerie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de la Bretonnerie to your Saves list
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 rue Sainte-Croix de la Bretonnerie | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #415 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A charming little hotel in the Marais”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Hotel de la Bretonnerie is located on a small , quiet, street at the heart of the Marais, a busy and artsy section of Paris, not far from the stupendous Place des Vosges. The buiding itself dates back to the 18 th century, with thick stone walls ( cool in summer). Rooms are very nicely decorated, mostly uphostered in the Normandy style , curtains and bedspreads in Toile de Jouy, very spacious, the top floor ones have beamed ceilings, which adds to their charm. AC, TV, Wi-Fi. Very clean.Excellent breakfast , good coffee ( in fine Pierre Frey China ). reasonably priced. Only flaw, the receptionist ( Russian, I think ) was too busy to be polite.... But that s another story.

I would certainly stay there again, it s very convenient and charming!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have beamed ceilings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    142
    34
    5
    6
See reviews for
48
132
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed for one night. Brilliant location In the marais. Nice decor- flowery cloth walls and marble. Big French windows. Our room was very quiet and faced onto a courtyard. And staff very helpful when I felt ill in the night.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The Hotel Bretonnerie couldn't be located in a more vibrant, central and interesting district, with a wide variety of shops, bistros and bars on its doorstep. It is in easy reach of the usual Parisian landmarks (no more than 10 minutes walk to Notre Dame) and around the corner from the atmospheric old Jewish quarter, The walk to the Place de Vosges is an easy stroll and the old streets are stunning.
Given its central location, we expected there to be plenty of noise in our hotel room, but it was remarkably quiet - we really could have been in the middle of nowhere! We had requested a quiet room and so we were able to sleep with the windows open without any disturbance.
The room itself was rather quirky in terms of decor but we were not looking for corporate uniformity for this trip. The bed was a little lumpy and the room rather small, but it would be unrealistic to expect a big room at a reasonable price in central Paris, especially since it is an old building.
We found all the staff on reception to be extremely helpful, knowledgeable and welcoming and the foyer has a great selection of guidebooks and novels to borrow. In all, we would certainly make a point of booking the hotel again as we regularly visit Paris and this has so far proven to be the best located and friendly hotel we have used.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard are quiet and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

A fairly simple 3 star hotel in the Marais, near the Hotel de Ville, easy stroll to the Pompidou Centre and the Seine. Friendly, efficient staff. Clean and comfortable room if maybe a little on the small side. No a/c. Nice place, good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The good points:
1. The staff at the reception were helpful and knowledgeable.
2. The breakfast was generous compared to most hotels in Paris, with a good variety and friendly service. There were oranges and a squeezer for fresh juice, and fresh bread and croissants, cereals, cheeses, hams and yogurt were freely available.
3. The hotel's location is very good, in the center of the Marais and near the Metro and many central bus routes.

However, there were some negative points that detracted from the stay:
1. Check-in time. The reservation page gives a check-in time of 2 p.m.; however, when we arrived at 2.30 p.m., we were told that the room was not ready and the check-in time as 3 p.m. In fact, we were asked to come back a few minutes after 3 p.m.. We returned at 3:30 p.m. and the room was indeed ready.
2. The room, number 12, was divided by a wall so the sleeping area felt cramped. The bathroom, however, was fine.
3. There was only one electrical socket and we had to ask for a multi-socket plug for our laptops.
4. There is no air conditioning: there was a small fan, which we had to balance on a chair as there was no stand.
5. On one occasion there was no cold water for an hour and a half.
6, Once we hung the sign to clean the room right after breakfast, but when we came back at 2 p.m. the room had not been cleaned and sign was still there. They offered to clean the room immediately, but we wanted to rest and were upset that the room had not been made up, so we declined.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I had stayed here several years ago and found it decent. This trip I was shocked at how badly treated I was. I had reserved a room several months in advance and specifically requested a quiet room. I was given a ground floor room during the summer facing the noisy street. The rooms have no AC and so the window must be open. I asked Patrick at the desk immediately about switching rooms. He LIED to me that there was construction going on in the rear of the hotel--a lie that was revealed to me later by another person at the desk who told me that the construction had been finished last year. Patrick resolutely refused to change my room even though there were rooms available. I was unable to sleep as the street noise from the garbage collection early and the gay bars across the way day and night was extraordinary. Patrick is rude and nasty and unwelcoming, and made my stay unpleasant. I had the idea that customers were to be appreciated but if Patrick, a 30 year veteran desk clerk, doesn't think you are cool-too bad for you. Find another hotel --do yourself a favor--this one is nothing great to begin with--shabby, small lumpy bed, worn and unwelcoming; the addition of a hostile desk clerk makes it a bad deal.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel--unpleasant place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Third time back at this hotel, paying only 10 Euros more than in 2004.
Excellent value, comfortable, great staff, in the center of Le Marais.
No pool. Only breakfast provided, but it's good and varied.
Le Marais can be loud and boisterous, but hotel is a good retreat.
No air conditioning, so look out in August.
Overall, a very good deal. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Bretonnerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Bretonnerie

Address: 22 rue Sainte-Croix de la Bretonnerie | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#419 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#448 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Bretonnerie 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the Place des Vosges, the Picasso Museum, the Georges Pompidou Center and from the Notre-Dame, you will enjoy a charming residence typical of the Marais area, which has managed to preserve its character.Each of its 7 suites and 22 rooms, uniquely decorated, invites you to an intimate stay. It resides in an old private hotel from the 17th Century and buried in the heart of Pari, where it is easy to get lost among the old facades and flowered interior gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de la Bretonnerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Bretonnerie Paris
De La Bretonnerie Hotel
Hotel De La Bretonnerie Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Bretonnerie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.