We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything is handy, including the Eiffel Tower” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Bourdonnais

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Bourdonnais to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel La Bourdonnais
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111, avenue de la Bourdonnais, 75007 Paris, France (Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #337 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
North Island, NZ
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Everything is handy, including the Eiffel Tower”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is a friendly affordable perfectly located hotel! We were like the Three Little Bears in our room overlooking the avenue, mere steps from the Eiffel Tower, great restaurants, the Seine hop on-off cruises, and the Metro. Hotel staff kindly speak English as do many of the nearby shopkeepers and restauranteurs. The decor is a bit dated but all else more than compensates, not least the breakfast (included). We booked two walking tours at Vayable.com ... recommend a search of this site for Paris tours. We enjoyed a traipse round the famous bakeries and patisseries with one guide, and a journey to the edges of Paris for the antiques market with another. With their help we saw corners of Paris we would not have found on our own. We would not bother again with the hop on-off bus tours ... take the Seine cruise option instead. The river goes right through the heart of Paris and you will be able to hop on and off at any of the central sights you would like to see. We booked lunch at the Eiffel Tower restaurant but would not recommend this; while the food was good, information about how to access the restaurant for our reservation at the right time was inadequate, and staff at the Eiffel Tower were unhelpful. See the Tower by all means, but skip the restaurant, buy a baguette, and explore the neighborhood instead. We found a well stocked superette a few doors away from the hotel for fruit, cheese and drinks, to keep in the fridge in our room. At night we could crane our heads over the balcony to see the twinkling lights of the Eiffel Tower. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that will give you a peek of the Eiffel Tower and its beautiful evening lights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParisSandro, Assistant manager at Hotel La Bourdonnais, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear bears Family ;),Thank you very much for leaving your nice comment on TripAdvisor and for your great enthusiasme. We are looking forward to welcome you back to the Hotel soon! Sincerely, Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    342
    73
    25
    15
See reviews for
326
172
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire, England
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

After nearly giving up on finding a reasonably priced hotel that offered a quadruple room (not a junior suite,or adjoinging doors,) in an area of Paris that was within easy reach of the 'sights' without being stuck in an attic or a shoe box and paying over the top - I was recommended this hotel by one of the advisors of Eurostar. Usually sceptical about these recommendations but lacking the time or the will to research further I went ahead. So glad we did. Perfect location for the city, especially with 9 and 12 year old. Less than a 5 minute walk to Ecole Militaire metro,
The river, and the Eiffel tower, the park. Many places to eat and drink ranging from the quick snack to the typical French dining. (Also, Chinese, Indian, Italian, very close by) A supermarket next door very reasonable for the water and ice creams. Pharmacy inthe Avenue. Hotel room was on the fifth floor. Very clean, fresh towels each day air conditioned (thank goodness as it was 32 deg.)One could see the top of the Tower by leaning out. My only negative would be the two double beds, I would have prefered the one double and two single - had the children been older of course that would have been an issue to change, but didn't feel it was worth it for our short time and we were all so shattered each night, I think we could have slept on the floor!
L'occitane toiletries: separate WC, shower over bath: plenty of hot water. Good lounge area, also air conditioned. Wifi available free. Magazines and daily newspapers. computer access area. Breakfast was we thought very good for the 10 euro. Choice of fresh fruit salad, all the pastries, breads, cereals, and bonus, scrambled egg and crispy bacon! Decent coffee machine, kids happy, we are happy! We did consider eating breakfast in a cafe, but thought what's the point, as it would have cost far more than that for the choice, and the seating area was very pleasant - if when full, a little cramped. We arrived very early and our room was all ready. On leaving we were able to leave our luggage at the hotel and they ordered a taxi for us later to the station, giving us a whole day without hauling all our baggage around. Friendly, polite and efficient.
There are toilet facilites in the lobby area, so we were able to freshen up before our homeward journey. If I stay in Paris again, would def. go back here. I should ask for a larger room probably at the back, but would'nt not stay if this wasn't available. I can thoroughly recommend!

Room Tip: Front have view of the top of the Eiffel tower (good at night when illuminated) if you lean out of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParisSandro, Assistant Manager at Hotel La Bourdonnais, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest, We do thank you very much for leaving these wonderful comment about the hotel! We like to think that every guest is special and do our best to make their stay unique. Our team will enjoy to hear that they have you done the best! thanks again Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

It was a bit expensive but we arrived on Bastille day and stayed for 4 nights.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. English was spoken well at the front desk. We tried our best French but in the end, all communications went better when we stuck to English.

We had requested a quiet room when we made the reservations and were glad we did. The room was on the courtyard on the 2nd floor. Very quiet indeed.

Breakfast was plentiful and very good. We enjoyed an assortment of cheese, pastries, yogurt, cereal, scrambled eggs, bacon, and coffee every morning until 11am.
The location was only a couple of blocks from the Eiffel Tower and less than that to a Metro stop.

We'd stay again if we ever return to Paris.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParisSandro, Assistant Manager at Hotel La Bourdonnais, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Twally,It is a pleasure to read that your experience was good, the hotel location, the staff and the breakfast to be excellent. Hope you enjoyed the amazing firework at the Eiffel tower and hope to welcome you back to the hotel la Bourdonnais. Sincerely, Sandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Country, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Hotel is in a great location. Eiffel Tower and Le Musée de L'Armée are within walking distance as well as several restaurants. Hotel staff spoke English and were very helpful. Room was clean although a bit disappointing, decor needed updating. Breakfast was very good and included hot items.

Room Tip: Front rooms may have a view of Eiffel Tower however will experience traffic noise, rear rooms are qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful small quaint hotel near the Ecole Militaire Metro station, a 5 minute walk to Rue Cler and 10 min to the Tour Eiffel. The rooms were simple but very comfortable, the breakfast buffet was excellent. The hotel staff all spoke english and were very helpful. The combination of the location, breakfast, friendliness of the hotel staff and the room give this hidden gem a 5 star rating.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParisSandro, Assistant Manager at Hotel La Bourdonnais, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Curt,What a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our hotel, the atmosphere and the location. Your comment is a wonderful motivation for the all team! Sincerely, Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed here for 5 days. Staff was helpful, nice, and always available. Location couldnt be better. Room was a good size, with AC, and a decent sized bathroom. Wifi was absolutely terrible. Had to sit in the stairwell to have my phone work. Terrible Wifi seems to be a French thing more than a just this hotel mind you as we had this issue all over France. There was another traveller complaining in the lobby about the same thing at one point so it isnt just us. They do have two computers that are great and we used quite a bit with a printer so we could print our boarding passes. That was a great thing to have. Only thing holding the hotel back from a 5 star review is that the price is very good for the location and the staff is great. For 200 euro a night and then another 30 euro a day for breakfast it just cant add a great 'value' to the review as it is still a bit dated inside but you cant expect the world or for the hotel to lose money so you cant fault them. I would definitely recommend and will probably stay at this exact hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParisSandro, assistant Manager at Hotel La Bourdonnais, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Family Cosworth, Thank you very much for having taken the time to leave your comments on TripAdvisor! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again in Paris and Hotel la Bourdonnais! Sincerely, Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at this Hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The Hotel is a bit "tired" but nonetheless very clean and most things in working order. The WIFI services were terrible and very unreliable and only really accessible in the reception area. Despite this little inconvenience, it made our stay in Paris very pleasurable. It is in a great location (walking distance from the Eiffel Tower, Napoleon's Tomb) and the rates are exemplary for Paris. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Bourdonnais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Bourdonnais

Address: 111, avenue de la Bourdonnais, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#166 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#222 Family Hotel in Paris
#311 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#337 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Bourdonnais 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Fastbooking and Otel so you can book your Hotel La Bourdonnais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bourdonnais Hotel
La Bourdonnais Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Bourdonnais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.