We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and well located.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Brescia Opera

Save Saved
You added Hotel Brescia Opera to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Brescia Opera
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16, rue d'Edimbourg | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France (Champs-Élysées)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,029 of 1,796 hotels in Paris
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Quiet and well located.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I spent four nights here in February, staying in a double room on the fifth floor.

The hotel's location is great. It is inbetween Sacre Coeur and the sights of the Seine with the opera district a mere 10 minute walk away. The street itself is quiet, avoiding hustle, bustle and traffic noise. Gare St Lazare, a large train station, is a short walk away.

The room was more than adequate with a comfortable bed, AC, wall-mounted modern television, desk and a small balcony with table and chairs. The ensuite had both bath and shower. Hot water was plentiful and the heating kept the room nice and warm. My only real gripes were the lack of a kettle and noise from other rooms. The latter did wake us more than once as the walls are seemingly thin. This is an old Parisienne building, however, so I'm not sure what could feasibly be done to combat this.

The building's decor is pleasant and modern, top floors can be reached by lift or stairs. Reception has a small bar off it and outside is a small courtyard with seating, whilst we didn't use either both looked charming.

Breakfast is served in the basement. You help yourself to cereals, cheeses, breads, pastries and hot drinks. No hot food is served. Whilst slightly repetitive, we found the breakfast more than ample and have certainly had far worse elsewhere on the continent!

A final note on the staff who really do let the place down. It is a lovely hotel, well placed, small, cosy and comfortable. Whilst the staff are not outwardly rude, they are dismissive and disinterested, aiming to fulfil only the basics of their job description.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    53
    34
    11
    4
See reviews for
26
57
6
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nytrvl
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband & I stayed in this hotel in December. While the hotel was very reasonably priced I would have been happier spending a little more money to get a little more. I thought the rooms could use some major updating. The carpet was kind of gross-& the walls could use a new coat of paint. It wasn't that the room was dirty- it just looked worn. The rooms very small- basically the bed took up the whole room & there was a tiny closet. Surprisingly the bathroom was an OK size & looked better than the room. There was not a lot of street noise as the hotel is located on a quiet block, but the walls are thin. We were woken up a lot by doors opening & closing from other rooms. The lobby area is small but nice. The location of the hotel is not bad... it's about a 15 minute walk from the Opera and there's a metro just down the block.

I did not find the staff to be friendly at all. There's a small bar in the lobby which the front desk staff will get you a drink from but be warned it closes at 12 on the dot and you must leave the area (the lobby) at 12. We were traveling with another couple whom we don't get to see very often & we ordered a drink after returning back from dinner. It was a little before 12 and we knew that we would order our 1 drink & that was it. But I was quite surprised to be told we couldn't stay & finish our drinks or conversaton once the clock struck 12am. We weren't being loud or disturbing anyone, except the guy at the front desk whom I suspect wanted to go to sleep behind the desk.

All in all- this is not a hotel I would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The hotel is near. Europe Metro Station. A boutique hotel, with small but clean rooms. A very small lift (elevator). Personnel was friendly. Room walls are thin, so you can hear your neighbors and street noise. Bathtub is high, so be sure to request a shower. Near the hotel you can find a laundromat (expensive 4 euros per wash), several brassiere, and a granprix (supermarket).

The hotel is not near Paris major attractions, but with the metro you can move around very easy or just walk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed at the Brescia for 7 days through Priceline. Good clean hotel for the price. Used the Europe metro station to get everywhere but also just walking distance to St. Lazare which is a major station. The hotel was clean and comfortable. We had two of the double rooms so there was ample room for our stuff. Some of the rooms are smaller so ask for the larger double rooms. Except for one night-time hotel clerk, all the staff was wonderful, friendly and helpful. I don't know why they keep this guy employed there! Internet is horrible in the rooms! It wouldn't stay connected. When one woman complained late at night while my husband and I were in the lobby area, the night clerk screamed right back at her. If you bring your laptop downstairs in the lobby area, the connection is way better. Other thing is that there is no such thing as smoking and non-smoking rooms but we were there when it was cool (end of Sept.)and could keep the windows open. Breakfast was simple and okay but the area is cramped. It is optional so if you can find a better deal, do that instead. I wouldn't mind staying here again. Coin operated laundry is around the corner on Constantinople. There is also a Patisserie and Crepe Place there too.

Room Tip: Ask for the larger double rooms and if you don't like street noise, ask for a room that doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed four nights and overall, had a nice experience. Only main complaint is that our room smelled of smoke and we were supposed to have non-smoking, as all rooms booked through Priceline are supposed to be that. It was nice enough while we were staying, that we just kept the windows open the whole time and it was fine. Rooms facing out onto the street are just lovely - as long as you are used to city sounds! We passed on the breakfast option, so I can't comment on that. Location-wise, it was fine. Next time I'd probably stay in another area, it felt fairly quiet and there weren't a ton of people walking around at night, so we literally only slept in the area and went elsewhere for dining/etc. We chose to use the Villiers station for transit, and it was maybe 7 minutes away? Not bad at all. Reception staff was always courteous, hotel lobby area is very pretty, and as others have noted, the elevator is extremely small. It wasn't a problem, just worthy to note that if you have more than two people and a couple suitcases, you won't fit in the elevator. The only other thing that we found weird (though maybe it's not uncommon for small boutique hotels) is that we had to give our room key to reception each time we left the hotel. There are no "do not disturb" tags to hang on your door knob, so I don't know if that is their way of knowing when the room is empty, or if it is for security reasons. We didn't have any issues, just something to note. Also, there is no safe in the room, if that is a concern for anyone.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We got this hotel on Priceline and were very pleased. It was clean and the staff were very helpful and kind. We had no problems what so ever. The room was small, but that is to be expected for Paris. The location is in a quiet neighborhood behind the train station and it is a 15 minute walk to the Opera or Moulin Rouge. We walked everywhere and took the double decker tour bus, we never needed to use the metro but it was only a few blocks away. The overall experience was great, I would recommend for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Brescia for about four days, and it was wonderful. Let me break it down for you:

The Good:
1. The hotel location is good, in my opinion. It's in a quiet area and a few blocks from the Europe Metro station. For travellers who don't want to avail of the hotel laundry service, there's a coin-operated laundromat at the next street. There are also a handful of restaurants in the area to choose from.
2. The man at the reception is incredibly nice and very helpful. He made us feel very welcome and made our check-in quite a breeze.
3. The room is small and simple, but very elegant. From the wallpaper to the carpet to the bed - everything fits into the whole aura the room projects, and it feels cozy, in my opinion.
4. FREE WIFI. And it's a relatively fast. Coming from Italy, where all our hotels charge for internet access, you don't know how much of a relief hearing this news for gadget freaks like us.
5. The only hotel in our trip that gave us a total of five pillows! Wow!

The Not So Good:
1. Aircon is a bit weak. It was September when we stayed there and the weather was quite cool, so opening the windows is a better idea.
2. Breakfast selection is very limited - bread, cereal, jams, butter, cheese, coffee and juice. Likewise, the breakfast area is limited, too.
3. Lift is small. Capacity is very limited.
4. The English channel selection is limited only to BBC and CNN
5. Rooms faintly smells of cigarette smoke.
6. The maids don't seem friendly. Actually it seems they're not happy with their work. Too bad.

Room Tip: Get a hotel with a terrace. The view of the street is nice. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Brescia Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brescia Opera

Address: 16, rue d'Edimbourg | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Élysées
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#133 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Brescia Opera 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Brescia Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exclusive Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Brescia Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.