We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another delightful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Bretonnerie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de la Bretonnerie to your Saves list
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 rue Sainte-Croix de la Bretonnerie | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France (Le Marais)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #414 of 1,773 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Another delightful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We just had another delightful stay at the Hotel. Warmly welcomed by Patrick and Karen at the Front Desk. We had a delightful junior suite on the second floor overlooking the street. The style and furnishing of the room is so totally french and it makes you really feel as if you are really living in Paris. The breakfast in the cellar is great, good baked goods, fresh squeezed orange juice and a selection of morning papers from all over the world. The hotel is spotless, great job done by Housekeeping. We now feel, with the warm welcome, that this hotel is truly our home away from home in Paris. We made sure to book our stay for 2013 when we checked out.....What higher compliment can you give a hotel !!!!!!

Room Tip: Book Early as the hotel fills up fast
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    148
    33
    5
    6
See reviews for
52
136
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Our 2nd stay in 3 years, But now I knew to ask for a "quiet" room, which means away from main street...
You get to know what to ask for after staying once as there are indeed quite a few busy gay bars in that very street and obviously it can get lively at weekends, so the "quiet" side, overlooking the courtyard was perfect and hotel kindly respected our preference (told them well in advance by email). Room 12 was a basic room but we managed to have enough space for all our luggage, we slept well & shower was lovely. It is a very quaint taste in decor and we like that. Staff at reception was most helpful& efficient in we sorting a taxi to Gare du Nord/EUROSTAR as it started raining so getting bus was no longer an option. (15 euro / with tip, less than 15 min).

This Hotel's location is perfect for a lot of things:
- SHOPPING in Le Marais is fantastic: for fashion & also lots of Home& latest design/gadgets shops all over the area, including 2 right next to the hotel (FLEUX).
- Less than 5 min walk from the amazing Modern museum "POMPIDOU CENTER". It takes a good 2 hours to do it all properly, really great peices. (not free).
- 2min walk from 'LE PAIN QUOTIDIEN", where daily breakfast is a far wiser choice than the one at hotel, and for similar (high) price.
- 5 min walk from BATOBUS' "Hotel de Ville" stop, which is a boat that you can hop on - off through Paris (£10 for day ticket, 8 stops). Highly recommended instead of nightmare buses or metro. We walked 17km the first day visiting Paris from Hotel, so we decided to hop on it the next day.
- Very close by are "ILE ST LOUIS & ILE DE LA CITE" (for NOTRE DAME), so it is a great morning out walking and visiting both islands, first time you arrive.
- Le Marais feels like a very safe area, there are no dodgy shops attracting any dodgy youths (unlike Les Halles etc) so walking at night and day is very safe.
- GELATO ICE CREAM sold till midnight in same street as hotel, handy when needing a choc fix. Lots of quality boulangerie - patisseries if you want a real croissant on the go. Some grocery stores nearby to get bottled water or snacks for the room, very cheap too.

I will always go to this hotel as for me location is everything and Le Marais will always be my fave area in Paris to stay at. And this hotel ticks all my boxes, 2nd time around.

Room Tip: Be aware that all rooms overlooking the street level will be noisy at weekends, due to nearby trendy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

just been to this hotel as my husband has completed the marathon this weekend, it was a really lovely hotel, arrived and had room 30 at the top, was a bit small and had beams which sadly i cracked my head on twice within an hour and the reception were lovely and moved us the next day (no space on night) to room 29 on 3rd floor with lovely canopied bed and big sash windows making it lovely and light (it wasnt any bigger really though, just without beams!) but the size was really just fine, we didnt need a suite for the time we spent in there ! but they knew my husband was coming back from the marathon as they were getting our new room ready the next day and had made sure our first room was still left available to him for a shower if he happened to get back before they had finished as they thought he may have been cold. This was really thoughtful service. its a busy area and central city and the sweepers can start early, but i never sleep at a hotel without earplugs so it never bothers me. the bed was really comfy...memory foam i think, as i never felt my hubby move over once in the night. Staff super friendly and the inhouse free wifi was great as it meant no roaming charges on our phone and we could still plan and surf. marais was great for meals and we had booked in advance a meal at pain vin fromage a 2 min walk away (tucked down a street) before we went and had fab fondue and raclette with a ton of vin and pain and jacket potato and reasonable priced too for paris...they even provided tap water to the table without being asked...a rarity......drinks generally though in paris blew us away and we remained relatively sober.....my usual vodka tipple was 10euros a shot lots of places! even wine and beer was about 7-8 euro...but thats paris....lots of places though did a good happy hour between 5 and 8 or even 10 in some places, so that helps! went to a fab breakfast place round the corner on rue des archives called le pain quotiden.....opposite starbucks and it had outside tables and a lovely communal table inside where you could all sit and get lovely brekkie of coffee fresh squeezed juice soft egg and bread and jams and croissant for 12 euro...this was a great find and we had sunday brunch their in a rustic and convivial environment. its great for the metro hotel de ville was the nearest stop and from Charles de gaulle it took about and hour in total for changes and train in etc.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I have been twice at this hotel and it is excellent.
An ancient charming building with clean, confortable and pleasant rooms.
The hotel is small but very cosy, warm and polite/friendly atmosphere.
If you stay at this wonderful hotel you are going to be in the heart of Marais district, 10 minutes walking distance from Baubourg / Centre Pompidou or magnificent Plavce Des Voges.
I reccomend this hotel for everybody that would like to stay at the Marais in a 'parisienne' atmosphere.
Book a Chambre de Charmetyoe when possible.

Room Tip: I recommend to book a 'room de charme'
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

As other reviewers have said, the location is great, in the bustling Marais district. The first impression as one enters is of old-world, almost rural French charm. We booked a junior suite (35) and were surprised how spacious and quiet it was for central Paris. The bedroom with superking - or two twins - with two attractive canopies was a decent size, with antique/reproduction furniture. The lighting could have been better for reading in bed, and we are more used to a duvet than a blanket, but the beds were comfortable. Between the bedroom and the bathroom was a separate room with a TV and sleigh bed that doubled up as a sofa. The roomy, airy travertine-tiled bathroom - with two windows overlooking and internal courtyard as did our bedroom - had a bath (with shower attachment), two inset basins and a separate WC. The towels could have been larger and fluffier. Everything was clean, with typically-French, fabric-covered walls - either in a deep red or beige and white floral, the latter the same as used on the bed canopies. The whole effect was classic but classy. Everyone at reception was very friendly and helpful and although our room was not cheap, we felt it was worth the outlay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel - amazingly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

My husband and I visit Paris for a few days every year when travel to Europe. We love the quaintness and size of this hotel. We stay there every time. Clean, vintage and near Notre Dame and Ile St..Louis. Simple, and the staff is so helpful.

Room Tip: we always stay in the least expensive room.....not spoiled Americans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

I agree with other reviewers - the location can't be beat, and while the hotel is not super modern, they had everything we needed. The bed was comfortable, and the wifi worked very well. We had a "charming" room which was, in fact, charming, with little dormer windows in the room and in the bathroom, looking out over the street. Front desk staff were helpful, and check in/check out were a breeze. Continental breakfast was in a charming dining room downstairs, and was a great way to start the day. Because of Paris traffic, getting to the hotel in a taxi from Gare du Nord was a nightmare; on our way back we just took the Metro and it was really easy and quick.

Two things we didn't like: Our room was apparently a converted attic, so the ceiling was really low, so we had to hunch over to avoid hitting our heads. In the bathroom, it would have been nice if there were a shower door or curtain (shower was a handheld one) so that water didn't get all over the bathroom.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel de la Bretonnerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Bretonnerie

Address: 22 rue Sainte-Croix de la Bretonnerie | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#364 Family Hotel in Paris
#410 Business Hotel in Paris
#466 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Bretonnerie 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the Place des Vosges, the Picasso Museum, the Georges Pompidou Center and from the Notre-Dame, you will enjoy a charming residence typical of the Marais area, which has managed to preserve its character.Each of its 7 suites and 22 rooms, uniquely decorated, invites you to an intimate stay. It resides in an old private hotel from the 17th Century and buried in the heart of Pari, where it is easy to get lost among the old facades and flowered interior gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de la Bretonnerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Bretonnerie Paris
De La Bretonnerie Hotel
Hotel De La Bretonnerie Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Bretonnerie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.