We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Chateaudun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Chateaudun to your Saves list
Hotel de Chateaudun
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 rue de Chateaudun, 75009 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1,042 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Budapest
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not a bad place to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

We stayed here for a weekend in Paris. Keep in mind that this is a somewhat basic hotel as there's not much of a front area, just one person overseeing everything and keeping watch of the door and only letting in guests. We were given a spacious room (by Parisian standards) on the 5th floor which had a nice view but the street in front can be busy during the weekdays. However we found that the windows kept out the worst of the noise. We arrived to find a technician there who was working on something in the bathroom. After a few minutes we figured out that he was supposed to be fixing the light in the bathroom. Still enough light there for someone that eats their carrots but for my wife it was too dim.
Good:
- two different metros a short walk away
- Nice weekend market that seems to go on forever a couple blocks away
- Other conveniences such a restaurants, supermarkets, patisseries that one should expect from the city center
- Still walking distance to many places on the left bank
- Breakfast was good and plentiful, but a bit pricey, though convenient.
Bad:
- Air conditioning not functioning (it became almost unbearable overnights, strange for a mild October weekend)
- Non-French language television channels were not provided as as promised (not a big deal as I didn't come to Paris to watch TV)
- Front desk service wasn't dependable. There was a couple times we came back late night and had to wait a good while for them to hear our knocking as they were occupied downstairs.
- Could hear the occasional rumble of one of the metro lines passing underneath the hotel. I didn't feel it too bad, my wife was a bit more distracted by it.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte A, Responsable relations clients at Hotel de Chateaudun, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Dear VladimirT,

You took the time to share your impressions following your recent stay with us and thank you. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the advantageous location of our hotel. We would like to inform you that foreign channels are available on our televisions and we apologize for this problem of air conditioning.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon at Chateaudun Opera.

Sincerely,

Charlotte, Arc Avenues Hôtels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    37
    25
    12
    11
See reviews for
12
24
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

Just got back from a weekend in Paris. We stopped at Hotel de Chateaudun. The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. Good location, however a distance from major landmarks, which isn't an issue as a Metro stop is literally round the corner. We had one of the 6th floor suites which was a real treat to have a large room. We didn't have breakfast as there are many places to eat around the hotel. One caution, 4 of us went in the lift and it jammed for 45 minutes! The lift is very small! But on the hole, a lovely Parisienne base.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte A, Responsable relations clients at Hotel de Chateaudun, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Dear R_J_R_280313,

You took the time to share your impressions following your recent stay with us and we thank you. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the quality of our services and we apologize for this elevator problem.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and look forward to welcoming you again very soon in Chateaudun Opera.

Sincerely,

Charlotte, Arc Avenues Hôtels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Service – the reception staff is very friendly and helpful, which can be a great relief as you land in Paris after a long flight. I was in touch with the reception staff from about 2 weeks before we left in order to get the right address and the most efficient way to get from airport to hotel. You have to send an email to reservations@hotelchateaudun.com and they reply in few hours. The correspondence level varied and the answers, but afterwards I realized it was the night duty vs day duty employees. The day reception employees were much friendlier and helpful. The hotel also lent us an umbrella and a power adapter. Alise and Judy were so courteous, sweet and helpful, they gave us all the advice on how to get to the tourist spots and even gave us maps, printed out timetables etc.
Room – The room was spacious (from Paris standards), clean and comfortable bed. The TV was too small. The bathroom was modern and clean. We didn’t try the breakfast (€11)
My only complaint about the hotel is the location. Priceline gave this hotel to us as if being in the Latin quarter/St. Germain area, but it is clearly not there. It is in the Montmartre neighborhood. The hotel is very close to Notre Dame de Lorette station (not Notre Dame Cathedral) – so you can go anywhere by the metro, but you have to change at least 2 trains. There is no direct line from airport. You can take the Roissy bus to Opera (€11) and either walk to take a taxi (€8) from there. The hotel is not close to any tourist sites, famous restaurants. There is also a bus station right across from the hotel, but the frequency of buses seemed bleak. There are a couple of coffee shops downstairs but nothing special where you would like to spend time or sit down. The area seemed very official and we saw not many tourists around. All in all, a nice stay in Paris with a comfy room, a convenient way to get around but not the most fun location to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte A, Responsable relations clients at Hotel de Chateaudun, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Yuvarajvima,

You took the time to share your impressions following your recent stay with us and we thank you. It is with great pleasure that all the teams and I have read your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed the quality of our services and thank you for recommending our hotel. Indeed, our hotel is located in the heart of a business district but it is also close to major shopping centers and monuments of Paris.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Chateaudun Opera.

Sincerely,

Charlotte, Head of Customer Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoten
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The central air condition was broke thus the whole hotel was so hot it was horrible. The receptionist said that there was a fan in the room but they didn't put it on or opened a window. The room was so hot i took a bath in cold water ! After asking 3 times for a bed for our child they came with a baby bed ( for a 4,5 year old ! ) and a dirty mattress full with hair on it ! We had to make the bed ourself he just gave some sheets. So my daughter slept on the ground oh and the street is so loud full i had to close the window so my family could sleep. The breakfast was ok but when you ask something it s like self service. I asked for a croissant or something else because everything was empty and it never came ... I was glad it was only for one night ! The A/C was bad luck the rest poor management !

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte A, Responsable relations clients at Hotel de Chateaudun, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Tom A,

Thank you for your review and we are really sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. We would like to apologize to you about the experience you had at our hotel. We put our heart to make the experience of our unique customers and rest assured that your opinions mean a lot to us.

Sincerely,

Charlotte, Head of Customer Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

I didn't actually stay in the hotel, but i was in the area and was in desperate need of a help. The receptionist was super friendly and wanted to go a bit 'extra miles' to give me help. Something very rare to find in Paris.
Wifi works perfectly, and cleanliness was perfect for the lobby area

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte A, Responsable relations clients at Hotel de Chateaudun, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Tere N,

You took the time to share your experience following your short stay with us and we thank you. We are pleased to have been able to help you and look forward to welcoming you one day soon in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Charlotte, Head of Customer Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Nice hotel with a cosy atmosphere. Very high service level amongst the staff. Not too expensive for a room. Rather close to CDG (ie no drive through the city). I'm very pleased with my staying in this hotel and I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte A, Responsable relations clients at Hotel de Chateaudun, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Solti P,

What a pleasure to read your glowing review following your recent stay with us! We are delighted that you enjoyed the quality of our services and thank you for recommending our hotel.
Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon at Chateaudun Opera.

Sincerely,

Charlotte, Head of Customer Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I spent a weekend in this nice hotel. Front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful, room clean and cozy. Sliding door to the bathroom does not offer that much privacy.
I have to say that room was very quiet and I slept like a baby even with AC on.
The breakfast selection was not too wide, but everything was fresh.
This is my first pick in Paris when I am back.

Room Tip: the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte A, Responsable relations clients at Hotel de Chateaudun, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Jan K,

You took the time to share your impressions following your recent stay with us and we thank you. We are delighted to hear that our services met your expectations and thank you for recommending Chateaudun Opera.
Do not hesitate to contact us to help you for your future reservations: reservations@hotelchateaudunopera.fr

Sincerely,

Charlotte, Head of Customer Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Chateaudun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Chateaudun

Address: 30 rue de Chateaudun, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,042 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Chateaudun 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de Chateaudun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Chateaudun Hotel
De Chateaudun Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Chateaudun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.