We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem in Paris” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Medicis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Relais Medicis to your Saves list
Relais Medicis
5 place de l'Odeon/23, rue Racine | 6th Arr, 75006 Paris, France (Luxembourg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #366 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A little gem in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I stayed here this week, for about the fifth time. It is just such a perfect place. Charming, quiet, even with a room at the front (which I prefer to the courtyard rooms - pigeons are noisier than the street, which is not that bad at all), in an excellent location and with extremely helpful staff. It is a gem. I cannot imagine staying anywhere else in Paris and look forward to going back. Lovely rooms, crisp linen, endless hot water, light, bright and nicely decorated. Suits our whole family who have all used it - twenty year old daughters to 80 year old mother. A great hotel at a good price for Paris.

Room Tip: Rooms in the courtyard are quiet unless the pigeons kick off. Rooms at the front are noisier but bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    22
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
19
37
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leonard, Mi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

What a great little hotel - utterly charming. The rooms are small but very cozy and you feel very at home here. We loved the decorating - nice fabrics and artwork. The only thing keeping me from giving this hotel the highest rating is the shower. I realize that showers are different in Europe but all the other hotels had a spot for the shower wand to rest above your head so that you were able to get a real shower experience. This hotel did not and I am so surprised that I didn't end up spraying the whole bathrooom everytime I showered. In addition, the water pressure was very strong (normally a good thing), there was only a half door on the tub, and the tub itself was dangerously tall, making it dangerous to step out onto the floor. On the positive side for American travelers, this was the only hotel out of 4 that provided washcloths.
One other note....the desk personnel were friendly and very helpful. However, the wait staff at breakfast were very unfriendly. We aren't sure why - maybe it is a language problem - but we could not even get them to smile at us. It would have been nice to see some pleasantness there in the morning. But the breakfast was good and the setting was very nice. I would definitely stay here again if I return to Paris.

Room Tip: If you want a good night's sleep, try to get a room away from the L'Odeon Place. There can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

This was our first trip to Paris and we really hoped to find a hotel that exuded the charm of Paris. Le Relais Medicis was the perfect place for us. It is a small hotel with only 17 rooms. The small staff is friendly, helpful and very efficient. They went out of their way to ensure we were having a pleasant stay. We found the hotel via the Rick Steves guidebook and he was right. It was like being in a Monet painting.

The guest rooms were charming and comfortable. We had plenty of room to move around in the room and never felt cramped. We had a couch and a nice round table and chairs in the room. The French windows opened to the street, which gave us a view of the street and the square in front of the L'Odeon. It was the perfect Paris setting. The room had a mini bar fridge and a safe. T

The neighborhood was quiet and we never experienced noise at night, other than the occasional scooter or a few people walking by. Our friends declared it was almost too quiet. I figure you can't ask for more than that!

As Americans who prefer a shower, we had to get used to the tub with the hand held sprayer. The bathroom walls were covered in water when I finished my first bath; but, I got better every time after that.

The hotel has a small elevator, but big enough that the four of us could ride it together. The lobby was lovely and there was always someone on duty. We especially appreciated Patrice's assistance many times. Eric and Frederick were also very helpful as well as the other staff. If there was something we needed, they would get if for us if they had it - ice, extension cord, taxi. We greatly appreciated their ability to speak English.

Some pictures previously posted on Tripadvisor showed an empty building to the right of the hotel. The hotel now owns that space and it is part of the lobby now. Every space we saw in the hotel was clean and well maintained. So, some other old pictures no longer reflect the current condition of the hotel. Granted, we did not 'inspect' every floor.

Breakfast was included in the cost of the room. It included a basket with baguettes, croissants, and nut bread - with butter and cheese; yogurt, applesauce, juice and coffee. You could order eggs for an additional 3E. It was a good breakfast, but as there wasn't any variety, we did go out on one morning.

We love the location. There was a bus stop right around the corner; Luxembourg Gardens is a block away; and many restaurants and cafes nearby. The Metro entrance was just a few blocks away.

If you want a large Hilton or Marriott style hotel, this isn't the place for you. But if you are looking for Paris charm, I don't think you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I fine small hotel adjacent to Theatre L'Odeon in the 6th. Excellent location to walk to the usual sites on interest, and very near the Luxembourg Gardens, which offer a very pleasant break from the rigors of sightseeing. The staff is very attentive, and all speak English (they were also very patient with my attempts to speak French!). The our room faced the street, but the area is so quiet noise was never and issue. The rooms are very clean and well appointed, and ours was large by European (or even New York) standards. All in all we enjoyed our stay there, and will return.

Room Tip: The is an option to choose a larger room- we did and it was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

This is a very nice hotel that is in a quiet location - perfect for sleeping, but not too far from major attractions. The staff is fantastic. Our 11-year old son came down with strep throat while we were there. The concierge arranged for a doctor to visit us at the hotel. I thought we would have to wait all day for him to show up. He arrived within a half hour. Everyone was very accommodating. At one point, I happened to run into one of the staff in the hallway and he inquired about how my son was feeling. When I told him he had a sore throat, he arrived 10 minutes later with a tray of hot water, honey and lemon.
If you're looking for a sleek, modern, very new hotel, this is not the place for you. However, if you want a charming, authentic Parisian experience, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This hotel is quiet, beautifully decorated, and the service is excellent. A very pleasant breakfast is included in the price. The location is across from the Odeon Theater and a block from the Luxembourg Gardens. There is very little automobile traffic in the neighborhood, even during performances at the Odeon. Two Metro stations are a short walk away. We spent a week there and found it flawless. We recommend Medicis and plan to stay there on our next visit to Paris.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

In his "Paris" guidebook Rick Steves describes Hotel Relais Medicis as giving a "country side break" from the big city aspects of Paris....a "delightful refuge....tastefully decorated with floral Old World charm and permeated with thoughtfulness". As he has several times for us, he captured this hotel's appeal. Small ( 17 ) rooms with elevators, Relais Medicis has a wonderful location at the end of the small, one-way rue Racine bordering on Place Odeon, just a block from the north end of the Luxembourg Gardens. So, to begin with though extremely well located for access to major streets ( Blvds St. Michel and St. Germain, for example ) and metros, it is quiet! The reception, lounge, and breakfast room are colorfully decorated and comfortable. Our deluxe double room on the 3rd floor was terrific. Comfortable king bed, sofa, round table with chairs, and a bookcase filled with books in a small "L". Large windows looked out on the end of rue Racine and, at an angle, Place Odeon. Small, but quite adequate bathroom ( bath tub with shower attachment ) and toilet ( separated from the bath area by a door ).Combination of good lamp and ceiling lighting. Also very colorful walls, wall hangings, and curtains. Again, though bordering on the street, not the pretty little courtyard, quiet. The reception desk is staffed 24/7, and those staffing the desk could not have been more helpful, in everything from recommending, and making reservations for us at nearby restaurants to calling taxis and printing boarding passes. During our stay Sebastain and Eric were particularly helpful during the day. Re restaurants, one of the several advantages of Relais Medicis is its proximity to several good, moderately priced, small bistros and brasseries within 5-10 minutes easy walks. Our one difference with Steves concerns the continental breakfast which is included in the room rate. In a rare mischaracterization, Steves calls the Relais Medicis breakfast "extravagant". Not. The breakfast is quite adequate, served in the same measured portions for each person daily: a small basket holding one croissant and one quarter baguette , a small container of yogurt, a small container of apple juice, a small glass of orange juice, and coffee or tea. No fresh fruit or cereal. Eggs available for an additional 3 Euros. But this is a small quibble, for the breakfast is fine in the context of small hotel/ B & B continental breakfasts. And a good value, keeping in mind that many small hotels do not include breakfast in the room rate. In sum, we were tremendously pleased with Relais Medicis in every respect. It beautifully fills the niche between the large, really expensive Paris hotels and the budget hotels, and we heartily recommend it.

S and B
Arcadia, CA

Room Tip: Our deluxe double, which we loved, was #36
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais Medicis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Medicis

Address: 5 place de l'Odeon/23, rue Racine | 6th Arr, 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Luxembourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#208 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Relais Medicis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Medicis Hotel Paris
Atel Relais Medicis Paris
Atel Relais Medicis Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Medicis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.