We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astrid

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Astrid to your Saves list
Hotel Astrid
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Avenue Carnot | 17 Arr., 75017 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #690 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good value and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Astrid for 3 nights in September 2011 and would recommend it for its loaction and value for money. From the airport we caught the Air France bus (departs from each terminal every 30mins) to Charles de Gaulle-Étoile, which was a 5 minute walk downhill to the Hotel. The hotel is on a quiet street in an excellent location, with the Arc De Triomphe a 5 minute walk away, from here the main train lines into the city and towards the Eiffel Tower are accessable by lift or stairs. The hotel building itself is old, but the rooms are nice, with a comfortable bed, desk, small wardrobe and sitting table/chairs by the large window which when open could see the Arc De Trimophe from. The bathroom was clean, and included a bath. We found the Staff to be very friendly, helpful and spoke very good english. Free wifi. Breakfast in the hotel included a continental buffet, and there were many restaurants and cafes within walking distance and a grocer around the corner.

Room Tip: We'd recommend a top floor room as it's an old building so subsequently we could hear the pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    147
    36
    19
    7
See reviews for
63
119
18
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

I had a really enjoyable stay at this hotel.Both the room and bathroom were impeccably clean. Although a relatively small room it had everything you could possible need, there was a large, comfortable bed and nice area to sit by the window and watch people go by. The shower was fantastic and there was even the option of a bath. Staff were friendly and the free breakfast was a bonus. We even had a view of the Arc de Triomphe from our balcony window.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

My husband nd I are spending our Holiday in Paris with another couple and our mini schnauzer. We loved this hotel. Great rate, great location, and super friendly staff. Everything that we were looking for in a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Astrid for 4 nights. Overall we were pleased with the experience and would highly recommend it for the location.

Pros:
LOCATION--right next to Charles De Gaulle Etoile and an easy walk to the Champs Elysees, neighborhood grocery store right around the corner, pharmacy around the other corner, numerous restaurants and bars within close proximity, self-service laundry half a block away
Rooms--very clean, decent sized considering average accomodations in Paris
Staff--very helpful as other reviewers have pointed out
Free WiFi

Cons:
Being early November, it was still fairly warm in the rooms (only heat turned on in building) so it required open windows at night to keep things cool. This of course let in street noise. It was not excessive considering it's location, but the effusive Parisian scooter ripping by late at night took a little bit of time to get used to
Room sizes are small--just part of the experience
Old building--you can hear noise from other occupants walking around, but not excessive
Breakfast--while adequate, seemed to run low on stock fairly quick... don't be the last ones to eat

Getting there:
From CDG--we took the RER to Challet and then the Metro 1 to Etoile. Had we known better we would have taken the Air France bus that stops right at the top of the street from the hotel. It would have cost us 2 Euro more a person and saved a huge amount of pain trying to swap trains and navigate the metro with our luggage.

Room Tip: Get a room higher than the 2nd floor to ensure you don't have a streetlamp shining directly into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

My husband and I spent 4 nights at Hotel Astrid. We were given a room on the 6th floor (top). The room was small but had a balcony which we liked. The bed was king sized and very comfortable. The bathroom was clean and had recently been refurbished. The only criticism I would have was the frosted glass in the bathroom door. We prefer not to be visible when on the toilet!! Dont stay here if you are not on very close terms with your travelling companion! Breakfast was super and the staff were friendly and helpful. Probably the very best thing about this hotel is its location. It's a short walk up the hill to Charles de Gaulle Etoile metro and RER. The street is one of the many which fan out from the Arc de Triomphe but it is quite quiet traffic wise.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have a little balcony .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011 via mobile

Great location, friendly service, clean, good value for money. Walking distance from arc de triomphe and champs elysee. You can take the bus from the airport that stops at the begining of rue carnot instead of taking a taxi.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

This cosy hotel is located a hop skip and a jump away from the arc de Triomphe, if you are the athletic type that is. Otherwise it's less than five minutes walk from said arc with a Metro stop before the arc. There are two brasseries within seconds of leaving the hotel, a good patisserie, a small epicerie and a good butcher where you might be tempted to buy a roast chicken to beat the high cost of restaurants.

The room was not large but the bed was, as we requested. It was also a nonsmoker's room so it didn't stink. The bathroom had been recently refurbished, there was a safe, free wifi and for those who need it, air conditioning. It was more than adequately heated the weekend we were there, which happened to be unseasonably warm, or as things look now probably seasonally warm, global warming taken into account.

The breakfast was decent with yogurts, several cheeses, ham, coffee with hot milk or without, you choose, real juice, several types of bread, regular sized croissants and pain chocolat, (not the usual over-sized type, neither of which I sampled so cannot attest to their quality). The breakfast room is pleasant a with a large television that thankfully, only played a screen saver. The one criticism I'd have of the breakfast room is that stylish though the chairs were, they were too low for the tables and the stools were a tad small for regular-sized butts but not of course for the pert little butts everyone aspires to.

Staff were helpful. Rooms were clean. Breakfast personnel worked hard to keep up and spoke English. A good solid bed with no street noise with the window closed. Charming view of street and Arc de Triomphe.

The hotel's location was a plus because everything was within walking distance (if you are a walker) and otherwise the Metro was close at hand.

I would return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Astrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astrid

Address: 27 Avenue Carnot | 17 Arr., 75017 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #690 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astrid 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Astrid Paris is situated close to the Champs Elysees avenue, near the Arc de Triomphe, the Palais des Congres and La Defense. The hotel's central position offers easy access to public transportation. The Hotel Astrid welcomes you in a beautiful 19th century building. The hotel successfully combines comfort and elegance. The air conditioned rooms are a blend of harmony and restfulness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Astrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astrid Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astrid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.