We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a nice part of town....but not four star..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres to your Saves list
Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 rue de la Sorbonne, 75005 Paris, France (Panthéon)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 nights = up to 40% off
Ranked #672 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a nice part of town....but not four star..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

As we got ff the taxi at this hotel we noticed four stars tacked on the wall ...that was probably the only disappointment - this hotel was nothing like other 4 star places in the rest of the world !

The location is really nice -, a quiet, not touristy street next to the Sorbonne within a five/ ten minute walk of the Latin Quarter, Pantheon, Luxembourg gardens and Boulevards Saint Michel ab and Saint Germaine, Walk a bit longer and you can get to Notre Dam, the Louvre and the Musee d Orsay

Check in was efficient, (as was check out) and we were soon in the triple room which was as big as a normal double room. We had booked a triple because the complimentary breakfast and WiFi more than made up for the difference in price over the double).

Adequately furnished clean room and bathroom , Good air conditioning, TV (sadly hardly any programs in English), coffee/ tea making facility, efficient internet ...unfortunately soap and shampoo were the only toiletries we could find in the bathroom with the much needed moisturizer not on offer.

They serve a good breakfast; the standard fare you can expect in a good European hotel (fortunately not the juice, croissant and coffee some hotels consider "breakfast !).

The Hotel has one restaurant but there are plenty of places to eat and drink in the vicinity, with those in the Place Sorbonne, a two minute walk being the closest. Five minutes will take you a variety of restaurants, bistros, bars and fast food joints on Saint Michelle. Ten minutes will get you to Rue de la Harpe and the two roads branching off it. This area is packed with small and inexpensive eateries serving French, Italian, Greek, Indo Chinese, Indian and what have you at reasonable prices.

The people at reception, Thomas and Marianne and the two others, speak good English and are very helpful in helping you find your way around Paris and were able to accommodate most of our demands including a late check out..

On balance this is a good place to stay...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    250
    102
    24
    11
See reviews for
95
183
63
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

PROS - Location, you're right next to the Sorbonne university, a few minutes walk from Notre Dame.

Room is on the small side but not cramped. It was very clean and tidy. Bathroom was similar though the shower was a bit awkward to use.

Staff were friendly, check in took 5 minutes as did check out.

CONS - The door to our room did not lock, as a result we were forced to pack our belongings up every day and leave them with reception every time we wanted to leave the hotel. As it was fully booked we could not move rooms. The door would not lock even from the inside so we were reduced to using a chair to barracade the door at night to give us any warning if someone entered the room. It was an extremely frustrating stay unfortunately because of this.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My and my wife stayed for 8 nights at Mercure La Sorbonne. At the first night, as the hotel was almost full, they offered us a room at ground floor, really tiny (could barely fit us and our luggage), although clean and decent. On the following nights we were upgraded to a roof top room. Even though management said "all rooms had the same space", this one - luckly was way larger that the other. Overall, we had a ver confortable stay, as the room is complete, new and clean, very confy bed, decent Tv and AC system. The only problem, as mentioned in earlier reviews, it that it requeres some exercise for you to have a shower without soaking the whole bathroom (you get used with time). Oh, yes, the location is unbeatable: right between St Germain and Latin Quarter, it provides walkable distance to Seine and its islands, Luxembourg Gardens, metro and RER stations and lot os excelent bistros, bars and pubs (students: Sorbonne University is just across the streer). I cannot imagine a better location for a authentic parisian experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a roof top room. They are bigger than the others. Avoid ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnauddupin, Directeur général at Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comment posted on TripAdvisor further to your recent stay at Hotel Mercure Paris La Sorbonne.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and the wonderful area where we are located, on the edge of the Latin Quarter and Saint Germain des Prés a few steps from Notre-Dame.
Indeed there are a large number of restaurants, bars and bistros all close to our hotel.

Mercure Paris La Sorbonne is not only located on the edge of the Latin Quarter and Saint Germain des Prés, it is also close to the RER B (Saint Michel - Notre Dame and Luxembourg), among others for access to the two main airports Paris: Roissy-Charles de Gaulle and Orly, and the Gare du Nord - Eurostar.

We were most pleased to hear that your stay with us met your expectations and we hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely.

Maria Pires
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba, Israel
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Great location, near Luxembourg Gardens, Notre Dame and not far away from the Pompidou Center. the room was quite small but nice, and the personell very helpfull and pleasant.
Breakfast was good, in a cosy, small dinning room.
We enjoyed our stay in the hotel, although the room was too small for three persons.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The room given to us was the equivalent of a broom closet on the main floor of the hotel. This was IN SPITE OF the 5 euro upgrade I was prompted to take when I made my reservation online on the Accor website. Fortunately, after one night we were able to change our room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I came to stay here with my mum.. The hotel was lovely and they gave us a very large room which we were happy with.. Nice safe location.. We will go back there! The room was good value but I wish they'd thrown in a free breakfast then they would have got 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

A great location right next to the university but in a very quiet street, but close enough to walk to all the sightts along the river. The hotel is quite small and compact, but the rooms are lovely and the staff very. Beds are big and the rooms are very quiet and have at con. The extr child's bed is very good and comes out of a arm chair. Breakfast was good, in the small breakfast area. Pizzeria just around the corner in a quiet square was very Parisian. No parking, but for the usual €33 there are very nearby ned ground public car parks. Thoroughly recommend for central sight seeing visits to Paris.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres

Address: 14 rue de la Sorbonne, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Panthéon , Sorbonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#290 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#298 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be staying right at the heart of Paris, on the border of the 5th and 6th arrondissements, opposite the Sorbonne University, between the Latin Quarter (5) and Saint Germain des Prés (6), 5 minutes' walk from Notre Dame, the Panthéon, the Luxembourg Gardens and the Sénat. Fully renovated in an intimate, relaxing and contemporary decor, the Mercure Paris la Sorbonne hotel is ideally located whether your stay is for business or leisure. Soufflot public car park is close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, ACCOR and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Hotel Paris
Accor Paris La Sorbonne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.