We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Online Pictures are deceiving” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tonic Hotel Louvre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tonic Hotel Louvre to your Saves list
Tonic Hotel Louvre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 - 14 rue du Roule, 75001 Paris, France (Les Halles)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,369 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Online Pictures are deceiving”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for three days in early Aug 2013. I was honestly not impressed with the hotel...it was nothing like the pictures they have online. The room was extremely tiny and the bathroom smelled like mold. I have allergies so I had to keep using my inhaler. I was not happy...for what I paid for the room I was expecting something better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    89
    64
    38
    48
See reviews for
52
80
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel is in a great central location, ideal for first time visitors to Paris. Close to the Seine, Louvre and various metro stations. Travelled to the majority of the famous attractions by foot.

Staff were helpful and friendly, lost the key one day but they just replaced it which was a relief. We had to pay city tax when leaving and wasn't hundred percent if I'd already paid it beforehand so best to know before you arrive.

The rooms were very nice, television, wifi, shower didn't work but I'm sure this would have been sorted if I'd have told reception. The room was cleaned and fresh towels every day. Very small especially the corridors and the lift size was a shock, but was told this is normally the case for Paris hotels? Bit too small for families or groups. Very quiet at night despite the size.

Didn't bother with breakfast in the hotel as we found other local cheaper places to eat.

Would stay again as the location is perfect and good value for money!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

we stayed on the weekend of the 20/21 July, the same weekend as the finish of the tour de france.
We found the staff to be great, very helpful with directions around Paris, and friendly when we relaxed in the bar.
the rooms were very nice, the hotel is not part of a big faceless chain and the quirkiness was what we expected.
The breakfast was great ( i only did baguette and coffee but my folks and the wife did the full cooked breaky)
The hotel is very central , only about 200m to the river and the Louvre Rivoli metro station.

I would recommend this place to couple wanting to stay away from the big chain hotels.

Room Tip: 405 is a great Couples room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Staff was good. Be courteous and you will be treated the same. Front desk personnel all spoke English.
Hotel is close to the Louvre and the Metro, located on a quiet street which suited us just fine.
Express breakfast for Euro 6.50 consisted of coffee, juice, croissant or bread, and yogurt or fruit bowl. Full breakfast for Euro 15.00. We had the express breakfast everyday and were satisfied.
Standard double room was adequate-sized with full, clean bathroom and big bathtub.
Wifi was free and fast enough for checking email, surfing the web, google maps, and checking-in for airline flight.
We would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Had my room tossed when we left for dinner our first day. Untold amounts of money, change purse that was empty, and still picking up the pieces. Too small room for two - could not maneuver around beds, not clean! Beware! Left before the losses were noticed! Did not even make 24 hours!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We choose Tonic because of the location in central Paris. It is close to many attractions and makes walking an easy option to most of them. Front desk staff speaks great English and many other languages and were very nice. It was after you left the desk that one realized the hotel website and reality did not match. The elevator/lift fit one person and a carry on bag and never really stopped fully level at any floor leaving you to stumble over a floor or drop off a ledge. The small hallway into you room was very dirty and only one person could maneuver comfortably. The room size was very small to the point where we did not know how they took the pictures on the website. Our room was 10x8 feet not including the bathroom. The room was old and very dingy and was in need of repair. The walls are thin so anticipate hearing neighbors conversations and TV. Also there is a nightclub just next door so weekend evenings will be spent hearing their music and drunk guests out in the street. Our daily room service included only making the bed and new thin towels. Soap, cups, toilet paper are not replaced so use sparingly. Lastly our reserved price of $79 Euro was not honored at check out. We paid twice the amount after taxes and such. Was informed by the front desk that this was common. So ensure that at check in that your reserved price is on the check in paperwork otherwise you are getting a shock at check out. We voted this hotel as "Never stay here."

Room Tip: Look for another hotel. Sorry, website is deceiving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Gorica, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Close to all interesting places, clean, good breakfast, but really nothing special. Low budget for Paris, in vicinity lots of good restaurants with good wine and food, internet available, staff is nice.

Room Tip: Location counts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tonic Hotel Louvre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonic Hotel Louvre

Address: 12 - 14 rue du Roule, 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,369 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tonic Hotel Louvre 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Fastbooking, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tonic Hotel Louvre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonic Hotel Paris
Tonic Du Louvre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tonic Hotel Louvre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.