We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bastille de Launay Hotel, Paris” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bastille de Launay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bastille de Launay Hotel to your Saves list
Bastille de Launay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42, rue Amelot | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France (République)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #296 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Bastille de Launay Hotel, Paris”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Bastille de Launay Hotel for four nights in April 2013, and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a small, boutique-type of hotel which is very good value for money. The hotel is very clean, with small but comfortable rooms and good sized, nicely furbished bathrooms. The staff were all excellent, very friendly and helpful throughout. Breakfast was in a small room at basement level, but nicely laid out, and the food was perfectly adequate. The hotel is well situated within easy walking distance of the Bastille, and with plenty of really nice cafes and restaurants close by. It is also very close to the Place des Voges which is a beautiful square with the Vicor Hugo museum housed in one of the buildings, and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    158
    33
    3
    3
See reviews for
26
167
42
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A good place to stay as a tourist for a few nights. Room clean, comfortable and (for Paris) fair-sized. We overlooked the street, but double glazing kept noise right down - even of pneumatic drills in the morning. Flat screen TV looked impressive - although we never turned it on. Helpful staff. Free Wi-Fi and free use of computer in nice little lounge by reception. Location fair, and plenty of places to eat in the vicinity.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Pros
1. The location is great. Near subway station Chemin Vert.
2. The rooms are very clean.
3. The stuff is friendly and helpfull.

Cons
1.The rooms are small (this is normal for Paris).

I would definitely go back, I absolutely loved it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

First off, I was satisfied with my stay here, but I will not be back.

The rooms reflect the price; yes, they are small, but this is Paris folks. It really is a pretty good location, though currently construction on the street makes sleeping in a chore. The place is clean, and there is always staff present to assist you, or loan you a corkscrew.

Problem is, this place has no character, and is therefore just average. The best way to convey the feeling I had after a three night stay is to compare it to eating a meal where the cook forgot to add salt.

There are much more charming places in Paris, just take the time to look closer.

Room Tip: Currently, construction is ongoing on Rue Amelot. Choose a room wisely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

A very good base for exploring the Marais. We have enjoyed all our stays here and would recommend - especially for the value even though the rooms are somewhat small. Very welcoming staff with lots of advice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Launay is located several blocks away from any action......isolated on a backstreet near the Bastille. It has had a recent facelift (Do It Yourself?) remodel.

The rooms are small but clean. The showers are criminally small, if you are of any size you will have trouble entering/exiting the shower and may scald yourself if you dare to turn around in the pod as you will bump into the shower controls.

The place is noisy. I don't mind noise.....but if you do you could be irritated here as you can hear every movement of your neighbors and lots of street sounds.

TV has only one English channel, the worthless CNN. Internet signal is strong and free.

I am no expert on Paris, but to the extent I know anything about hotel prices there....this one is somewhat overpriced.

The entire staff is friendly enough.

I did have an experience that left a bad taste in my mouth, however. The reception staff several times suggested I book the van service to the airport. The sign on the desk said this airport van was 18 Euros. I reconfirmed verbally that the price was 18 Euros and was finally talked into the using this service. When I was ask the next day to pay, the price was 26 Euros. I was not allowed to use a credit card for the 8 Euro "hotel fee" which was not posted or advised to me at any time. 8 Euros is not anything I would argue about...but i thought the whole transaction was smarmy and it soured my opinion of this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

just came back from a swift one night trip to Paris - Eurostar sale! Booked this hotel via the Eurostar website and was very satisfied. The staff were lovely. The location is superb - very close to the Marais/Bastille etc. and the decor is all new and tasteful. Only small complaint was that there was a constant hum, sounded like something had been left on, in the room. Wasn't the fridge, bathroom fan, anything we could locate - got some ear plugs and it was fine. (room 13 by the way) Would recommend this hotel if you plan on spending a good deal of time in the Marais as we did. Felt really boutiquey and friendly, would definitely go back (especially if they sort out the weird hum!)

Room Tip: maybe avoid room 13 to avoid the hum!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bastille de Launay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastille de Launay Hotel

Address: 42, rue Amelot | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > République
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#186 Family Hotel in Paris
#279 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastille de Launay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastille de Launay is located in the Marais, one of the liveliest areas of Paris. It is 500 metres from Place des Vosges and offers free Wi-Fi. All guest rooms at Bastille de Launay are air-conditioned with traditional décor. They are equipped with modern amenities such as flat screen satellite TV. A buffet breakfast is served in the breakfast room or in the comfort of guest rooms. The hotel also has a bar, where you can relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bastille de Launay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastille De Launay Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bastille de Launay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.