We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Les Rives De Notre Dame

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Les Rives De Notre Dame to your Saves list
Les Rives De Notre Dame
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15, Quai Saint Michel, 75005 Paris, France (Panthéon)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #439 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great location and helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is its location. As others have said, opposite Notre Dame, and walkable to all the main sights. Also right on the metro and RER lines so easy to get further afeild as well as the airports and train stations.

Staff very helpful and friendly with excellent English. We enjoyed their restaurant recommendation (which is also in the Lonely Planet).

Room average side (we were in a superior room on the 4th floor) - would hate to have seen the size of a standard room!

Downsides: the elevator wasn't working for 3 out of the 4 days we were there. Luckily we're young and fit! Staff happy to carry luggage though. Also on one morning there was no hot water from 8am for 'maintainance'. We were warned about this the evening before so we new we had to get up early if we wanted a hot shower. But seeing as it's maintainance - they should have put it at a more convenient time for their guests like later in the day! We did get a lovely fruit basket to say sorry for the disruptions, but when you're paying the very expensive Paris prices, I'd expect more! Or even complimentary breakfasts.

Great bakery tucked away round the back streets behind the hotel - useful for breakfasts in the room. Rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, although we were regularly having to ask for more milk cartons (and on one day they forgot to replenish at all, so no tea or milk).

No issues with noise from the road below.

So - we would stay here again, mainly for the location and friendly staff, but may look for something cheaper nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    49
    9
    5
    8
See reviews for
22
59
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Fl.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this Paris hotel for 10 nights in May. We booked the standard room but were unexpectedly upgraded to their deluxe room at no additional charge which was a nice surprise.The room was spectacular in size, beautiful french decor & funishings, nice bathroom and most of all, a very comfortable bed! It is a small cozy hotel with only 10 rooms so the staff was always attentive to our needs but the hotel was mainly chosen by us for its location within the city. Not long after our arrival we were amazing on just how centrally located this hotel was. On the Seine river, Notre Dame 1 block away, the Louve 6 blocks, Taxi stand in front, and 1 block to the Latin Quarter which had all anyone would expect in Paris, restuarants, bakery, bars, clubs, souveniers, etc.. We enjoyed our stay & highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: they are all good rooms overlooking the Seine river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, NH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

This is a small hotel in the heart of the Latin quarter in Paris. It sits on the river Seine with an amazing view of Notre Dame. Street lined with cafes and restaurants are located behind the hotel as well.

The rooms here are small, but beautifully furnished. The hotel can not be beat for location and value.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The hotel is well situated, close to tourist attractions, the metro, hop on hop off bus, other than that it's all downhill from there. When we arrived, the drawers were dusty, we had to wipe them off ourselves, the bathroom had a musty smell, and the breakfast buffet was crap. The only saving grace was the staff, they were very frendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Just back from a two night break in Paris staying at this hotel for both nights.

Hotel is on the bank of the Seine - only a stone's throw from Notre Dame Latin District. So great location. Found it very quiet so don't understand previous comments about loud noise outside. Maybe because we were in Room 10 on the top floor? Who knows!

Our room was very spacious and clean. Was also nice and warm despite it being freezing cold outside. No faults to be found here.

Reception staff were friendly at all times and helped with our queries.

Would easily come back again - had a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I'm rating this hotel very good for all the reasons prievious reviewers mentioned. It is on the Seine, a few feet from Cathedral de Notre Dame, and walkable distances from Musee D'Orsay, multiple restaurants, heart of the left bank, metro and a taxi stand. We had no problems with street noise. Staff members were friendly and even provided an electrical converter for our use. Sure, the room was small in a Parisian way, but very adequate and clean and the breakfast was typical and tasty. All in all, the price was fair and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

It was my first trip to Paris in more than 10 years. So I wanted to visit all the tourist sites of course. The Notre Dame, the Eiffel, the Lourve, the Musee D'Orsay, the Luxembourg Gardens, the list can go on. The best thing about this hotel is, most places are within walking distance. I'd say mostly under 20 minutes. Yes, the Eiffel Tower may be a 40 minute walk away, but it was a lovely stroll along the beautiful River Seine on a cool evening. No problems if you don't want to walk. The Metro station is just across the road. The Hop-on-Hop-off Cruise station is also about 30 metres away. The cruise boat stops at 8 popular locations.

My room faced the River Seine. Sure, poke your head out and you see the Notre Dame but why do that when the whole thing, gardens and all is just a few metres down the road?

Small room but there's still space for 2 big suitcases, a wardrobe, a small table, 2 chairs, a bed, fridge, and a tiny escritoire. A quaint and pretty room decorated with floral curtains and blooming window boxes. The shower cubicle is small but the whole bathroom is of adequate size. Towels are thick and white, the whole place is very clean.

Service is reasonable. Towels are changed daily, and the bathroom is always clean and tidy when I return to the room. I slept in one morning and when I left the room around midday, I found the housekeeping stuff quietly left outside the room. No one disturbed my sleep.

From the airport, you can take the RER train to Quai St Michel. One of the exits is by lift only and comes right up to the lane next to the hotel. Saves you from lugging your luggage down to the traffic lights and across the road. But, unless you already have a ticket or is prepared to pay for a ticket by card, do not enter the Metro/RER from here. It has only 1 ticketing machine and does not accept cash. It's better to cross the road and use the main entrance.

The Latin Quarters are just behind the hotels. Dozens of restaurants, bars and cafes for you to choose. For this same reason, I did not try the breakfast offered by the hotel. I had breakfast at a different cafe every morning. Tried a different restaurant for dinner each evening. What a wonderful holiday.

Despite some negative reviews, I'd still choose this hotel for its location. Can't get better than this. Besides location, cleanliness is most important to me. This hotel is clean and the bedsheets are spotless.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Rives De Notre Dame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Rives De Notre Dame

Address: 15, Quai Saint Michel, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Panthéon , Sorbonne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#207 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#296 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Rives De Notre Dame 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the romantic heart of Paris, on the Rive Gauche in the Latin Quarter, and facing Sainte Chapelle, the Hotel Les Rives de Notre-Dame is even more pleasant for the location and charm desired in a hotel in the center of Paris. With only 10 rooms in perfect Parisian style, services and unmatched comfort, a view over the cathedral of Notre Dame and on the Seine: a truly exclusive stay in a hotel in Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Les Rives De Notre Dame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Rives De Notre Dame Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Rives De Notre Dame, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.