We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Clos Medicis

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Clos Medicis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   56 rue Monsieur Le Prince | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France (Luxembourg)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #366 of 1,793 hotels in Paris
london
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Location, Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed in this hotel last week and enjoyed our stay. As a cleaning obsessed person I can comfortable say the hotel is squeaky clean! I was very impressed with how clean and practical the room was. Our room was tiny but functional so did not have any problem with it. Only thing bothered us was the heat!! It was january and even with the windows open we found the room a bit too hot and stuffy. So I don't know how it would be in summer!
Lovely toileteries in the room was a nice touch.
The location is not top spot but again very central. There are plenty of good restaurants and cafes in the area and for us it was certainly the best area we ever stayed in Paris.
Hotel stuff was polite and friendly enough. We had the maid walking in the room while we were asleep a few times. once 7 in the morning!! And once a false fire alarm dragged us all the way downstairs from the 4th level. However nothing to make a big fuss about really :)
Hotel loby is really lovely and very tastefully decorated. We never had the breakfast as it sounded a bit expensive for what it is! So many lovely cafes around, you don't need to be restricted with the hotel breakfast.
Over all, I would recommend and go back to this hotel even the rooms are small and a bit expensive for what it is. It is soooo hard to find a good hotel in Paris where you are not ripped off so I would easily say this hotel was my favourite in Paris so far.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    137
    23
    5
    7
See reviews for
25
148
23
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Hotel Le Clos Medicis is a lovely little hotel in the Saint Germain des Pres area. When we arrived, tired and worn from travel, Oliver at the front desk greeted us kindly and allowed us to check right into our room even though we were very, very early. Merci beaucoup Oliver!!!

The hotel is very charming and is in walking distance to many of the beautiful sites of Paris. Just down the street there were many brasseries and bistros for meals. Very conveniently located! Yes, the room was small, but we expected that and it was very nicely appointed, so it was not a problem at all for us. The bed was very comfortable and the room was a nice retreat after a full day of seeing their beautiful city!

The only problem we had is that we are early risers and like our coffee in the morning. We called the front desk to inquire, as there was no coffee machine in the room. This really was not a problem at all, as the front desk graciously made coffee for us early each morning. Again, merci beaucoup!!! It was greatly appreciated! The coffee was very, very good and much better than what we would have had if it was supplied in the room. It was also nice that there is a little bar in the lobby area. Just ask and they will pour you a lovely glass of wine!

We had a wonderful visit in Paris and would definitely return to this hotel. I am looking forward to visiting Paris again and to staying with Hotel Le Clos Medicis again too!!

Room Tip: We had a very quiet interior room (#21), with a window overlooking the courtyard. Just call the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClosMedicis, Directeur général at Hotel Le Clos Medicis, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Customer,
We thank you for your kind coment and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you soon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The moon
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel really promotes itself as being in an excellent location - but I suppose that depends on what the guest is hoping to be close to. For me, I want to be close to French brasseries and not stuck in the streets full of Asian cuisine and tacky cheap franchised eateries. Don't get me wrong, it is still an inner-Paris location, and there is nothing wrong with Asian dining, but I don't want to do that when in Paris. So for us it was still quite a big hike to get into the "real" Parisian zone of bustling cafes etc that I associate with the region of St.Germaine.

Rooms are clean, quiet (although during our stay they were installing new fire sprinkler systems outside our door using mini jackhammers - which was quite loud during the day but we weren't in our room for most of it). Rooms are typically inner-city smallish in size but hotel service was very good and generally we felt safe and satisfied with this hotel - despite not being in our personally preferred location - which was our error in not researching more carefully.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

A super hotel. Great location within easy walk of lots of lovely buzzy streets and restaurants. We travelled from the airport via RER to Luxemburg and it was 2 mins walk to the hotel . The staff were very pleasant and the rooms comfortable and incredibly quiet .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

A perfectly located little hotel. The smell of wood fires as you walk through the door is a really welcoming touch. Rooms are small but that tends to be the way with everything in Paris! Beds comfortable, bathrooms clean and staff friendly. Perfect for a weekend trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Choose the hotel for Paris appointment. Great location next to Luxembourg gardens in 6eme. Booked single room and was upgraded to deluxe. Hotel has been recently renovated and offers a very quiet interior view. Great Wifi access, quiet view to interior courtyard with very charming interior lounge with fireplace. Down side is that there is not much work space in the hotel room. Highly recommended for ideal and quiet location in central Paris. Great staff, decent breakfast.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washingtondc
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Excellent location walking distance to numerous cafes and shops with coffees and crepes. also close to the metro system, and as other posters have mentioned the Luxemburg gardens. Staff was very friendly and helpful in answering questions on what to see and how to get their. they also have a charming small patio. The bar service was casual but efficient you just ask the person behind the front desk and they will fix you a drink to either enjoy in your room or by the fire in the hotel lobby. This was my first time to Paris and I enjoyed being in a Parisian hotel instead of a chain.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Le Clos Medicis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Clos Medicis

Also Known As:
Le Clos Medicis Paris
Le Clos Medicis Hotel
Le Clos Medicis
Address: 56 rue Monsieur Le Prince | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Luxembourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#141 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#270 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Clos Medicis 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the crossroads of Saint Germain des Pres and the Latin quarter the Clos Medicis is a 38 rooms property. All rooms provide, individual air-conditionning,strong box, minibar, free wifi access, flat screen TV and bathrobes. Buffet breakfast is served in guest room, breakfast room or on sunny days in the patio.A 24 hours bar service is available in the lobby, enjoy a drink in front of the burning fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Escapio and Otel so you can book your Hotel Le Clos Medicis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Clos Medicis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.