We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel, excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Medicis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Relais Medicis to your Saves list
Relais Medicis
5 place de l'Odeon/23, rue Racine | 6th Arr, 75006 Paris, France (Luxembourg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #390 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
1 review
“Charming hotel, excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed on our first trip to Paris. the staff was friendly, helpful and spoke good English . I did find the street side noisy and the mattress a bit firm for my taste however the close proximity to several excellent brassieres and cafes and the easy access from the metro made up for it.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    22
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
19
37
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two weeks last May based upon the Steve Ricks recommendation. Our room was on the street side and my wife thought it a little noisy until after midnight. I sleep with ear plugs so I heard nothing. Breakfast was great and we had a choice of eating in the small dining area or having room service at no charge. We had to admit that the same breakfast got a little boring day after day but we usually ended up saving part of it for lunch or snacks. We kept the perishables in the room's mini refrigerator. The staff at the front desk was excellent. My wife became ill one night and the woman at the front desk recommended a doctor whose office was only a couple of blocks from the hotel. After a visit with the doctor and his prescription, which was easily filled at a local pharmacy, my wife was better in a day or so. We would definitely go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: We reserved our room online. Only one day's
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Our return visit to Relais Medicis was as pleasant as our previous visit 2 1/2 years ago. Lots of French charm and hospitality. The included breakfast is a nice touch. Staff has always been most helpful and accommodating...with a smile. Was a Rick Steves' recommendation three years ago and his evaluation still stands... Really in a nice, quiet little corner of the 6th with RER Luxembourg right down the street...a major factor in our initial choice of this hotel.

Room Tip: We have had rooms on both sides; noise was not really an issue with either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paia, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

I travel to Paris at least once a year. I have stayed in many of the smaller, boutique left bank hotels in the 6th, but this one continually offers the best value and quality of service. Internet and breakfast is included in the price, which makes a big difference these days with hotels charged 12-15 Euro for croissant and coffee. Breakfast here is not so parsimonial and consists of juice, croissant, pastry etc, yoghurt, applesauce and they will even make you and egg (small fee for this).

Rooms are quiet (even those on the street), and larger than the standard Paris hotel room.
When traveling alone, I prefer the rooms on the courtyard, which are quiet and peaceful.
When my husband accompanies me, we opt for the larger superior room with the larger bed.

Staff is friendly and courteous and they remember my name each year and always welcome me back.

You can find fancier lodging in the 6th for sure, but you can't beat the Relais for offering consistent quality, value and service.

Room Tip: Rooms on the courtyard are small, so if traveling as a couple, go for one of the larger street side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Our family of four had been in Brussels and other parts of France before arriving in Paris. We chose this hotel due to the great location. We will not stay here again due to several reasons including (1) the telephone calls the front desk made to LOCAL places and tried to charge us AFTER they called for the calls; (2) we had the room on the first floor where the showers do not have any covering and consequently the floors stayed wet including the carpet by the front room shower; (3) the help at the desk was not friendly and in fact was deceptive at times regarding reservations, internet use and communications; and (4) this hotel is very expensive and does not deliver anywhere near the service and facilities that a hotel of this price in Paris should. We have stayed in Paris numerous times and thought we would try a new area and thus picked this hotel at the suggestion of the Rick Steve Paris 2011 book. We will not stay here again, but will find another hotel in the area as it is a great area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariemont, Ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

So cute, co convenient, so perfect.
Like our friend Rick says -- like staying in a Monet painting. This is the perfect location for Paris hotels. We were there 3 nights and were able to do everything we wanted. Except of course, stay longer, which is what we really wanted. We found an excellent restaurant not far from the hotel -- La Petite Chatele -- ask for Simon -- the best waiter there. The hotel was worried that our room would not be large enough to accomodate the 4 of us, but it was great. We opted to stay in the Junior Suite even though the regular suite opened up while we were there. The hotel is clean, friendly, offers breakfast -- would love to have a banana instead of applesauce and CREAM for my coffee -- but other than that -- perfect, perfect, perfect. The staff was lovely and helpful. I will only stay at the Relais Medicis when I visit Paris in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, NJ
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Located next door to the Odeon Theatre and a block from Luxembourg Garden, Relais Medicis is perfectly located for walking access to much of Paris, but quiet and reserved. We stayed in the 'Junior Suite' with our 14 year old granddaughter-a wonderful accommodation overlooking the garden with 2 bathrooms and 2 TVs in 2 rooms and a door for privacy. Breakfast was repetitive, but with great baguettes and croissants to go with the other fare, it seemed fine. Marie and Isabel offered up excellent advice for us, and were able to make good recommendations. Many really good restaurants are in the neighborhood - use Trip Advisor for recommendations in St. Germain du Pres. We have been to Paris many times, and think this is the best hotel we have found there.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais Medicis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Medicis

Address: 5 place de l'Odeon/23, rue Racine | 6th Arr, 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Luxembourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#229 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Relais Medicis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Medicis Hotel Paris
Atel Relais Medicis Paris
Atel Relais Medicis Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Medicis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.