We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable hotel, near everything, yet giving a genuine feeling for the real Paris, away from tourists' crowds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Theatre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Theatre to your Saves list
Hotel du Theatre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 rue de Cheroy, 75017 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #344 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A comfortable hotel, near everything, yet giving a genuine feeling for the real Paris, away from tourists' crowds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Whenever I go to Paris, I stay in the same hotel, Hôtel du Théâtre, that I discovered some 20 years ago and have come to patronize for all the best reasons : a perfect ratio quality/price, a great location, comfortable rooms, a friendly and professional welcome at all levels by the hotel staff... The list could go on. What I have appreciated particularly this time is that all the bathrooms have been redone, adding to the level of well being. So has the breakfast room, with an alluring architecture of stone vaults and a daily selection of tasty freshly squeezed citrus juices, yes freshly squeezed! Although the area is near all touristic attractions, it has retained the charm of a small Parisian neighborhood, with its local restaurants, where you can see more Parisians than international visitors. On Saturday mornings, between the organic open air food market a few blocks away along batignoles boulevard and the open air market along rue de Levis, redolent with odors of roasting chicken, baked bread or roasting chestnuts, one has a real glimpse into a genuine slice of French life better illustrated than in any documentary or guide book on the French Art de Vivre. And the staff is always quite knowledgeable and willing to share good tips on where to dine in a relaxing neighborhood restaurant after a full day of sightseeing.
Definitely, a stay at Hôtel du Théâtre is a well validated must for me every time I go to Paris.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    40
    18
    4
    0
See reviews for
10
61
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good first impressions upon arriving. Greeted by a friendly receptionist who checked us in. Find it odd that I was asked for my passport but whatever.
After reading reviews on here about how small the rooms are, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened the door. Very spacious with a nice new bathroom. Only problem with the bathroom is that you have to hold the shower head over you as there is nowhere to put it.
Being November I was very surprised at how warm the room got whilst trying to sleep! The welcome book says the room has air con but couldn't for the life of me find it.
Found out the next morning after being woken up by noise and banging that we were put onto a floor that was being re-decorated. Quite annoying. Would have been nice to have been informed before hand. Every morning we were woken up to noise which wasn't very pleasant.
Breakfast area is very small. Warm milk for cereal, warm yogurts and a small bowl of croissants and pain au chocolats per table.
Also read in the welcome book that room service is available but when asked was told that they don't do it.
All in all it is a pleasant hotel with very friendly staff, very close to the metro making it a good base for exploring paris.

Stayed November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickHayatHotels, Directeur général at Hotel du Theatre, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us, we really appreciate it. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your Parisian getaway.
I am sorry to hear that you were unaware of the renovations near your room when you booked your stay. I looked at your agency reservation, and it is written : Type: Rooms under renovation, minimal disturbance. I feel bad that you had not been told as we gave full disclosure to your booking agent. Next time you come to Paris, we'll make sure that YOU stay in the brand new room, and we guarantee the best prices and a free breakfast if you book directly with us.
I am a little surprised by your other remarks about the room service and air conditioning, as we never provided them. About the heating system, each room has its own thermostat, but never hesitate to ask the front desk for help or advice on anything, as we are here to make sure you have the best experience in Paris.
The breakfast room is nested in our vaulted stone cellar and we offer daily a selection of bread, pastries, yogurt, cold cuts and drinks. All the fresh products including a jar of fresh milk come from the fridge and are stored on top of a refrigerated board to keep them cool.

I am glad to see that these little things did not alter your overall impression of the hotel, and I thank you for letting us know and give us a chance to better our service and communication.
I am looking forward to welcoming you again soon in a peaceful and cosy room.

Sincerely,
Bernard Garnier
Director of the Hotel du Theatre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I traveled to Paris for the very first time and our travel agent booked this hotel for us.

What we like about the hotel:
- accessible to the metro and near local neighborhood restaurants.
-bed was comfortable and bathroom was clean and newly remodeled (except for the room)
-nice newly remodeled dining room for breakfast which comes with the stay. The food was fresh everyday and we enjoyed it.
- the folks were very friendly and nice and welcoming

What we didn't like:
-TV did not work during one of the nights we stayed.
- came back to the room one day and the frame was crooked which was odd but minor
-there was construction during 10am in the morning and we were not inform about this. Woke up to loud noise. In addition the workers were smoking on the job. Not sure if this is a culture norm.
- first day we checked in, our room was not ready but we were allowed to leave our bags in the front desk and we felt a bit uncomfortable that the bags were left out all day and NOT in a closet locked up. And we did not get receipts for the bags we checked in.
- smoking during our stay in the room. We can smell cigarettes in our hotel room. Could be someone down the hall and not sure. Maybe this was a cultural thing that Americans are not used to.
- shower door did not retain water so when we took showers the water leaked to the floor.

Overall we found this hotel cozy and pleasant. We notice this is a hotel locals like to go to. The location is perfect for the metro.

Stayed November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickHayatHotels, Directeur général at Hotel du Theatre, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Madame,
Thank you for your detailed review about your recent stay with us and for your compliments about the service and the room comfort.
Thank you for letting us know about the other points you experienced as, by checking with my staff, it helps providing a better service every time.
About your TV, it appears that the cable was slightly unplugged from the wall that night , and Guillaume, the receptionist told me that he fixed it for you in the morning.
About the construction noise, I am surprised and sorry to hear that you did not know about the situation, as we disclosed it on your agency booking document, to make sure that our guests would be aware of a small disagreement from time to time. The construction is now over and you will enjoy the brand new area without nuisance, the next time you come.
Smoking is strictly forbidden in the hotel, and for workers too. Sometimes they sneak in the courtyard to smoke and it could get an open window. And I apologize if for any reason someone managed to smoke closed to you.
About your luggage, as we are a small hotel, our receptionist takes pride in remembering our guests and does not need to give them a receipt as it is not stored with hundreds of other things. It stays safe close to Guillaume.
I am glad that all these things did not alter your stay in Paris with us and that you liked the cosiness and location of the Hotel du Theatre.

We will be delighted to welcome you for your next Parisian stay and share our favorite spots with you. Don't hesitate to contact us directly to get the best prices and a complementary breakfast.
Sincerely.
Bernard Garnier
Director of the Hotel du Theatre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

We recently visited Hotel du Theatre as a group of four so had one double and one twin room.
The reception staff were friendly, spoke good English and were very helpful in giving us useful information and directions whenever we needed it. The reception was manned 24/7 so there was always someone there to help. We were asked to leave the room keys at reception whenever we left the hotel.
Although slightly out of the centre, the hotel is well located within a short walking distance of two metro stations (Rome & Villiers) making getting around Paris easy.
The rooms are fairly small and it seems only some of them have been renovated. One of our rooms had a bathroom that was clearly in need of some improvements whereas the other looked fairly new, despite both rooms costing the same. The twin room was so small that there wasn't any gap between the beds which was unexpected.
The breakfast area was compact but there was a reasonable selection of food. Being in France, I was surprised by the lack of pastries available – only a few (croissants/pain au chocolates etc.) were provided in a bowl per table rather than being able to go and pick what you wanted as was the case with the rest of the food. Book directly with the hotel to get breakfast included.
The free wifi was reliable and was useful to research what we wanted to do. The rooms each had a safe for valuables.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a renovated bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickHayatHotels, Directeur général at Hotel du Theatre, responded to this review, November 6, 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you had a nice stay with us in Paris as it is the best reward we can receive. The 17th area in Paris is indeed trendy and well located but with fewer tourists than in other central areas as you noticed and it is perfect to offer the most authentic Parisian experience to our guests.
It was a delight to have you stay with us, and your kind words about the staff and service meant the world to us.
About the size of your room, the hotel is indeed nested in an authentic renovated Haussmann building, and rooms are not as big as in the USA. We worked with an interior designer to help us make every inch count in the room and give them a roomier feeling.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon and make you feel "at home".

Sincerely.
Bernard Garnier
Director of the Hotel du Theatre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

I stayed in this hotel as a couple with my fiance was pleasantly surprised. Although hotel is not in the very centre, it is only a short metro ride to any of the main sites ie. Eiffle tower, champs elysee etc. And a 45min train ride to disney if u plan to visit there.
The hotel is within walking distance of the Moulin Rouge theatre (10-15 mins at dawdling speed) where you will also find a fantastic range of bars and restaurants.
The hotel itself was very pleasing, staff very helpful and informative, and room very clean, we had a new fitted bathroom which was lovely although shower was slightly smaller than usual but still lovely and hot.
Breakfast was good basic but fresh, only critique would be he breakfast room is very small so could get quite crowded at times; our solution to this was go to breakfast after 9.15 am as there was usually no one else in the room and food was replenished.
Overall would recommend and return

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickHayatHotels, Directeur général at Hotel du Theatre, responded to this review, November 6, 2014
Thank you for your very nice comment.
I am glad to hear that you had a great time in Paris with us and that you enjoyed our comfort and service. Well done on going to the breakfast room at 9;15, it is indeed a good time after the morning rush.
We will be delighted to welcome you for your next Parisian stay and share our favourite spots with you. Don't hesitate to contact us directly to get the best prices and a complementary breakfast.
Sincerely.
Bernard Garnier
Director of the Hotel du Theatre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is well located. It should be renovated, especially walls and the moquette which is pretty old (and dirty like in the elevator). The room is small, and bed linen were not super super clean. Anyway, I would suggest this hotel tho coz it is a good compromise, but at a lower (what I've paid is definitely tooooooo much for this hotel). Last, breakfast was good and it was abundant as I expected.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickHayatHotels, Directeur général at Hotel du Theatre, responded to this review, November 6, 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your nice review about your recent stay with us. We indeed redesigned and painted the hotel, as an on-going project of always maintaining our “home”, improving our service and quality. Thanks for your kind words.
About the price, don't hesitate to contact us directly to get the best prices and a complementary breakfast.
Sincerely.
Bernard Garnier
Director of the Hotel du Theatre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

Friendly staff, nice ambience & good location with an easy access to main attractions. Good choice of restaurants around the area ! 2 Metro stations in the proximity but a good walk to Arc de Triomph & Champs Élysées

Room Tip: 4th floor to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickHayatHotels, Directeur général at Hotel du Theatre, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Thank you very much for your review about your stay with us. Your compliments meant a lot to us and the staff was delighted to hear them when I shared them this morning. We are pleased to hear that you had a nice stay in Paris, as it is the best reward we can have.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Sincerely,
Bernard Garnier
Director of the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Theatre

Address: 5 rue de Cheroy, 75017 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#144 Business Hotel in Paris
#418 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Theatre 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of Paris, the Hotel du Theatre is only a few steps away from the Champs Elysees, Montmartre, the Opera, as well as Paris’s main department stores. Several excellent - trendy or gastronomic - restaurants, the magnificent Parc Monceau and some of Paris’s famous museums are also nearby. The hotel’s intimate, chic and cozy atmosphere in renovated pastel colored rooms proposes you all the comfort and services : free internet, flat screen, cable TV… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Fastbooking so you can book your Hotel du Theatre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Theatre Hotel
Du Theatre Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.