We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Paris” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Star Champs Elysees

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Star Champs Elysees to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Star Champs Elysees
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18, rue de l'Arc de Triomphe | 17th Arr., 75017 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #507 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Irvine, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location in Paris”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I traveled to a conference in Feb 2012 and took my chance at a Best Western. Normally I would avoid chain hotels in a city known for its boutique lodings, but availabiltiy was at a minimum and I wanted to be close to the Arc de Triomphe. I was pleasantly surprised by the "decent" bed size (for Parisian standards), being 6'4". In addition, the free wireless in-room internet and flat screen TV was a nice plus not found in many US hotels. There was however the inexplicable lack of shower curtain in the bathtub, and only a half glass door. In addition, there was no shower handle, so you had to basically hold the spout in your hand while showering. Also, beware of walking the staircase alone as the hallways lights operate on motion detectors that seem to have a delay.....in other words, you'll trip in the dark if you walk too fast. Finally, I've never seen a 1 person elevator, but the lobby lift is about as close as you get to it. If you have any luggage make the bellhop bring it up after you.

All in all though, it was a functional hotel in a great neighborhood which was far enough off the beaten path for a quiet nights sleep, but close enough to the Champs Elysees and heart of Paris. For the price, it rivals the overall value of lodging in other desirable locations in the city such as the Latin quarter and I would definitely recommend it to couples or business travelers.

Room Tip: If you get a room above the first floor plan on walking the stairs, as the 1 person elevator can mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    164
    38
    15
    6
See reviews for
41
126
26
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California (USA)
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Such a wonderful hotel~ so close the the Arc De Triomphe and Champs Elysees~ we stayed for two nights and each night was very comfortable~ the room was modern, clean. Bed was so comfortable~ I would highly recommend staying at this hotel if the opportunity comes again~

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed here in the summer of 2011. The hotel was in a prime location...right down the street from Arc de Triomphe. It was conveniently located near a major subway station and at the end of the Champs Elysees. Small elevator, but at least they had one. The room and bathroom was small based on American standards, but normal for European/Paris standards. Enclosed stand-up shower, toilet and sink. The hotel is very nicely kept. Room and bathroom was clean. The beds were comfortable. We stayed in a 3 bed room. It had one king (two twins pushed together) and a separate twin bed. The neighborhood around the hotel is quiet at night (good for sleep) but also has several cafe, restaurants, and lounges. I would definitely look to stay here again next time I come to Paris.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Probably one of the worst hotels I have stayed at in Europe. What can I say?, the rooms are extremely small, 3x3m max.. just enough to fit a double bed and your suitcase... The internet service which is free, cannot be accessed because there are too many users... and when you ask for it to be reset, it is a massive deal. Really, in a nutshell, the only good thing I can say about this hotel is that the breakfast is pleasant and it is in a quiet location, close to some key attractions. In my opinion, its best to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

i stayed here in march 2012 - its an attractive hotel with a brilliant location - 2 mins from the metro, arc de triomphe and champs-elysee. excellent base to go explore paris. hotel itself was very good value and i thoroughly enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 days and enjoyed the very helpful staff. Rooms are very small, but have what is needed with a modern bath and extremely quiet, despite the location only some hundred metres from l'Arc de Triomphe. Wireless is included and works well. The breakfast buffet is not big, but again: It had what I needed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

This hotel is located 400m away from the subway station Charles-de-Gaulle Etoile. It is in a quiet little street, close to a small grocery. The room as small, but nice. The doors do not block the noise, so it might be noisy late at night. Breakfast is in the basement, and is OK. The hotel offers a free wifi, but you have to log in each time, and you loose the connections quite often.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor, the view on Paris is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Star Champs Elysees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Star Champs Elysees

Address: 18, rue de l'Arc de Triomphe | 17th Arr., 75017 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#417 Family Hotel in Paris
#528 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Star Champs Elysees 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Star Champs Elysees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Star Champs Elysees Hotel Paris
Best Western Paris
Best Western Hotel Paris
Paris Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Star Champs Elysees, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.