We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab little hotel & great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres to your Saves list
Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 rue de la Sorbonne, 75005 Paris, France (Quartier Latin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 nights = up to 40% off
Ranked #579 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fab little hotel & great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

After hours of researching hotels in paris i finally selected Mercure Paris La Sorbonne. It was quite expensive (but knew to expect this with Paris) but was really hoping it would live up to it's expectations and it did! the location was perfect and there was lots of nice food booths & restaurants to be found nearby! we did alot of sight seeing and were vey central to everything! the room was small and cosy but again i was told room size in paris is much smaller than Ireland. the bed was one of the most comfortable beds i've ever stayed in! the room & bathroom was spotless and breakfast was yummy. Myself and my partner travelled together for a romantic weekend and that we had! definitely recommend staying here. for B&B we got it for €195 per night, expensive but worth it,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnauddupin, Directeur général at Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Madam,

We thank you kind review on TripAdvisor about Hotel Mercure Paris La Sorbonne.

As you mentioned our hotel is perfectly located in Paris a short walk from Notre Dame de Paris and Le Louvre or even closer Pantheon and Luxembourg Gardens in the very heart of French Quartier with its nice typical streets all across the area with many bars and restaurants.

We care for you about cleaning, bedding, breakfast with a yummy buffet breakfast and service as well.

We hope to welcome you again for your next romantic stay in Paris.

Yours sincerely,

Maria Pires
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    275
    107
    25
    11
See reviews for
102
205
66
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

In France hotels are typically small and this one's no different. Let's call it efficient. The one 110 outlet in the room was in an inconvenient place in the bathroom and functioned on-and-off. The room was clean and service was good. The location was excellent, a block off the main drag, which made getting out easy and getting sleep easy too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnauddupin, Directeur général at Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor following your stay with us.

You found the 110V outlet inconvenient in the bathroom. We have many adaptors at the Reception for our guests. You should have asked us.

Well indeed our hotel is perfectly located in the Left Bank of the Seine River, in the heart of Latin Quarter, a block from Notre Dame, and very close to Saint Germain des Pres, in a quiet street in front of the La Sorbonne University.

Do not hesitate to contact us directly for you next trip in Paris.

Best regards.

Maria Pires
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolgoprudny, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Good location near Luxemburg Garden, Sorbonne and Pantheon. There are ten minutes to Notre Dame De Paris by foot. Silent street and room. This is cosy hotel with excelent receptionists.
It seems to me the hotel is after reparing - almost everything is new.
I am going to stay there once again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnauddupin, Directeur général at Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comment posted on TripAdvisor further to your recent stay at Hotel Mercure Paris La Sorbonne.

We are indeed located in the heart of Paris, very close to Notre Dame de Paris, in a particularly nice neighborhood on the edge of the Latin Quarter and Saint-Germain-Des-Prés. It is an ideal location for exploring Paris.

We were most pleased to learn that your stay with us met your expectations and we hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely.

Maria Pires
Assistante de Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel is on a side street leading from Place de La Sorbonne, which makes it a fantastic location. However, it is priced on location, therefore overpriced, as the hotel itself does not justify the prices. The rooms are very small, smaller than in any of the photographs, bordering on claustrophobic, for a romantic city, it would be better to have a more romantic room when you are a couple, or not feel like you are sleeping on top of someone else when you are not. There is a bar, but no food in the hotel, which was inconvenient on a busy trip in a city with so many things to do, it's helpful to have the option of room service, especially at this price, to help fit everything in. Also the electricity went off for a few hours on a Saturday night when I stayed, there was no generator, I was not going to the Moulin Rouge but after getting ready in the dark, I may have looked as if I belonged there. I was either in a room next to a place where the people who clean the rooms, or the staff are very, very noisy, they disturbed us a few times early in the morning when moving around outside. Also do not disturb on the door is respected my the room staff, but not the reception staff, who call your room to say they have seen the sign and can they disturb you. These things would not be a problem if the hotel was more appropriately priced, but it was far too expensive for what it is. I'd say look around, there are so many other hotels as it is a lovely area and city. We moved to another hotel for our second week, in the Place de La Sorbonne, I saw the size of our room and felt like we were in our own home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Paris is an expensive city these days and this hotel was no exception. The price paid was high but not out of line with that for hotels of a similar location and standard.

Hotel has been converted from two separate old buildings only joined at the ground floor,. It has two separate lifts for odd and even numbered rooms. Make sure you use the right one.

Hotel is well located two stops on the RER from Gare du Nord and the on the same line that goes to both CDG and Orly. Hotel is opposite the Sorbonne University and right in the middle of Paris. Easy to get to anywhere and Paris is very compact for it's size in any case.

Room was average size. There are two classes of rooms. I had the slightly more expensive one and I believe this meant that the room was bigger. Room was slightly dark and I did not like the plastic used for the seating. Bathroom was good but it was impossible to use the shower without flooding the floor.

Hotel internet was included in the price but was extremely slow and it needed many attempts to get it to connect. Personally I would rather pay for internet if it meant getting a good connection.

The hotel offers breakfast but this is not included and was expensive (15 euros). However the deal I was on gave a 20 euro credit a day to be spent on extras so this was not an issue for me. Breakfast was adequate but would have represented very poor value for money if I had been paying the 15 euros.

There is no on site restaurant but hey this is Paris and there are restaurants and brasseries everywhere.

Staff were generally polite and helpful. I had a problem with my bill. I believe this was because I had changed my booking at the last minute to take advantage of the 20 euro credit offer. However the gentleman at reception was very helpful even though it took him a long time and he did not stop until it was resolved to my satisfaction.

There may be better value hotels around but you were effectively paying for the location.

Room Tip: The more expensive of the two types of room are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I was not sure what to expect, especially when I had to prepay the hotel. But to my surprise, the room was tight fitted but cozy, bathroom well lite, shower GREAT. Bed, I feel asleep quick and the sheets smelled clean.

The internet was ok, free the only downsize is having to re-log in every so often,

The view, horrible but what the heck you are in Paris, you want a view...Take a walk you will get plenty of that.

The location was very quick near a university but no noise. None...zero...

Breakfast more than the selections that I needed and much better surprisingly than even some Sheratons or Hiltons...imagine that. Coffee was quick, no hassle...

Reception was courteous, no drama, and friendly to English speaking folks, which surprised me...They were very helpful in directing me to where I needed to go. I requested a taxi at 6PM....Bang, taxi at 6 PM...

I would come back....no doubt...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, England
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Like most hotels in central Paris the rooms are small. Mine was on the top floor and looked out at the Sorbonne. It had all the usual Mercure trappings. Including proper glasses, not those awful plastic ones.
The hot breakfast was not worth bothering with but there was a huge spread of meats, pastries, cereals, fruit and other goodies.
One bad point. Two single beds pushed together and called a double hence only average rating for sleep quality. It was cold outside but the room was warm.
The price was average for the location.
The situation is great, very close to the Boulevard Saint-Germain and Boulevard Saint-Michel.
There are three Metro/RER stations nearby. I found Luxembourg the most conveient.
Directions from there. Walk downhill on Boulevard Saint-Michel. Turn right into a small squa re with water features in it, I do not know what it is called. At the end of the square turn left, downhill, this is Rue de la Sorbonne. The hotel is on the left. About 10 minutes walking total.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres

Address: 14 rue de la Sorbonne, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#276 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#375 Business Hotel in Paris
#487 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be staying right at the heart of Paris, on the border of the 5th and 6th arrondissements, opposite the Sorbonne University, between the Latin Quarter (5) and Saint Germain des Prés (6), 5 minutes' walk from Notre Dame, the Panthéon, the Luxembourg Gardens and the Sénat. Fully renovated in an intimate, relaxing and contemporary decor, the Mercure Paris la Sorbonne hotel is ideally located whether your stay is for business or leisure. Soufflot public car park is close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Hotel Paris
Accor Paris La Sorbonne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.