We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Bourdonnais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Bourdonnais to your Saves list
Hotel La Bourdonnais
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111, avenue de la Bourdonnais, 75007 Paris, France (Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #356 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Somerset, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The hotel is old - no doubt about that but was very clean, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the location was excellent. The hotel served breakfast which was very convenient especially when travelling with children, they had a good selection of fruits, cheese, pastries and cereal for breakfast. More than anything else, is the location, the hotel is conveniently located near subway station, Rue Cler market place and a host of restaurants.

Room Tip: Able to see the Eiffel tower from room window on upper floors>
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParisSandro, Assistant Manager at Hotel La Bourdonnais, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Vashtie,It is a pleasure to read that your experience was good, the hotel location and some facilities to be excellent. The whole team hopes to have the pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel la Bourdonnais. Sincerely, Sandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    353
    81
    27
    16
See reviews for
338
190
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
pretoria
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Although I can't really fault anything here, the hotel is old and in need of renovation. Everything about it is average except the service at reception. The reception desk personnel are extremely helpful, friendly and courteous. The superb location (walking distance from the Eiffel) makes it worthwhile staying at.

Room Tip: don't stay longer than 2 or 3 nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParisSandro, Assistant Manager at Hotel La Bourdonnais, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Lawry
We take note of all your remarks and we hope to welcome you soon in Paris. Yours sincerely, Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a great motel if you want something different from the chains. Location was fantastic- metro around the corner, 10/15 min walk to the Eiffel Tower and great restaurant nearby, plus a supermarket! Staff were friendly and helpful, happy to store luggage and the breakfast is really nice - all you need!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Hotel has the air conditioning and private baths that are hard to find in mid-priced, well-located French hotels. We didn't want to stay in a big American chain hotel; this has a Parisian feel with American amenities. The rooms have AC, their own bathrooms, and the staff speak English very well. Very close to the Eiffel Tower and metro. Skip the hotel breakfast and take a quick, easy walk in the morning for pastry and coffee in the Rue Cler market street. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParisSandro, Assistant manager at Hotel La Bourdonnais, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor
We are trying to keep this charming old fashion Paris style so many guests are still looking for,
and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed this atmospher!
Sincerely, Sandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The reason I give this a 4 star is due to location and staff. Rooms are 3 star, but the hotel knows this and are making changing. My husband really liked the Parisian feel as it is not a chain hotel. I had second thoughts upon going down the dark hall to my room, but after a while felt good with my decision to stay here, The room had a small area with 2 seater couch, 2 small chairs and coffee table. The bedroom area had 2 double beds, dresser and desk with a mini fridge hidden inside. The fridge was good to put drinks in to keep cold. All the furnishing were old, tired and worn but was fine. Hopefully when they revamp the furniture gets a revamp. The beds did the job for the 4 nights we were there. They are stiff and not much give, but it was fine. The bathroom is good size. Watch out the first time you use the shower or water will go all over the place. No shower curtain, just half sheet of plexiglass to keep the water contained. They had amenities such as shampoo, conditioner, soap, lotion, make up remover wipes and a few other things. The view out our window was an old wall and apartments down below. I liked it for the privacy factor and it was quiet. We left the windows open and it was quiet at night. There is air con which if it is really hot might not keep the room to cool.
Location: 10 min walk to Eiffel, 3 minute walk to metro also ATM before you get to metro, grocery store next door (used it to buy drinks and snacks), walking to many restaurants (our fave was 5 minutes down the road) and 10 min walk to Rue Cler.
We did not eat dinner until 9 at night and a few times had a drink and dessert at 11 at nights. Places are still open that time of night, there are even a few open 24 hours. It does not get dark until a little past 10. The hotel is in a safe location, like I said we were often out very late.
There was plenty of room, we had a quad room, for the four of us. They also sell tickets for various places, just ask. We bought our Louvre tickets there.
Breakfast: We ate there once and it was fine. Bacon, eggs, pastry, cereal, fruit few other things we found something for everybody.
Staff: Very friendly and professional. Arranged shuttle from airport and taxi to Eurostar. I would recommend this and the taxi to Eurostar, well worth the money.
Overall, I would stay here again even with all misgivings at first. Free WIFI and it kept up with checking email and surfing the net. The rooms and bathroom were clean which is almost the most important thing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed here for four nights on my first trip to Paris with family and thought it was great! Fantastic location right near the Eiffel Tower with many fantastic restaurants and patisseries near by. We requested a room with an Eiffel Tower view and got it (requesting is a must), it was perfect even though you couldn't see the whole tower it was enough. The price was reasonable for the location and staff were friendly. We enjoyed the breakfast every morning, especially the croissants...delicious! Rooms were definitely not modern but I think it added to the charm of the hotel, but I hear they have plans to renovate this year. Free wifi in the lobby was also good. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Request a room with an Eiffel Tower view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParisSandro, Assistant Manager at Hotel La Bourdonnais, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Maria, It is a pleasure to read that your experience was good, the hotel location and some facilities to be excellent. The whole team hopes to have the pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel la Bourdonnais. Sincerely,Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel while we were visiting Paris. I put a lot of research into where we would stay and I made the right choice! It was more than I wanted to pay, but I was pleased with the choice nonetheless.

It is located in the 7th arrondissement and close to many attractions such as: the Eiffel Tower, museums, Ecole Militaire, Seine River and so much more. It is also in a very safe area!
http://www.parisperfect.com/7th-arrondissement.php

Our room was big. It had a lot of windows. It was very clean and it was cleaned very well every day. The bathroom was BIG! We had a room to unpack with shelving and closet and other drawers available; each area was clean. There was a safe in the room. We had air conditioning and it was terrific! The beds were very comfortable. Our room was quiet.

The staff was terrific! They were always very nice, and very helpful, very friendly.

There is a very nice sitting area in the hotel that is right off the main entrance. You could sit and read or quietly visit, reading material available and WIFI. It was a peaceful relaxing area. There is a sitting area right in the lobby that is comfortable and has newspapers available from throughout the world.

I should also add the there was "Free WIFI" in our room and throughout the hotel.

We stayed for 5 nights, and had breakfast there twice. The eating area is nice and is kept clean and the staff is gracious. We didn't think it was the best breakfast as far as baked goods go, but there is a good selection of things. There are a lot of cafes nearby that one could grab a "better breakfast" at, but then there is convenience...

We enjoyed everything about the hotel and our stay. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParisSandro, Assistant Manager at Hotel La Bourdonnais, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear LEE,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to leave your comments on TripAdvisor!


We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again in Paris and Hotel la Bourdonnais!

Sincerely,
Sandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Bourdonnais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Bourdonnais

Address: 111, avenue de la Bourdonnais, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#182 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#248 Family Hotel in Paris
#293 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#458 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Bourdonnais 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Bourdonnais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bourdonnais Hotel
La Bourdonnais Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Bourdonnais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.