We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint hotel in the heart of Paris” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Saint Thomas D'Aquin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Saint Thomas D'Aquin to your Saves list
Hotel Saint Thomas D'Aquin
3, rue du Pre aux Clercs, 75007 Paris, France (Saint-Germain-des-Pres)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #916 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quaint hotel in the heart of Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

This quaint hotel is perfectly located to walk to the Louvre, Musee D'Orsay and Notre Dame. The hotel room is comfortable and fairly quiet as we had to leave the window open at night. I would recommend skipping the breakfast and grab a café and croissant at Eric Kaysers around the corner. Hotel staff are very friendly, even offering to lend us an umbrella for the day. Only draw back it is a little a bit of hike to the nearest metro when you are dragging luggage. But I would definitely return.
And to save time I would recommend buying tickets on line as the lines were horrendous!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    78
    25
    7
    6
See reviews for
20
75
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Best thing about hotel is location, and next best is that it is quiet. But my single room was tiny, even by Parisian standards, and I disliked the rubber sheeting under the bedsheet and dim lighting. Also lift did not go to our floor, so there was an extra flight of stairs. Service was extremely friendly, though not 100% professional (for example, they didn't have a converter plug). Breakfast, brought to room, was pleasant. Still, the friendly attitude of staff and wonderful location made it a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Everything about this hotel was perfect for a mini-stay in central Paris: just a few minutes walk from the Louvre, the Latin Quarter, the best boulangerie (Eric Kaysers) and great cafes and galleries. The rooms are lovely, with all expected mod cons. The street was quiet, so a good night's sleep is assured. And the staff on the desk could not be more lovely - helpful, friendly and simply lovely people! I'd definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I'm not sure when (or where!) the website photos were taken but the actual hotel was nothing like the photos. It's a tiny, dated and dingy little walk up (lift never worked the whole time we were there so we had to lug bags up 5 flights of tiny old stairs - not that I would have gotten in the ancient lift anyway). I was actually shocked and was convinced I was in the wrong hotel at first, and literally cried that I was in Paris in such a dump. The room was tiny but I will say it was kept clean and ended up being serviceable. The location is a pain, equally distant between 2 Metro stops, not close enough to either to be that convenient and VERY noisy at night. I wouldn't recommend it and wouldn't stay there again - it worked OK in the end but a huge disappointment in most ways. One night upon arriving back to the hotel the clerk called me back to the desk when I was halfway up the stairs demanding to see my key (I'd been there several days and why on earth would I be going in there if I wasn't staying there!). Just weird and off-putting.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great location next to everthing off the Boulevard St. Germain. The hotel has a charming exterior. However rooms are a little disappointing as pokey, dark and a bit run down. (Note : this is fairly frequent in Parisien hotels) Breakfast is decent enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights while on vacation. The central location allowed us to walk to most major sights including Jardin Luxembourg and the Opera Garnier. There is good shopping and restaurants nearby.The room was rather small but had a nice large window and a closet with a mirror. I missed having a lighted mirror near the table while dressing. The bathroom is very small but interestingly lined with faux leather panels. The breakfast service came in handy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cremona, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

It was the 3rd time I staied with my wife in this small french fashioning hotel - sometimes for Holiday sometime for business - so I'm really satisfied of my choise -
the location is fantastic not only to visit the "beaux arts" area, but also for the connections with the rest of the city -
Note for overseas travellers : do not mind to the rate between price/room size if you are customed to international standards
rooms are really small, but authentic:.. in fact looking at the building, old and well maintened, you can understand that could be impossible to have bigger room, or normal sized bathrooms etc...
Guys, you are in the old city center of Paris !!
price not low but anyway not higher than the average of this area
Service, cleaness etc.. all ok
breakfast.. I think it should be fine of course, but we never had because all around there are very interesting sites for breakfast and more
perfect for couples looking for a romantic weekend runaway from job stress

Room Tip: The Street is very quiet, so there are not great difference about location between the rooms -
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Saint Thomas D'Aquin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Thomas D'Aquin

Address: 3, rue du Pre aux Clercs, 75007 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#481 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Saint Thomas D'Aquin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Saint Thomas d Aquin
Saint Thomas d Aquin Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Saint Thomas D'Aquin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.