We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than decent hotel; unbeatable location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres to your Saves list
Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 rue de la Sorbonne, 75005 Paris, France (Quartier Latin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #551 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“More than decent hotel; unbeatable location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

This is a very good hotel in a superb location. Our room was clean and well-appointed with a small sofa that had been tuned into a bed for our son. Our bed was enormous and wonderfully comfortable.

The staff were friendly and efficient and my goodness, what a fabulous location: a quiet street but just. Few minutes walk away from Cluny and the Latin Quarter.

This is an example of a very good hotel and we will definitely return.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud D, Directeur général at Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for leaving a comment about your recent stay in Le Mercure Paris La Sorbonne

We are really proud about the location of hotel: in a very quiet street, but very closed to major sightseeing and in an area also famous for its many restaurants.

Be sure we will share your review with the whole staff!

We will be happy to count you among our loyalty guests. Do not hesitate to contact us directly upon your next booking!

Kind Regards,

Maria Pires
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    284
    112
    26
    11
See reviews for
107
218
68
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

I agree with most of reviews, the room is very small and bathroom could be better.
To put in the positive side: location is perfect, walking distance to several attractions and restaurants. The service is excellent, wifi was good also.
I already stayed in other hotels in area and all of them had same issue of space.
One idea is to rethink the furniture or things like just a good shower instead of bathtub.
For a couple and short stay is a good choice.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud D, Directeur général at Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor after your recent stay in the Mercure Paris La Sorbonne.

We are very glad to see that you had a good experience in our hotel and appreciated the service and the wifi.

You are right the strength of our hotel and the most important thing for customer is its central location in the heart of the Latin Quarter within walking distance from Notre Dame, Panthéon, Luxembourg Gardens, the bank of the Seiner and Saint Germain des Prés.

Don't hesitate to contact us directly for your next booking, it will a pleasure for us to take care of it.

Kind regards,

Maria Pires
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Small rooms between 12 m2 and 13 m2 including a tiny bathroom of 1.20 m by 1.80 m with a bathtub! Imagine how much space is left for you to move. We had a queen double bed with less than 50cm space on its sides to reach it. After complaining we were moved to a "family" room for 3 of 16m2 where we could walk around without bumping into each other.
The unique advantage of this hotel is that it is well situated in the heat of the 5th arrondissement, you are at a short walk of all major boulevards and attractions.
Otherwise the queen bed was in fact 2 single beds too soft and with a "rift" in the middle. The corridors less than a meter wide. Nothing in this hotel made us feel comfortable or at least cosy.
Avoid it unless you have no other choice.

Room Tip: Avoid it unless you have no other alternative!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud D, Directeur général at Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Sir,

We are really sorry and so confused to learn that you didn’t enjoy your stay in Paris.

We are always doing our best for all our guests, what we did when you moved room.

We can understand your point of view but bear in mind that you book a room in the very heart of Paris in an historical area, where building were built a long time ago.

But our hotel is rated 4 stars then none of the rooms are 12 or 13m2 because it is forbidden. The minimum size for a room in a 4 star hotel is 16m2. The triple room you had is a 24m2.

We would like again to apologize for misunderstanding and for the inconvenience caused.

We really hope you had time to visit our beautiful neighborhood the Latin Quarter and its typical “small” streets, bars and restaurants, but also the main sightseeings of the area such as Notre Dame, Le Panthéon, Luxembourg Gardens, and Saint-Germain des Prés.

Best regards.

Maria Pires
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraga, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

First time stay here and choose this hotel for my wife and younger son's first visit to Paris because I know the district and neighborhood from previous business trips. Excellent location that is walking distance to Notre Dame, the Lourve, d'Orsay, Pantheon, Cluny and other museums and attractions. Close to metro stations and many fine restaurants in the fifth district. Room was a bit small but clean and comfortable for three adults and not unexpected for a Parisien hotel near the center of the city. Bathroom shower was a challenge to keep the water from splashing everywhere. Front desk personnel were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again on my next vacation to Paris.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud D, Directeur général at Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to comment your experience about the Mercure Paris La Sorbonne.

Thank you for highlighting our excellent location close to the metro stations and RER in the heart of the Latin Quarter, a very nice Parisian neighborhood with plenty of shops and restaurants nearby and a very easy access to the main sightseeing's in Paris.

As you mentioned the rooms are not as big as guests can expect, indeed we are in an historic area of Paris, but as you noted, and we are focused on it, rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff is friendly and helpful.

Don't hesitate to contact us directly for your next booking, as repeat customer it will a pleasure for us to deal with it.

Kind regards,

Maria Pires
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed here for three nights from June 12-14, 2014. We were traveling with a large group and the Mercure Paris La Sorbonne was very accommodating. The room was perfect. The bed...amazing! Be prepared to have a soaking wet bathroom when you shower here, though. The shower itself was fine, just not enough of a barrier to keep water from going everywhere. Breakfast was nice. The location was great. Would love to return to Paris and stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud D, Directeur général at Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Mercure Paris La Sorbonne and for taking time to write your beautiful feedback of your recent stay.

We are delighted to read that you would stay again in our hotel upon your next stay in Paris.

Thank you for highlighting the bedding and the breakfast because those points are very important for us.

We took note about your remark concerning the shower and will try to bring a solution for the coming guest.

Be sure that your happiness is our best reward and I will be pleased to share your comments with the whole team!

We look forward to welcoming you again upon your next time in Paris.

Yours Sincerely,

Maria Pires
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I stayed in the hotel for one night in June (travelling for work) and I really enjoyed my stay. The hotel is modern and clean, the area is very convenient, a couple of minutes walk from st Michel (two stops from Gare du Nord with RER B), quarter Latin and Notre Dame. Pantheon and Jardins du Luxembourg are also walking distance. Breakfast was very good. The reception staff was very friendly and polite. Non paraben amenities in the room was definitely a nice touch. I would recommend this hotel for a short city break.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 4th floor, view of Sorbonne. 5th floor might had even better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnauddupin, Directeur général at Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your nice review about the Mercure Paris La Sorbonne.

We are glad to see that you found our hotel very well located, we are in a typical Parisian quarter with plenty of shops and restaurants nearby and with a very easy access, with public transport, to main points of the capital.

We are in the very heart of the Latin Quarter close to Notre Dame, Saint Michel and Saint Germain des Prés.

Thank you for highlighting our Mercure buffet breakfast

We are very grateful to see that found our staff friendly and polite and like our new interior design recently renovated.

Please don't hesitate to contact us directly for your next booking wue will take care ok it.

Kind regards,

Maria Pires
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed in this hotel due to the location and price. Very reasonable for Paris prices and a really good spot. Rooms are very small but if you are like me you are only there to sleep. Place La Sorbonne is 100 metres away and has some great cafes/restaurants. I went to a little place there and had an amazing meal, cannot remember the name of it sorry.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnauddupin, Directeur général at Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Madam,

First of all we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your visit, and for having taken the time to share your comments.

Our hotel is between Saint-Germain des Prés, Luxembourg Gardens and the area of Notre-Dame that make the location very central: you can easily walk to many nice typical restaurants and to the main monuments of Paris.

Your review has been relayed to our staff as your satisfaction is our best satisfaction.

Please don't hesitate to contact us directly for your next booking.

Best regards.

Maria Pires
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres

Address: 14 rue de la Sorbonne, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#272 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#377 Business Hotel in Paris
#428 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#503 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be staying right at the heart of Paris, on the border of the 5th and 6th arrondissements, opposite the Sorbonne University, between the Latin Quarter (5) and Saint Germain des Prés (6), 5 minutes' walk from Notre Dame, the Panthéon, the Luxembourg Gardens and the Sénat. Fully renovated in an intimate, relaxing and contemporary decor, the Mercure Paris la Sorbonne hotel is ideally located whether your stay is for business or leisure. Soufflot public car park is close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Hotel Paris
Accor Paris La Sorbonne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.