We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healthy veg food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Ginger

Cafe Ginger
9 rue Jacques Coeur | Metro Bastille, 75004 Paris, France
+33 1 42 72 43 83
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,331 of 13,398 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: Vegan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Cafe Ginger is a lovely place, that's welcomes you with homemade fresh food, creative and tasty. Fresh, flavorous, and friendly, this vegan restaurant has also a non-gluten menu, and all the ingredient are completely organic. The place is located in Bastille, next to the metro station. The restaurant is usually full, it's good to call before coming, the low price, the kitchen, and ambiance made the success of the place.
New Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Healthy veg food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Nice light vegetarian food that won't leave you feeling heavy. Soups and pre prepared plates with a mix of lots of different "salads" and veg baked "pie".

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    13
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Vegan food made with love.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

About us: I'm allergic to wheat and (mostly) vegetarian. My boyfriend is vegan (vegetarian and allergic to dairy and eggs). Needless to say, finding restaurants in Paris that could cater to our dietary restrictions was difficult, but not impossible.

In the sea of bistros that serve meat-on-wheat, we found the lovely Cafe Ginger. We called ahead to make sure they were open for dinner, which they were. When we arrived, the server handed us hand-written menus, and the owner/chef, Claude, came upstairs to explain each item. When I explained that I'm allergic to wheat ("Je suis allergique a blé," is a phrase that came in very handy when we were in France), he pointed out which menu items were wheat-free, and many of them were.

I ordered a vegan/wheat free "Andalusian" gratin, which was chock-full of fresh vegetables and other legumes. It was very tasty, albeit not very large, but actually pretty filling. Being Paris, the meal was more expensive than comparable meals in the United States, but I don't feel that it was overpriced for the neighborhood or the atmosphere. It's right off the Bastille, which makes it incredibly easy to get to by Metro, no matter where you are in Paris.

Later, we started chit-chatting with Claude, telling him that were headed to Marseille (I had to go there on business). He gave us recommendations for where to find vegetarian meals in Marseille (which was much harder than in Paris), and sat and talked with us a while.

What makes this restaurant special is the care put into each meal. The cozy kitchen area downstairs is decorated as though it were in someone's home. We appreciated the time that Claude took with us, and to explain each dish, and take into account my allergy.

If you are in Paris, even if you aren't vegetarian, pay Claude a visit... although, not in August, as that's when he takes off for Marseille on holiday for a month. You will be rewarded with a home-cooked meal made with care and love.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Favorite Vegetarian Restaurant in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Looking for a good vegan/vegetarian restaurant in Paris can be downright difficult, if not impossible (so many of the places we visited were not truly vegan and/or vegetarian--vegetables cooked in meat broth, for example). So, it was with low expectations (but fingers crossed) as we made our way to Cafe Ginger (a nice walk from Marais neighborhood (4th arrondissement) for dinner. At first, we were a little skeptical of the place: we were given a hand-written menu and the decor was super casual (a cute little dog lay snuggled up in the back of the cafe). Then all of a sudden magic happened. We had gone downstairs to use the restroom and thus discovered 'the kitchen.' 'The kitchen' (small as a boat galley) was producing some of the most incredible dishes I had ever seen. And the aromas! That's when we met the owner/chef, Claude. You could tell that he puts his heart soul and mind into each and every one of his creations. Claude came upstairs and explained the menu to all the patrons. Our dinners were outstanding...incredibly creative and delicious. The atmosphere was wonderful..casual but the quality and presentation of the meal added the right amount of sophistication. The owner and the server were both charming hosts (as it felt as if we dined in their home!) & I highly recommend that you pay them a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“1001 Pies For Veggie Lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Known world-wide for its 1001 pies, this place is a must for a the veggie lover. I ordered their zucchini and feta dish. Outstanding. Including a side of potatoes and red rice. A must visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Quaint, quirky and Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Vegetarian restaurants are so few and far between in France that to subject any of them to stringent and demanding standards would seem to be churlish. We had an apartment quite close to Cafe Ginger and went there for a lunch on our last full day in Paris. They are not open for dinner as far as I could tell.

We appeared to have chosen a day when the restaurant had more customers than were expected and the staff [total of three people] appears to have been thrown into some chaos. We were seated at a table with another woman, who happened to be in the toilet when we arrived. So she arrived back at her table to find that she was lunching with people she had never met and with whom she was unable to communicate, fortunately she was very magnanimous about these circumstances. The head waiter/owner proceeded to serve us before her [again she was magnanimous] and throughout the whole meal several tables remained vacant, presumably for the hoards that were about to descend.

We ordered two different pies which came with a range of salads and raw vegetables. We had also planned to order a glass of wine but we were never asked if we would like a drink and by the time the commotion over newly arriving people had died down it was too late as we had finished our meal. The service by the owner was a little like a very likable version of Basil Faulty from Faulty Towers. But the food was excellent, and all-in-all it was a rather charming, if somewhat bemusing lunching experience. I'm sure that this was a somewhat atypical day, it was mentioned several times that they had many more people than usual.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Ginger also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
 

Been to Cafe Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Ginger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.