We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best location, but still ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Clos Medicis

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Booking.com
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   56 rue Monsieur Le Prince | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France (Luxembourg)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #363 of 1,793 hotels in Paris
The moon
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Not the best location, but still ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel really promotes itself as being in an excellent location - but I suppose that depends on what the guest is hoping to be close to. For me, I want to be close to French brasseries and not stuck in the streets full of Asian cuisine and tacky cheap franchised eateries. Don't get me wrong, it is still an inner-Paris location, and there is nothing wrong with Asian dining, but I don't want to do that when in Paris. So for us it was still quite a big hike to get into the "real" Parisian zone of bustling cafes etc that I associate with the region of St.Germaine.

Rooms are clean, quiet (although during our stay they were installing new fire sprinkler systems outside our door using mini jackhammers - which was quite loud during the day but we weren't in our room for most of it). Rooms are typically inner-city smallish in size but hotel service was very good and generally we felt safe and satisfied with this hotel - despite not being in our personally preferred location - which was our error in not researching more carefully.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    137
    23
    5
    7
See reviews for
25
148
23
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

A super hotel. Great location within easy walk of lots of lovely buzzy streets and restaurants. We travelled from the airport via RER to Luxemburg and it was 2 mins walk to the hotel . The staff were very pleasant and the rooms comfortable and incredibly quiet .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

A perfectly located little hotel. The smell of wood fires as you walk through the door is a really welcoming touch. Rooms are small but that tends to be the way with everything in Paris! Beds comfortable, bathrooms clean and staff friendly. Perfect for a weekend trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Choose the hotel for Paris appointment. Great location next to Luxembourg gardens in 6eme. Booked single room and was upgraded to deluxe. Hotel has been recently renovated and offers a very quiet interior view. Great Wifi access, quiet view to interior courtyard with very charming interior lounge with fireplace. Down side is that there is not much work space in the hotel room. Highly recommended for ideal and quiet location in central Paris. Great staff, decent breakfast.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washingtondc
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Excellent location walking distance to numerous cafes and shops with coffees and crepes. also close to the metro system, and as other posters have mentioned the Luxemburg gardens. Staff was very friendly and helpful in answering questions on what to see and how to get their. they also have a charming small patio. The bar service was casual but efficient you just ask the person behind the front desk and they will fix you a drink to either enjoy in your room or by the fire in the hotel lobby. This was my first time to Paris and I enjoyed being in a Parisian hotel instead of a chain.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dijon, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

It's the kind of small hotel you can walk by without even notice it. Rather narrow but well named street, not much trafic. Tipical parisian building with discreet entrance hall, small and comfortable rooms, some noise coming from outside if on street side. Al regular in the heart of the buzy downtown Paris.
The best is the location near Luxembourg, provided with excellent links to all Paris via RER network and buses.
The worst is breakfast price (13 €). May be you'll prefer walking to the Bistro around the corner to have coffee and fresh croissant. It's not so much a problem.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be equivalent in terms of comfort and noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is a lovely little Parisian hotel with exceptionally helpful staff.
The rooms are a reasonable size for an old Parisian building and the modernisation has been carried out very sympathetically. The decor is beautiful - stylish and chic without being overly elaborate. booked directly with the hotel and the price was very reasonable and matched or was below all the hotel booking sites. The room we had was a deluxe - in fact it was the one pictured on the hotel website and the reality was just a lovely as it looked in the photo. The bathroom was great - exceptionally clean and modern with lovely toiletries if you forget to pack what you need. We did not avail of the breakfast as we wanted to explore some of the lovely cafes in the area plus coffee and croissant are more than enough for me. We had no problem finding places to have breakfast, lunch, dinner - after all this is Paris. The location is superb: the Luxemburg Gardens are just two minutes away; the RER line to Charles de Gaulle Airport is three minutes away and connects to the whole Metro system.
If you don't want a big chain hotel and do want some Parisian atmosphere this hotel fits the bill. Once again I have to comment on the friendly staff - for that alone I would hope to return here. We visited the Salon de Chocolate (Chocolate Fair) which was on when we visited - its worth going to if it's on - something entirely different!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Le Clos Medicis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Clos Medicis

Also Known As:
Le Clos Medicis Paris
Le Clos Medicis Hotel
Le Clos Medicis
Address: 56 rue Monsieur Le Prince | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Luxembourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#245 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#276 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Clos Medicis 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the crossroads of Saint Germain des Pres and the Latin quarter the Clos Medicis is a 38 rooms property. All rooms provide, individual air-conditionning,strong box, minibar, free wifi access, flat screen TV and bathrobes. Buffet breakfast is served in guest room, breakfast room or on sunny days in the patio.A 24 hours bar service is available in the lobby, enjoy a drink in front of the burning fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Escapio and Otel so you can book your Hotel Le Clos Medicis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Clos Medicis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Clos Medicis to your Saves list