We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing ..... I think it must depend which room you stay in ......” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lumieres

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lumieres to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Lumieres
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Rue Damremont | Montmartre, 75018 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #705 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
GreenLeadersBronze level
Leicestershire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Disappointing ..... I think it must depend which room you stay in ......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay with my daughter as a leaving school treat. Booked this hotel based on previous reviews. Maybe I'm getting picky in my old age. On a positive note, all of the reception staff without exception were friendly, polite and spoke impeccable English. The room was clean, the bedding and towels immaculate, and the bed itself comfortable. It was just a ten minute walk to the Metro. On a not so positive note there were a few areas that were disappointing. There were no tea and coffee making facilities - presumably because the room was so small there was nowhere to put a kettle! There were no English tv channels - not that I was expecting Sky - but one would have been nice. Unfortunately, whilst I realise all Paris hotel rooms are on the small side, this room was so tiny that they could not even put a door on the bathroom. It was not possible to get changed with any privacy anywhere in the room, except by going and standing by the door. The separate toilet has a door, but it is not big enough to change in there. The shower cubicle had a door, but it would be impossible to change in there without getting your clothes wet. The sink area had plenty of room to change, but it didn't have a door and is completely visible to the bedroom area. I know I was with my daughter, but this arrangement would have better suited a double room. The wifi signal was also extremely poor - I guess because we were at the back of the hotel overlooking some kind of courtyard (don't be fooled - not a courtyard that was usable), and only on the second floor. The room had obviously suffered from damp, and there was a fairly large area on the wall by the door where the paint was peeling off the wall. Finally, there was only one curtain, when it appeared there should have been two. This meant we had to try to strategically place the curtain to be able to cover the window - it was just about possible, but two curtains would have been much better. Would I stay there again? Probably not. I think I would pay the extra few quid and go a bit more upmarket. Unfortunately, as it was Bastille weekend, all accommodation was limited so this appeared like it would be good value. Don't get me wrong, there is nothing terrible about this hotel - but with a bit of loving attention it could easily be so much better.

Room Tip: Avoid room 201
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLumieres, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Lumieres, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay at Hôtel Lumières.

We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience.
First, it is possible for us to give you a free cup of tea or to go directly to the expresso machine in the lobby (one euro).

About the failure connection of internet and the english channel, we always recommend that you contact the front desk to be able to check with maintenance staff, for example the "CNN International" is present at channel 28 and available in your room.

Finally, we are pleased to announce that all work to improve the room have been made this week.

The staff and the management hope to welcome you back to Hôtel Lumières on your next trip to Paris. Thank you again for posting your review.

Best regards,
HL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    96
    21
    11
    1
See reviews for
11
72
11
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Suisse
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Arriving from the hotel citizenM in London, this hotel Lumières is priced the same but is incomparably lower in all points. Although the hotel was freshly renewed, rooms are less cosy, noise isolation between rooms is deficient, the steet outside is pretty noisy too (you need to open windows, no air conditioning), stairs are clumsy, breakfast is average, and you need to wait long before obtaining warm or cold water in the bathroom. Maybe this is still above the average in Paris or in the neighborhood? On the pros side, free wifi (but you need to enter password quite often), three bus lines are stopping just in front of the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Lumieres, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear you spent an average stay.
The breakfast at ten euros is a continental buffet with :

Coffee, Teas variety, Chocolate, Orange Juice, Bread, Croissant, Madeleines, Rusks, Cereals, Jam, Honey, Compote, Orange marmalade, Yogurt, Yogurt with fruits, Cream cheese, Dried fruits, Soft and lightly salted butter, Basket of Fruits.

Thanks for your feedback.
Yours faithfully.
HL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We spent three days at this renovated hotel. We had a room overlooking the courtyard - noise does not disturb us from the bus stop outside the hotel. Room small, but clean, quality bed, bathroom smaller.
Daily cleaning and towel change.
Supermarket opposite the hotel, where it was possible to buy for example 0,5l Evian water for 0.65euro (city center 2.5euro).
Metro 15 minutes on foot (Jules Jufrin station), there are two delicius bakery way to the station.
I realy recommended this hotel to all!

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the courtyard - noise does not disturb us from the bus stop outside the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLumieres, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Lumieres, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Honza

Thanks for sharing your experience with us.
The metro stop Jules Joffrin (line 12) is located 650 meters from the hotel, i.e. a 7 minutes walk (without luggage).
For food lovers, there is a well-known bakery, winner 2012 of the 'Best Baguette of Paris' award, very close to the hotel. Even the President's House buys from it!
We hope you will visit us again very soon at Hotel Lumieres.

HL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This hotel used to be called Hotel Damremont. It has been updated and rebranded. It was very nice and comfortable. Very small rooms but with good space planning for the size--adequate for a few days. The value was good since it's hard to find a good boutique-ish hotel for a decent price in Paris. The wifi was fast in our room on the 5th floor. The shower was coffin-sized, but ok for a short stay. When we checked out the elevator was broken so it was a long walk down with our bags. But that happens sometimes and the reception was aware and trying to get it fixed. And the coffee robot in the lobby ate 2 euros and gave me no coffee, but not a big deal.

Room Tip: A high floor will diminish street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLumieres, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Lumieres, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear KC,
We are delighted that you spent a good stay in Hotel Lumières Paris.
And disappointed to hear there was no refund of your cash for the coffee machine.
We are trying to give our best to improve the service we provide to our guests
See you soon on Hotel Lumieres Paris !
HL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Spent a special birthday here with a close friend in a twin room. Room was really clean and linen was nice!

Room was on the small side but think that is normal for Paris. Hotel is modern and contemporary.

There is a great Saturday food market just around the corner. Recommed getting some cheese, croissants and fresh fruit and having a picnic at the Lourve!

Location wise, there is a bus stop directly outside the door that takes about 15 minutes to the main sites or 2 euros. It runs regularly till late, There are also train stations nearby. Get a Paris pass to avoid all the long queues.

Walk up the hill to explore Montemarte, seebhe views and visit the Dali Museum.

We got in late and had a really lovely, fresh and tasty dinner round the corner at a restaurant staff recommended. This seems to be the only one they really recommend though.

Staff at this hotel were really friendly and nice.

Sadly, as I don't speak any French, I think a language barrier prevented me from getting a comprehensive orientation on arrival. Saying that all staff speak sufficient enough English to do all the basics.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLumieres, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Lumieres, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear guests,

We were pleased to receive your comment about our hotel.

Indeed, near the hotel, there is a food market twice a week, wednesday and saturday.

And buses 31, 60, 95 are at the foot of the hotel Lumières.

Many restaurants in the area, sample of our favorites :
French food : Au bon coin and Paris Bohème
Italian food : Pulcinella and Rossini
Indian food : Le safari
Turkish food : Sec

We look forward to welcoming from you again in HOTEL LUMIERES PARIS
Yours faitfully
HL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I enjoyed my stay in the hotel. The highlight are the rooms which, in my case anyway, was v contempory. This meant new fittings, and a bit more space than i might expect, very bid bed, storage, great shower room.... I have stayed in older hotels in Paris where the rooms feel much smaller, with old furnishing and a rubbish shower curtain in a miniscule bath. And the b'fast was decent. I didnt especially enjoy the location. It is on a dullish street and i think there are better areas than m'martre to stay. But that is not the fault of the hotel. And it was quiet. Cant remember the price but it seemed fair value.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and got an internal one onto the well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLumieres, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Lumieres, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
We appreciated to read your comments.
Thanks for your feedback.
Awaiting the pleasure to welcome you again in Hotel Lumieres Paris
Yours faithfully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Lumieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lumieres

Address: 110 Rue Damremont | Montmartre, 75018 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Paris
#143 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lumieres 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designer Hotel completely renovated at the end of 2011, near Montmartre, offers 36 brightly coloured room, equipped with top of the range bedding, flat screen TV, Italian style shower, Free WiFi.The Hotel Lumières is a No Smoking hotel."The Alcove" Lounge is available to you to relax or work in with a wide screen TV (Computer and printer available on request), Free WiFi.The nearest metro station (650 m) is Jules Joffrin on Line 12 - Guy Moquet Line 13 (800 m)Gare Saint Lazare at 15 minutes - Palais des Congrès 15 minutes - Gare de L'est et Nord 15 minutes - Aéroport Roissy CDG 25 minutes - Aéroport Orly 35 minutes - Château de Versailles 30 minutes - Disneyland 40 minutes -Monuments and Museums, Places of interest nearby :Montmartre, Place du Tertre, Moulin Rouge, Cimetière de Montmartre, Puces de Clignancourt, Basilique de Saint Denis, Espace Dali, Opéra de Paris, Musée de la Franc Maçonnerie, Musée Gustave Moreau, Musée Boris Vian, Théatre Mogador. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your Hotel Lumieres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atel Damremont
Atel Damremont Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lumieres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.