We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice option in Paris” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Clos Medicis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Clos Medicis to your Saves list
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   56 rue Monsieur Le Prince | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France (Saint-Germain-des-Pres)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 CHATEAUX & HOTELS COLLECTION bonus points with your stay
Ranked #438 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A very nice option in Paris”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

The hotel is not very far from the main points in Paris. A calm street with some good Asian restaurants, a small but cosy room, attentious receptionists and a fair price made our stay in this hotel very pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClosMedicis, Gérant at Hotel Le Clos Medicis, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for sharing your experience with our property. Best deals are always available on our official site.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    164
    30
    6
    10
See reviews for
36
179
33
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Papamoa, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

A tidy and well appointed hotel walking distance from the Louvre and (more importantly) the Metro. Staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are quiet and nicely decorated, though a little small (but hey, it's Paris!). The breakfast runs till lunch in the weekend and 11am on weekdays.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClosMedicis, Manager at Hotel Le Clos Medicis, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed it and we look forward to welcoming you again !
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

it is a rather small boutique hotel very close to the jardin du luxembourg. there are different room categories so make sure you look closely when you book. the single rooms are rather small. that said, all the rooms are comfortable and bathrooms are new and clean. the street is rather quiet so not noisy in the rooms, especially the ones that are on the courtyard side.
the lobby with the fire place and bar although small is nice to lounge. breakfast is simple and not included in the rate. no parking nearby. metro (RER) is not far (5/7 min walk).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClosMedicis, Gérant at Hotel Le Clos Medicis, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Sir,
We are very glad you enjoyed your holidays at Le Clos Medicis, and we thank you for reviewing it.
You'll be very welcome in the future.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago.IL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I haven't stayed here in about five years. Recently found the staff as kind and pleasant as ever, but the facility seemed warn and in need of repair. There is a haphazard patch in the ceiling as you enter, as if there had been a leak. In my room, the walls were chipped at corners and in need of paint. The bathroom needed painting and regrouting. The black mildew is inexcusable. None of these things are horrendous, and the bed sheets are clean and crisp. But, I think that at the price, management needs to spend some money fixing things. The street seemed seedier than I remembered, but the location is unbeatable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClosMedicis, Gérant at Hotel Le Clos Medicis, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Madam,
Thank you for your review regarding your last stay with us. You are right, a leak appeared in the lobby and it took a few days for fixing it and making new paintings. Unfortunately that happens everywhere and it's of course unpleasant. We also thank you for pointing out some defects in your room and they have been fixed now. We do invest every year in rooms renovations and try to maintain the property, with our customers feed back as perfect as possible.
We do apologize for the inconvenience and we hope you'll enjoy our efforts for your next stay in Paris.
Best wishes for the coming year !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

This was my third stay at this hotel and I've decided it'll be my last which pains me because it's in a great spot and the brasserie on the corner does an excellent breakfast! My first two stays were in standard rooms (one renovated, one not), this time we booked a deluxe room each at E220 per room not including breakfast. I was so annoyed when I entered the drab, tatty and tired room (number 54): dirty wallpaper, peeling in places, dirty paintwork, scratches and other marks on the walls, dirty blinds. The bathroom was OK but needs a freshen-up. To market this "deluxe" is a disgrace.

Before I had even removed my coat, I went to speak to reception. The manager said the room was larger than a standard and had a queen bed, both of which I would have foregone for some "deluxe" elements. He spoke over me, flapped his arms a bit, told me the hotel was full and couldn't offer another room. Our other room (34) was similarly drab and worn. The location, a comfortable bed and its desk staff prevented me from giving a 'terrible" rating. I won't be returning.

Room Tip: Room 23 is a standard room but it's been renovated to a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClosMedicis, Gérant at Hotel Le Clos Medicis, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Madam,
We thank you for reviewing your stay with us and we do regret you did not enjoy that stay as much as previous ones. In order to maintain the hotel updated and offer pleasant accommodations to visitors, we do renovate 20% of guests rooms every year. Your are right, the Classic room 23 is a 2 years old one, the Deluxe room you booked for that stay is not as new and in a different decoration style. We do apologize for not being able to offer you an alternative room as the hotel was fully booked. That Deluxe category is planned to be remodeled on 2014 and despite your desapointment we wish you offer us again, the opportunity in respoding your legitimate expectations.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I chose this hotel solely on location and price - but what a pleasant surprise. A very friendly place, obviously recently redecorated to a high standard and everywhere was spotlessly clean. My room on the sixth floor was charmingly idiosyncratic, en suite bathroom up a narrow spiral staircase from the bedroom, and such a pleasant change from the soulless, identical rooms of the big chain hotels. Also the room was very well equipped and warm. Excellent, good choice breakfast, especially good pot of tea, and in the evening a real log fire was burning in the hearth of the cosy little lounge/bar. All staff very attentive and professional. A real gem of a place, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 65 is quite unusual in lay-out and very well equipped and would definitely be my choice for a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClosMedicis, Gérant at Hotel Le Clos Medicis, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
The all team thanks you for your kind review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be very pleased in welcoming you again in the future !
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

The location of this hotel is few minutes walk to all restaurants and bars in St German which I highly recommend for you to stay in. This is the area where you want your base to be. Trust me. The hotel is very clean and cosy. I actually think the size of the rooms where great considering its Paris. We had the basic room and we had enough room. Plus who wants to stay in their room in paris anyways? The staff are very helpful and the courtyard is very cute. We didnt have breakfast in hotel as there are many options close by. I will definetly stay there again! Also another note is that the rates from the hotel website are the cheapest compared to booking.com and other sites.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClosMedicis, Gérant at Hotel Le Clos Medicis, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for your kind comment. You are right, best offers and sales conditions are available on our official website ! We look forward to welcoming you once more !
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Clos Medicis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Clos Medicis

Address: 56 rue Monsieur Le Prince | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#329 Business Hotel in Paris
#382 Family Hotel in Paris
#487 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Clos Medicis 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the crossroads of Saint Germain des Pres and the Latin quarter the Clos Medicis is a 38 rooms property. All rooms provide, individual air-conditionning,strong box, minibar, free wifi access, flat screen TV and bathrobes. Buffet breakfast is served in guest room, breakfast room or on sunny days in the patio.A 24 hours bar service is available in the lobby, enjoy a drink in front of the burning fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Fastbooking and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Le Clos Medicis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos Medicis Paris
Le Clos Medicis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Clos Medicis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.