We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Chat Noir Design Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Le Chat Noir Design Hotel to your Saves list
Le Chat Noir Design Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   68 Boulevard de Clichy, 75018 Paris, France (Montmartre)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #380 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Birthday visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I booked this hotel for my husband and I for his 40th birthday treat and we had an absolute blast! The hotel staff are wonderfully friendly and we didn't have any problems at all. The hotel itself is stylish, clean and modern and those beds are the most comfortable outside of my own. It really was difficult to get up in the morning. Although in the red light district, we didn't have a problem with the noise at all. The bistros chat noir downstairs is a wonderful place to visit and the staff are also very friendly. Careful though - it's very expensive!
We found Montmartre to be a great central location and felt it to be more relaxed than other areas of paris. we absolutely cannot wait to visit again. I'll definitely go back to Le Chat Noir hotel even if they wouldn't give me room key until they'd taught me how to say the number in French :). Wonderful place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel. While it can be noisy it gives you a great view of the Ei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    251
    75
    16
    16
See reviews for
63
320
22
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed 3 nights in this hotel and had a good experience, although the room was really tiny but perfectly clean. Bed was narrow but comfortable. The bathroom is also very clean and nicely done, but I completely missed a shelf from above the sink to put our tolietries down. There was also no space next to the sink as it was a standing sink, so if you know what I mean there was no table around it. Even with the soap we had to actually leave it in the sink.
This hotel is on a main street, right next to sexbars, so can be extremely noisy over the weekend but Sunday evening it was fairly quiet, I assume it is similar in the weekday.
The lift was not working the last day, so had to carry down my big suitcase from the 3rd floor. Other days it was working but because it was so slow and we had to wait a lot, we sometimes preferred to walk down the stairs.
Very good location, easy reach with the underground, was extremely happy about it.
Haven't tried the breakfast, seemed expensive and in the Montmartre area there are a lot of open-air places where you can sit on a terrace and have breakfast, I would suggest to do that, only 5 mins walk.
The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, though one of the men had a weird humour, still can't say anything negative about them.
The locker didn't work in our room, I was not happy about it. Had to ask for a key at the reception but also when leaving the hotel, we always had to give it back, found it strange, but have to admit, nothing went missing from our room.
Generally, enjoyed the stay and would recommend to others as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of June to celebrate our first anniversary. We found the hotel to be modern and clean and the staff very helpful. We didn't spend much time at the hotel as we were there to see Paris so only slept and got ready there. Beds large and comfortable, shower good.
We had a room on the 5th floor overlooking the road and had a partial view of the Eiffel Tower which was lovely. When we had the window open it was noisy but was fine with the window shut and the room temperature was fine as the weather wasn't too warm. After reading a few of the other reviews we'd brought ear plugs just in case which we may have needed if kept window open.
Conveniently located with lots of bars and restaurants nearby, a supermarket a few doors down, Moulin Rouge a minute or two away, Scare Coeur a five mins walk away and a Metro station across the road. It's on Line 2 and so easy to get into more central Paris and from Gare de Nord/Charles de Gualle airport.
Only negatives are it would be useful to have a shelf next to sink in bathroom and to either have a bigger bin in the bathroom or one in the bedroom.

All in all a very lovely stay and would recommend.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the Eiffel Tower ask for a room on one of the higher floors overlooking the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHAT2011, Directeur général at Le Chat Noir Design Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
we are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel and are hoping to have the pleasure to welcome your again,

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

First, the good points about the hotel: it's clean and modern. Rooms are nicely designed, bright and congenial to be in. Beds are comfortable, everything works. On the other hand, the situation of the hotel isn't great, depending on your tastes. It's a noisy and fairly touristy area. First night I had the window open (3rd floor) and slept on and off. Not great but not sleepless. Still people shouting in the street at 6am. Second night, closed the window and put the air con on and that was fine.

After reading reviews of other similarly starred hotels in the area, I think this is probably well above average and good value. And Montmarte is an easy walk, there's some nice places on Rue des Martyrs and Rue lepic too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHAT2011, Directeur général at Le Chat Noir Design Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Guest, Thanks for your comment .
Indeed we have the chance to be located in a lively area, on the other hand it is a bit noisy if the windows are open ....
The Air conditionned is now on , so that just have a look at the city through our double glazing window and enjoy your stay . We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you soon.
Best regards

.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed in room 704 after paying to upgrade. The room was tiny compared to others we saw. The view of the eiffel tower was however amazing from the bathroom window and balcony. The room has a bath tub instead of the Italian showers in other rooms.

One problem was that you could not see this view from the bed wihtout breaking your neck. You can see it from the bathroom if you stand up in the bath which would make for a fantastic shower if only there was a shower screen/curtain and a proper overhead shower.

Our air-con did not work on arrival and when we asked about this we were told it must be. The next evening we got back and it was working but was way too cold so we tried to adjust it and it stopped working again.

The in-room safe was locked when we arrived. Despite two calls to reception who said they would unlock the safe with the master key this never happened. Eventually I went and obtained the master key myself the following morning.

Most channels on the TV do not work and only 2/3 are in English. This was not a problem however as we did not visit Paris to watch TV.

Breakfast is ok. Cold pancakes, croissants, pan au chocolat, ham, cheese and salami. There is are also boiled eggs which you cook yourself.

Location wise this is fantastic for Moulin Rouge which is why we booked it. It is however in the red light district and the area is rather noisy throughout so we were glad to be on the 7th floor.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

This is an average 3 star hotel in Paris positioned in the heart of Montmartre in the red light district. This is not a problem as its a lively area with lots going on just a few yards from Moulin Rouge. The problem is that the hotel is very very warm and the air con isn't put on until August (probably for a couple of days) so you really need to open the window and as the sex club below is up and running with 'live shows' until 5 in the morning this means you won't get any sleep. After the first sleepless night when we spent ages trying to work the air con we told staff who said they'd get it repaired - when we asked if this had been done another receptionist told us it wasn't broken it was the manager who refused to switch it on - we complained (as did 2 other guests that we knew of) to no avail and asked for another room at the back of the hotel but were told it was full until the day we were due to leave. It was a real shame as we had planned our sightseeing trips and somehow it just isn't the same when you're 3 nights knackered!! BEWARE

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHAT2011, Directeur général at Le Chat Noir Design Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear guest,

We do apologize for the inconvenience due to air conditionned off.
The weather were awfull and cool the days before .This is the reason why we hadn't decided to stop the heat to active the air conditionned . 48 hours are needed for technical reasons between heat and cool air so that we could nt put the air condition on at once .And of course in this lively area if you open the window it is noisy... Sorry again ! This year the decision to stop the heating was difficult as we havent seen the spring yet
But it works and now it is on.... We hope that we keep your confidence and will have the pleasure to welcoming you again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

The hotel is lovely, the design is fabulous, the room was immaculate and the beds the most comfortable hotel beds ever! Breakfast was good and the staff were friendly and courteous. Our only complaint was the bad smell in the lift. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHAT2011, Directeur général at Le Chat Noir Design Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Customer,
We are pleased that your stay at the hotel has helped to make your visit to Paris even better.
We find indeed a problem at the elevator but do everything possible to modify the inconvenience.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Chat Noir Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chat Noir Design Hotel

Address: 68 Boulevard de Clichy, 75018 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#191 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#277 Family Hotel in Paris
#350 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Chat Noir Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Montmartre area, two steps away from the Place du Tertre, the Lepic Street and its renowned cafe des Deux Moulins in which << Amelie Poulain>> was filmed, the hotel Le Chat Noir is a poem in itself. Typically Parisian and yet at the same time imaginative, original and modern.A designed and uncluttered decor, a contemporary and refined atmosphere can be found at the reception, in the breakfast room and on every floor... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Le Chat Noir Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais De Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Chat Noir Design Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.