We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location in Luxembourg Paris” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Medicis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Relais Medicis to your Saves list
Relais Medicis
5 place de l'Odeon/23, rue Racine | 6th Arr, 75006 Paris, France (Luxembourg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #389 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic location in Luxembourg Paris”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Relais Médicis couldn't be better situated just across from the Odeon theatre and the Luxembourg Gardens. From here almost every museum is walking distance; Louvre, Musée d'Orsay, Musée Cluny, Sainte Chapelle, Pantheon. We even walked to the Arc de Triomphe from here.

So the hotel: The first thing to catch your eye as you walk into the hotel reception area will be the bar; a faux bar with a glass shelf stocked with shining bottles of alcohol, but no bar stools and no bar tender and as far as we could tell never open for business, so just there to fill a space in the reception area.

My husband and I spent 8 nights here. Our first 3 nights were in a standard double room that was really tiny even by Paris boutique hotel standards. The bed was double bed with barely enough space for the two of us. A tiny bathroom with a tub and a hand shower, but no shower curtain, so washing my hair without getting water all over the bathroom and even out into the bedroom was almost impossible.

There is a tiny elevator so we had to first send up our luggage and walk up the steps to take the luggage out; though that's not unusual for left bank hotels. After one night the elevator had a notice on the door "Lift not working do not us" and that's the way it stayed for four days.

On our fourth day we moved to a 'superior double' that wasn't much bigger than the one we left. Same size bed, same size bath tub with a hand shower - working elevator.

The room comes with a mini bar, but the one in our room didn't work - by that I mean it didn't cool inside the fridge/mini bar so if we wanted a glass of white wine we would have had to drink it warm. The next day I told the receptionist that the refrigerator in our room didn't work. It did say mini bar on the door of the little fridge but it was a little frigidaire. He said to me "madame that is not a refrigerator that is a mini bar". It felt as though I was in a scene from 'Iinspector Clouseau'. (You fool that's what I am saying) At the end of our stay the frigidaire mini-bar still wasn't working. This hotel is expensive and at 228 Euros per night; I expected a little better.

Breakfast is the usual baguette, croissant, and coffee or tea but saves having to have a croissant and coffee in a café in very expensive Paris.

We love Paris but next time maybe our stay won't be at the hotel Ralais Médicise.

Room Tip: All rooms are quite even on the street side. AC works well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    22
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
19
37
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Charming hotel in a great location - right next to the Gardens. Staff is very nice and knowledgeable, happy to make dinner reservations, take care of your every need. Easy walk to various metro and train stops. Easy walk to shopping.

Room Tip: Our room faced the street and with windows open, could be a little noisy. Facing the garden was mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We have stayed at this property many times over past 10+ years. It is one of the few remaining places in Paris, much less France, where breakfast (jus d'orange, croissants, baguette, jam, yogurt, cafe au lait) is still 'compris' - included in the cost of the room, and rooms are extremely reasonably priced (this is Paris, afterall). The hotel staff are extremely helpful, pleasant, friendly, and are in many cases longtime employees. The location is unbeatable - Sorbonne, Luxembourg gardens, several different metro stops (Odeon, line 14), cinemas, all close to a relatively residential/student neighborhood. Street noise is at a minimum. Our one comment on this visit is that it is time to renovate the rooms! The decor - a Monet-inspired impressionistic theme - is showing its wear. The lobby was nicely renovated several years ago, so management is making improvements. Other aspects of this property that we - take the good with the bad - is that at times the room can reek of smoke (which on this visit was mitigated by opening the french windows), and parking is all but impossible - rue Racine is extremely narrow - and we once received a parking ticket while unloading our bags from our rental car in a very short period of time. That said, this is a great value for you euro! With updating/sprucing of room decor, I'd give this hotel 5 stars.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inner courtyard are quieter - rooms facing the street (rue Racine) I believe are mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

A gem near the rue St. Germain area and stone's throw away from the Luxembourg gardens. We booked in the last minute due to some misunderstanding at another hotel (the other hotel couldn't accommodate 4 people in a 3 person room - the 4th was my 6 year old son!), but couldn't have been luckier in landing here. The location was excellent - the rue St. Germain area is full of cafes, shops, and so many book stores (including a store with old editions of Jules Verne books) and easy access to metro (both local and RER). The staff were very friendly and helpful - relied on them for which metro to take, directions, etc. Breakfast was decent, and served in style with excellent service by the wait staff. Rooms were decorated tastefully, and beds were very comfortable. A/C was useful as well since we were there in early July. We will gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We just returned from a 3-night stay at Relais Medicis and were very pleased -- I would give this hotel 4-1/2 stars if that was an option. It is a charming small hotel in a great location, near the Luxembourg Gardens and Odeon -- close to rue St. Germain, but in a quiet nook a few blocks away. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, the rooms were small, but charming and clean, the A/C worked well and the beds were very comfortable. A gem for a 3-star hotel at these prices in Paris. Only negative was the bath with hand shower -- you might ask whether you can book a room with a real shower if that matters to you. I would definitely stay here again on another visit to Paris. We enjoyed this hotel even more than the other 3-star hotel we stayed at for our last night in Paris (before returning home after time in other parts of France), though that other hotel had a slightly higher rating on tripadvisor.

Room Tip: We faced the street and had no problem with noise. You might ask about whether your room has a show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County CA
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We were in Paris during the May heatwave and having good Air plus two bathrooms made our suite on the ground floor of this relais most enjoyable.

Marie and Sebastian are most personable and eager to please which makes the visitor seem most welcome.

Breakfast is complimentary...unique in France and quite well served and delicious.

In addition, the location is fantastic, close to excellent restaurants, Bastide Odeon, La Mediteranee and Polidor, the restaurant in Midnight in Paris.

Overall we loved having a 5 star experience at a 3 star price.

Room Tip: Ask for the ground floor suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

It is 40 years since I last stayed in Paris - times have changed - this 3 star hotel tucked away in the Place de L'Odeon was beautiful. Although the room was small it was full of character - particularly the wooden beams - and overlooked a courtyard with creeper in full bloom. The shower not only washed but exfoliated the pressure was so high!! The surrounding streets are full of bookshops and little boutiques - restaurants just a stones-throw away. Magnifique!

Room Tip: Though not an issue for me, some rooms are lighter than others owing to aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais Medicis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Medicis

Address: 5 place de l'Odeon/23, rue Racine | 6th Arr, 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Luxembourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#229 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Relais Medicis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Medicis Hotel Paris
Atel Relais Medicis Paris
Atel Relais Medicis Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Medicis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.