We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location,quiet hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elysa Luxembourg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Elysa Luxembourg to your Saves list
Hotel Elysa Luxembourg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 rue Gay-Lussac, 75005 Paris, France (Quartier Latin)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #539 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
west mids
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good location,quiet hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel as we were celebrating our 25 th wedding anniversary in Paris. We wanted to stay in the Latin quarter as we'd seen good reviews of that area.We requested a quiet room and it was..rooms basic and small,we were placed on the 2nd floor at the end of a corridor so didn't have passers by making a noise.we purchased breakfast which was buffet and plentiful,with a good choice,a little expensive at €13 but the prices are the same all over Paris.Continental but also scrambled and boiled eggs,sausage but not like in England!!and tomatoes.fruit salad,yogurts,pastries and fresh crusty read and cereals ..as I said plentiful and a cosy but small restaurant too.hotel staff were helpful and obliging when we needed a taxi,they called for us. We went to the Ifel tower which cost approx €18 from the hotel.there is a great little takeaway crepe stand,round the corner from hotel.shops in walking distance with McDonald's fast good restaurant.alcohol in Paris is expensive €8 a pint and €8 med glass of wine..meals approx €20 per head at most restaurants..can get a little cheaper if you look round.the park is right across the road to hotel which is beautiful..train station Luxembourg RER station is 1 minute from hotel, we caught this right from the airport.Metros are great to hop on too which aren't far from hotel. We were very pleased with the location ..would recommend for location ..clean hotel...comfy bed,that's all you need...

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    179
    41
    13
    6
See reviews for
70
137
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sawtell, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I stayed at the Elysa Luxembourg overnight 19/20 July, while passing through Paris. The staff were all welcoming and helpful, including recommending a nice pub for lunch on a nearby corner.
The room was comfortable, as was the bed. The A/C worked perfectly during a hot day and evening. One of the features which might draw me back to this hotel was the proximity to the Luxembourg Gardens ( around the corner, down a short street,cross the main road), which are beautiful. The Gardens were busy with thousands of Parisians and visitors, all enjoying a beautiful summers day.
So - a very nice hotel, in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

A nice small hotel near to the metro and very close to the Notre Dame and the center of the latin quarter. Small rooms but very nice. We had everything we needed. The staff were very nice and helpfull. The breakfast was okay nothing special but okay. We enjoyed our stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The staff at this hotel are EXTREMELY RUDE and the room cleaning maid service is seriously POOR.
We were confronted by the owner overcharging us and the maid yelling at us in French (we don't speak it) on our last day.
If you are looking for friendly and quality hotel service, I would not recommend at all.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed Hotel Elysa Luxembourg it's very close to the Luxembourg metro RER stop, literally 30 metres away. This allows a direct trip from the airport to the hotel. Although we chose to taxi we didn't need to.
Equally close to Luxembourg gardens, a great place to wander in or sit and relax.
We could easily wander down to Notre Dame or RER and Metro to all the sites and back .
Breakfast daily was great, with a great selection of fruit, yogurt, fresh pastries, cold cuts of ham, salami, cooked eggs, bacon, sausages and cheeses.
Tea and coffee in the room was a huge plus, not common in Paris. A shower over a bath and a hair dryer a plus. Our room was recently renovated, it was a corner room which was larger, our number was 505.
The lift was very small but was always available and worked fine.
Out air con was great and worked well. We also had two doors which opened to a balcony with a view of the Eiffel Tower. No noise that we noticed . It was great to sit on the deck at 11pm and watch the tower sparkle then hop into bed. The reception staff speak a few languages, including English, and were very helpful. The breakfast staff didn't speak much English but they were wonderful and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We recently enjoyed a 4 day stay in 2 of the superior rooms at the Hotel Elysa Luxembourg. Both rooms had lovely views from their balconies, one was especially picture perfect with bright geraniums in the window boxes. The location of the hotel is great. We have stayed here before and always enjoyed the short walk to the beautiful Luxembourg Gardens and the convenient access at the corner to RER B which connects you to other RERs and metro stops.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was extensive and convenient.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

A good start with a very helpful receptionist when we arrived early, bags stored & promise for room to be ready by 2-00 pm.We had booked a Deluxe double which was located on the 6 th floor, good size for Paris & with a door/window opening onto a small balcony with a view across the Luxembourg Gardens to the Effiel tower.. We enjoy the area around the Pantheon as it is full of students & not tourists, so by evening things are quiet, however plenty of good restaurants close by. Look for Au Port du Salut restaurant for a memorable meal

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Elysa Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysa Luxembourg

Address: 6 rue Gay-Lussac, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#424 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elysa Luxembourg 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The heart of the Latin Quarter beats just a short step away: the Luxemburg gardens, boulevard Saint-Michel, the Sorbonne, Notre-Dame and the Pantheon are all in the vicinity. Lovers of Old Paris who enjoy strolling through these streets steeped in history will appreciate the comfortable, typically Parisian setting of the Elysa-Luxembourg Hotel in the Latin Quarter. Sheltered from the bustle of the busiest thoroughfares, the Elysa-Luxembourg hotel combines the charm of a beautiful old stone building, the cosy interior of rooms decorated in contemporary style with the efficiency of modern facilities. Some of the thirty rooms offer a magnificent view over neighbouring rooftoops, the paths through the nearby Luxemburg gardens or even the Eiffel Tower. In this discretely refined setting, the atmosphere is decisively warm and the service resolutely attentive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Elysa Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysa Luxembourg Hotel
Elysa Luxembourg Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Elysa Luxembourg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.