We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Carlton's

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Carlton's to your Saves list
Hotel Carlton's
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55, boulevard de Rochechouart | 09 Arr., 75009 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #848 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night break to paris staying at this hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
We were in room 611, it was clean and comfortable with a small balcony that you could see the sacrecour from which was lovely.
The room was cleaned every day and restocked with tea and milk etc, yes the bed was quite small as was the room but for what we wanted it was fine. The tv only had the world news channel but you dont come to paris to watch tv.
The staff were all friendly and extremely helpful.
Breakfast was really nice with all you needed before a days sightseeing.
We used the metro every day getting off at the Pigalle stop and then walking 10 minutes to the hotel, normally stopping off at the carrefours supermarket on the main road to get anything we needed.
The area by day is fine but as the evening arrives the area is a little bit off putting and yes a bit seedy but we came back late all evenings and had no problems at all and didnt feel threatened in any way-I may of felt more vulnerable if I had been travelling with other females.
The roof terrace is lovely, but we found it locked when we tried to go up on our last evening which was annoying.
As someone else has said use the lift at the end of the bar as the small one is the slowest and smallest ive ever been in!
If you do one thing in paris-go to the moulin rouge-walkable from this hotel , we had a fantastic evening.

This hotel is lovely and comfortable, fine for a few nights stay but its not luxurious, but im sure you will have a great time and enjoy paris.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room as all floor boards are very squeaky and can become really irritating above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    140
    71
    21
    13
See reviews for
88
138
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Erlangen, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Perfect locale in Montmartre. We stayed here because we were seeing Jimmy Buffett at La Cigale across the street! Close walk to Sacre Coure. Rooms were clean and breakfast is included. But, the rooftop terrace is what really made this my top pick! We sat up there on a perfect night and watched the Eiffel Tower light up and twinkle. Also a close up view of Sacre Coure. The neighborhood is ok during the day, but at night it gets a bit seedy!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frosses, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Myself and my wife stayed in the hotel for one night and it was one of the best places we have ever stayed. The staff were brilliant. I had difficulty getting a concert ticket printed, the front desk people seen to it that I got my ticket on time. The breakfast was very good. The views from this hotel must be the best in all of Paris. We hope to return soon again for a longer time. Thumbs up for a GREAT STAY.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 8th floor for brilliant views of Paris
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARLTON75, Responsable réception at Hotel Carlton's, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed 2 nights here in 2009 (June). It was a nice hotel in an active part of Paris. Easy walk to bars and other establishments in the red light district. It is also located near the subway, so easy to move around town. It was typical for Europe in that the hotel rooms were fairly simple and small, but well kept nonetheless.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARLTON75, Responsable réception at Hotel Carlton's, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your comment, even if your stay was 4 years ago it still helps us to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was a lovely little Parisian hotel and for the price we paid, it have everything we could ask for. We were a group of 6, 3 couples and stayed for 3 nights. It is a 15 minute walk from Gard de Nord station or 3 stops on the metro, 10 minute walk to Sacre Couer and the Montmartre district and short distance from the Moulin Rouge.
The view from the roof terrace was magnificent, especially at night.
Breakfast was sufficient, typical continental breakfast.
One word of warning, when you arrive you see only one lift which only fits in 3 people at a squeeze, the receptionist didn't tell us there was another lift, much bigger at the back of the hotel, through the bar.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARLTON75, Responsable réception at Hotel Carlton's, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment, and we hope to welcome you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was absolutely not my kind of hotel. This is not a 4-star world class hotel. If it reaches 2-star it would be too much. It is located near Sacre Coeur in Montmartre, close of 2 metro line, but I do not know if it is a good location, I had to use taxis several times, too much time in the metro.

This is the kind of hotel traveling when people travel on a budget, and that was not my idea. For the price I paid, I received really nothing. I booked it in in a travel deal with BA, I thought being a 4-star it could be good, but I was mistaken. The room smelled. The bed was amazingly small. Breakfast up until 9:30 am??!!!! I know one has to take every minute in the city of light, but come on! breakfast before 10 am is mean. Despite the fact of having the do not disturb sign outside, the housekeeping lady knocks on the door 2 days in a row!!! how annoying is that!

On the upside, the bar was open 24/7, and staff was very nice, and of course the view to the Sacre Coeur at night, and the room has A/C
Besides that, I would not give a dime for this hotel. I would have paid for student-traveller type of hostel and would have received the same for much less!

If you are not a student, don't stay here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Breakfast was good and varied - but not the vegetables in the French manner. Hotel Room acoustic insulation was such that from the outside we did not hear anything but between rooms there was no sound insulation at all. I do not know if the reason was that we were probably in the most modest room in the hotel. The carpet was terrible.The location of the hotel is very brilliant and the view from the roof terrace was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Carlton's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton's

Address: 55, boulevard de Rochechouart | 09 Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#317 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlton's 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Carlton's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carltons Hotel Paris
Carlton Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Carlton's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.