We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, friendly hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Balmoral Hotel to your Saves list
Balmoral Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6, rue du General Lanrezac | 17th Arr., 75017 Paris, France (Champs-Elysees)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #99 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Small, friendly hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights with our 12 year old grandson in a triple room. The room was small but the bed was huge and comfortable. The bathroom was spaceous and well appointed. We would have liked a couple of drawers (there were 3 of us) but it wasn't a problem. Breakfast was served on individual trays with tea or coffee, orange juice, a selection of rolls and pastries, a pot of yoghurt and a fresh fruit pot containing a nice variety of fruit. There was also cereal, ham and cheese available had we wanted it, but the tray was more than enough for us. There was renovation going on in the hotel, but it didn't bother us as it wasn't early or late in the day. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming, and all spoke excellent English. The hotel was just round the corner from the Arc de Triomphe metro station, so ideal for us. Our room was overlooking the road, but as it's a quiet back street, there was little or no noise. It might not be suitable if you are disabled or elderly though, as there is only one tiny lift, which took a long time to come. In all, we were very happy with our stay.

Room Tip: If you can't climb stairs, it would be best to ask for a ground floor room if they have any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    201
    39
    8
    6
See reviews for
159
226
17
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We recently stayed here during our time in Paris, and we loved the hotel. We had a corner room on the 6th floor which was very cozy. The bed was extremely comfortable, and we loved the charm of our room. Everything was very clean also. And a good plus is that they had Wifi in the rooms. Overall, we were very comfortable in our room.
The hotel itself has a very nice charm to it; very romantic parisian style. But our room was very modern, which surprised us, concidering the style of the lobby (very classic, wooden furniture, tapestry, and carpet)
The staff was very friendly and helpful; they gave us a map and helped us find the easiest way to get whereever we wanted to go.
We also took the breakfast, which was good; it was nice as we had the choice to have it either in the little dinning area or in our rooms. The only thing here would be maybe to have a bit more options on the items to eat (as it is a fixed menu); but that being said, the food was good.
The location was pretty good as well, near the Arche de Triomphe, but there is also a metro station very nearby that can get you anywhere.
The only down side was that there was some construction going on, especially early in the morning (very noisy), but as this is the time of year when the renovations are done (the off-season), it was to be expected, and this would not dissuade me from returning at a later date (when no construction was being done).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We have just returned from a one night stay and overall it was a fantastic experience. We had one of the newly re-decorated rooms on the 6th floor. We received a warm welcome from the gentleman on reception who was extremely helpful, free wifi was available in the hotel and we were given a Paris map on arrival. Our bags were carried to our room - which was very clean, the bed nice and firm, the decor beautiful and the bathroom was lovely with good toiletries. There was a Smart HDTV in the room. Unusually there are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room but there is room service and a bar downstairs. The hotel is being refurbished but the noise was minimal (so don't let other reviews put you off!) and once all the renovations are complete this hotel will be amazing and we would definitely return. The location is perfect - a minute walk to the metro, the Air France bus to CDG and Orly is in the next street, you are right on the top of the Champs Elysees and can see the Eiffel tower which is a 15 min walk away. We couldn't really fault anything and we were very grateful to the wonderful gentleman on reception - nothing was too much trouble and he kindly helped us with directions to catch a train so we could get to Orly airport during the taxi drivers' blockade!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I was on a business trip to Paris and the map indicate I am at a good location just stone throw away from Champs Elysees.

Upon arrival, the surrounding of the hotel is not so pleasant as renovation is going on and early in the morning (Noisy, dusty and dirty, furthermore, the worker go in and out the from the hotel main door).

The room booked was good but again the noise was not so pleasant. The hotel "restaurant" was tiny and the "breakfast" was below expectation, a fixed menu with no choice.

The facilities at the room was not being refill accordingly. For example, hair conditional was not refill after day one. Shower gel and shampoo was not refill and i was struggle at day three as both finish.

Hope the noise will be solved after the renovation and staff service quality improve

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Located near Arc de Triomphe with the Champs Ellysees stretched right opposite, Hotel Balmoral has a wonderful location. Tucked away into one of the side streets that is wide enough for two cars to just about pass through, the hotel is located in an aging building adding to the old-world charm of the city. I put up for three nights and three days and had a wonderful stay. The lobby has some really gorgeous armchairs to sit at and enjoy your morning newspaper.The rooms are spacious enough and the beds amazingly soft. The doors open outwards on to the corridor, which I found quite interesting. With a room, facing the street, I could look down at the people walking by at midnight and yet enjoy the quiet since the windows are good enough to block of all sounds down there. The hotel staff are extremely friendly and the breakfast was really filling, always. Though I couldn't help feeling it was a bit steeply priced at around 13 Euros + more in case you want anything more.
The reception was really helpful in guiding me since I had no clue where to start in Paris, neither was I aware that I was staying right at the heart of the city literally. There was so much to see, and now I just have to go back. If I can, I would stay back at the same Balmoral, if possible. It is near to the underground stations, located near some of the touristy sites, all within walking distance, has proper cafes to quench the hunger and thirst for glass of wine if you please. The hotel also allows pets, and I was really pleased to see that.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Trail, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed at the Balmoral on a family trip to Paris; my husband, two kids, and me. The staff was very accommodating, especially for our last minute reservation. There was construction, but I only heard it the first morning. Our family suite was not available, so the first night we had to stay in two rooms across the hall from each other. The next day, they moved us to our suite while we did some site-seeing.
We did not take advantage of any of the amenities of the hotel and only asked the concierge once about a restaurant for dinner (which was awful, but not his fault). So I cannot comment on that, but the hotel was very clean. The staff was very friendly and the location was excellent!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Charming (aging) hotel, clean, great location, kind staff, good breakfast.
But: hotel is being renovated. Stayed 2 nights on the second (not renovated) floor on the front side. Extremely noisy. My neighbour got up at 5.45... So did I, as it sounded as if he was in my room... Hope that this will be solved after renovation.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Hotel

Address: 6, rue du General Lanrezac | 17th Arr., 75017 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees , Batignolles-Monceau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmoral Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Balmoral is located just 100 meters from Place de l'Etoile,and sits in a quiet road in the very heart of Paris. It provides a maximum of luxury and comfort, in a refined setting, emblematic of the French capital.Its geographical situation is ideal, near monuments such as the Eiffel Tower, the Arc de Triomphe and the Champs-Elysees. It is easy to get to airports, thanks to the proximity of the Air France coach terminal and the RER line to La Defense. At wlaking distance from the boutiques of Faubourg Saint-Honore, theaters and the Palais des Congres, it is the perfect spot for your stays in Paris.Family run hotel, our team is dedicated to your comfort, safety and pleasure. Welcome at Balmoral Paris ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balmoral Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.