We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal Bergere

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Royal Bergere to your Saves list
Hotel Royal Bergere
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8, rue Geoffroy Marie, 75009 Paris, France (Montmartre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,395 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Friendly Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Basic but clean hotel. Small but perfectly placed to see Paris on a budget. Rooms are small, bathrooms are smaller but who goes to Paris and stays in their hotel room?
Walking distance to most places. Recomend Le Cars Rouge to see the sights the first two days. The map is very good for future walking trips.
The hotel staff were very friendly and all spoke english.
Breakfast is basic but fills you up for day ahead.
Very well placed little hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    26
    38
    19
    14
See reviews for
18
42
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Catania, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

We passed one week in this hotel. In the room there was no furniture, no mirror, no sockets, no minibar. The wardrobe cabin was useless and we had just one mini beside table in a room for two persons. The table was little and ruined. Cleaning was superficial and the bed was made approximately.
Of course the toilet was little too: no hooks for towels, no sockets for hairdryer. Besides, the staff was kind, except for someone... They think they can call it a 3 stars because there is a TV in the room (that we never used)? I thinks it was the worst hotel I ever stayed in... we will never come back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

Myself and my boyfriend have just come back from a trip to Paris-it was my first visit and I had really no idea where to book as there seemed to be an abundance of hotels but all at relatively pricey rates. We booked the Royal Bergere after reading a selection of reviews on both this site and others and we are both really pleased we did.

Our budget was fairly tight so we took a chance and booked this hotel for 5 nights at a total cost of é360. We arrived very late (1am) on the first night and were shown to a small, quite cramped twin room (room number 45). As it was late, we said nothing but the following day requested that we be moved to a double room as that was what we had booked. We were told that they would check and see if there was a room available-by the time we got back from our day of sightseeing all of our belongings had been moved to a much nicer and larger double room. Everything had been moved with care-whoever moved our possessions put everything back exactly as they had been in the first room which I very much appreciated.

The hotel is small and basic but defintely clean-at no point did I see anything to suggest it was unhygenic. Towels were changed daily and the room was in good condition. This hotel is perfect for those who wish to spend their time and money doing more than sitting in their room so if you are looking for a great area with shopping (the large department stores and retailers -Galerie Lafayette, Uniqlo, H & M etc are all within walking distance) restaurants, decent bars and excellent transport links on your doorstep, you could do a lot worse than book this hotel.

A couple of notes for anyone staying here-there is a very old and unique restaurant called 'Chartier' which is full of character and served old style french food at incredibly cheap prices just around the corner. The Italian across the road is also very good.

If you are thinking of staying in high summer I would specify that you would like a room near the ground floor as it was really quite warm each night and it was only 18 degrees celcius when we were there in March.

Enjoy your stay in Paris!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

When we arrived, the shower was broken and when reported, the receptionist just shrugged his shoulders and basically wasn't interested. However, to be fair, it was mended by the next day though his initial reaction didn't exactly help relationships and first impression. The bathroom was so small that one could almost describe it as rather dangerous. The shower was tiny and impossible to turn round in (we are not large people !) It would have been nice to have had a fridge/mini bar in there, especially as Paris is extremely expensive for EVERYTHING! Wasn't keen on the rather 'grubby-looking' blankets on the bed. The noise outside at night was AWFUL & we slept badly. On the plus side, breakfasts were good though fresh fruit would have been a welcome addition. Also, not all the staff were unhelpful like our first man on reception. The hotel's location was good but nothing would persuade us to return here for a stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

The personell was unfriendly and rude. The room smelled cigarette and was dirty and old. There was also ants walking in the floor of the breakfast room. The breakfast was very poor and the food was stale. The second night the receptionists asked us to show him our room key in order to enter the hotel and go to our room...............Only the location of the hotel was good. This hotel needs a renovation and a good cleaning!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shamelessfan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

Great location - 3 mins from Grands Boulevards station, so easy to find, literally around the corner. Perfect position for getting around Paris. Lady on the front desk in the afternoons was pleasant but quiet, possibly due to a lack of English and our lack of French. Gentleman on desk in the evening was helpful, friendly and extremely pleasant to deal with. Room was very small but not a problem due to us being out all day sightseeing and for the money you pay you can't expect any more. Room was very clean, housekeeping was very efficient every morning, and thoughtful - they folded our pyjamas and put them under the pillow! Ignore less positive reviews about breakfast/breakfast room. We got a table straight away every morning with a good choice of hot drinks and preserves for the fresh croissants and rolls. Cereal, yogurt and orange juice were also available. We were concerned after reading other reviews but hotel for us was extremely good value and we have already decided to stay here on our next visit and would recommend it for tourists who are looking for a conveniently located, friendly place to stay. Plenty of restaurants/cafes and snack bars nearby. The only thing that would have improved the hotel for us would have been tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms - if this is important to you make sure you take a travel kettle! The vending machine in the lobby was not overpriced compared with the rest of Paris. A few tips for first time travellers to Paris - use the supermarket opposite to buy bottles of water to take with you when you go out, as shops and attractions were charging on average 3 euro per bottle whilst the supermarket was 70 cents. Buy a metro ticket for the duration of your stay - it's cheap, quick and easy to use. Overall, a good little hotel with the gentleman on the desk being the highlight due to his helpfulness and friendliness.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

Finding it was even a problem. The address they emailed didn't match what the gps would pull up in the cabs and no one knew where this street or hotel was. The kid at the desk didn't know how far they were from anything (we got directions from hotel next door) and couldn't find the reservation we had been emailed confirmation on. Internet didn't work (and hadn't for several days). Breakfast was warm milk, juice, cereal, croissants, and warm yogurt. Not good. They didn't even understand where to park out front after we got our car. The room was small, bed lumpy, TV didn't work properly, bathroom was clean. We checked out the next day and made other arrangements.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — poor staff, poor breakfst, no internet
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Royal Bergere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Bergere

Address: 8, rue Geoffroy Marie, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre , Opéra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,395 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Bergere 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small contemporary hotel set in center of Paris; near Folies-Bergere; the Opera and Shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Royal Bergere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Bergere Hotel
Royal Bergere Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal Bergere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.