We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive -- but earned is star honestly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shang Palace

Shang Palace
10 Avenue d'Iena, 75116 Paris, France
(33 1) 53 67 19 98
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Shang Palace is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,379 of 13,460 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: The restaurant offers authentic Chinese cuisine originally inspired by South East China's culinary traditions. A main room and three private dining rooms named for the Tang, Ming and Qing dynasties are available.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Expensive -- but earned is star honestly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is not fast food Chinese--know before you walk in that it is expensive. Shang Palace restaurants exist around the world--this is one of the better one's.

Excellent ambiance. Staff extremely attentive--very formal, very white glove--with heavy staff to diner ratio. Excellent wine list (best values in the 150 Euro range -- but over the top selection across full range of prices/varieties).

Peking duck is amazing--presentation is spot on with two servings (not the traditional three). The salt chicken was good--not great. The fried rice was exceptional--almost an air like texture. Vegetables

I think there are better values for Chinese (Kok Ping), but you go to Shang Palace for a different experience. In the right mind set, this is a very good experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaParis, Gérant at Shang Palace, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Erich S,

We would like to thank you for your kindly comment about your experience at Shang Palace. It is a real pleasure to know that you enjoyed the dishes from our Executive Chinese Chef Frank Xu. We are happy to read your very detailed comment and would like to thank you for taking time to write it for the TripAdvisor Community. Be reassured that we have taken into account all your remarks and share them with our team.

We will be more than happy to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Christophe Wong
Restaurant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    46
    19
    21
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daglan, France
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“This star is barely shining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a difficult review to write, because this is a difficult restaurant to review. We had dinner at the Shang Palace on July 13, 2013, and came away with really mixed feelings. If Michelin stars are awarded for a combination of atmosphere (décor and so on), service, and food, then Shang Palace scores on only two of the three. It's in a very posh hotel and the surroundings are lovely -- nothing really unusual, but attractive and comfortable. Service is excellent -- our multi-lingual waiter was knowledgeable, and the sommelier in particular was welcoming, charming and helpful. And it's not that the food is bad -- far from it. The problem is that it's actually pretty much "normal" Chinese cuisine, what you would find in countless (decent) Chinese restaurants around the world. Absolutely nothing in the meal really "wowed" us -- which is quite unlike the experience we've had in French restaurants with one, two or three stars. No amuse-bouche, nothing special done for my wife, who is gluten-intolerant (and the restaurant was notified of that in advance). We've had far better Chinese food at Lai Wah Heen in Toronto, to name just one place. So was it worth 386 euros to have Peking Duck, scallops, and fried rice? No, it wasn't. So I rate this place as "average," even though the décor is lovely and the service very good to excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaParis, Restaurant Manager at Shang Palace, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Sir,
First of all, we thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at our 1 Michelin Star restaurant, Shang Palace, on TripAdvisor.
We are pleased that you appreciated the décor of the restaurant as well as its excellent service. This is a great compliment for the team, who indeed is a multilingual one and devoted to the well being of our clients.
Nevertheless, we are deeply sorry that you found the food too be too “normal”. Our aim is indeed to preserve the authenticity of our dishes and this is one of the specificity of our restaurant. Let me apologize as well for not having taken enough into consideration your wife, knowing in advance that she was gluten intolerant. We should have indeed prepared special dishes for her, being a one Michelin Star restaurant in a five star brand new hotel. I have shared your comments with my team so that this does not happen again.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel as I would be interested in talking more with you about your impressions on the cuisine of our Chef Frank Xu.
I look forward to welcoming you back at Shang Palace very soon
Best regards,
Christophe Wong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Some of the best Chinese food outside of Greater China”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We lived in Hong Kong for years, and I travel there and to the Mainland regularly. We love Cantonese food and have ridiculously high standards -- so high we've pretty much given up on eating it anywhere abroad except Australia. But we'd heard good things about the Shang Palace from foodie friends, and decided to give it a try.

We were very, very impressed.

We started with crispy pork, which is a deceptively difficult dish to get right. But this had the rare combination of a crunchy top layer, a tender fat layer, and a juicy hunk of meat at the bottom.

Next came the Peking Duck. Here the pancakes often disappoint, but these were so thin they were nearly transparent.

One of our favorite dishes was the green beans stir-fried with pork. Perhaps the season should get the credit, but the beans were crunchy, sweet and expertly cooked. Probably my favorite vegetable dish of a two-week face-stuffing tour of Europe.

My wife is addicted to cho fun (broad rice noodles), and when they came out red and stuffed -- rather than white noodle with a little bit of either pork or shrimp -- she prepared herself for disappointment. But while I wouldn't call this dish authentic, it was excellent: a lovely combination of textures and tastes.

Is it as good as the Shang Palace in Hong Kong? Probably not, but that's a great restaurant in the home of Cantonese food. But I thought it was as good or better than the one in Shanghai, and that's saying a lot for a Parisian restaurant.

We'll definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaParis, Restaurant Manager at Shang Palace, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Sir,
What a great pleasure and reward for us to read your amazing comments about your experience at our one Michelin star restaurant "Shang Palace".
We are thrilled that you were impressed with the food.
It is a great honor for us to read that you you enjoyed all your dishes knowing that you have very high standards and usually only eat Chinese Food in Australia.
The aim of our Chef Frank Xu is to suggest an authentic Chinese cuisine to our clients and we are very happy that you compare our Shang Palace with the one in Shanghai.
We really look forward to welcoming you back very soon to taste our new recipes and share your impressions with us,
Yours sincerely,
Christophe Wong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great location but definitely not Authentic Chinese food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

I am Chinese and lived in Asia for several years.I have been to Shangri La in Hong Kong, Singapore, China. The food at Shang palace is clearly not at the level of Shangri La, and I am upset that many customers will go there thinking they are tasting Chinese food. Service is perfect though and location is superb.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaParis, Gérant at Shang Palace, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear chinolatino,

Thank you very much for your review about your experience at Shang Palace. We are sorry to know that you did not enjoy your dinner. We have tried to contact you through private message on TripAdvisor.
Be sure that our Executive Chef Frank Xu is very attached to the traditional Chinese Cuisine. We will share your comments with all his team in order to further improve our dishes. Do not hesitate to contact us either by phone at +33153671992 or by email at shangpalace.slpr@shangri-la.com.

We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Best Regards,

Christophe Wong
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A bit disapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Had dinner here for our last hurrah to of Paris on 9 July 2013. In all honestly, all I can say is that the food was very disapointing. Perhaps we are spoilt for choice in Australia with the quality of chinese, especially cantonese style Chinese, but we found the food very lacking expecially considering its michelin star and price.

We ordered the wonton soup and bbq meat assortment. The meat assortment was cold when brought to the table and the wonton soup was OK - but we have had better. At 39 euros, the meat was very disapointing - it was essentially cold cuts roast pork, chicken and duck.

For mains we had scallops with asparagus, gingko nuts and black fungus, and at nearly 50 euros, this was very disapointing. There were very few scallops, and the sauce was a bit bland. We also ordered the chicken hot pot with black bean, which contained huge amounts of large fatty pieces of chicken - at 49 euros. I understand that the thigh is a traditional meat and is used because it has a higher flavour and is more tender than breast, but the meat in this dish was almost inedible - very fatty and grisly - and unpleasent to eat. We also ordered a portion of the chef's fried rice, which was pleasant, but I wouldn't write home about it.

Overall the service was impeccable, the decor was fab, but the food was lacking - we don't mind paying top dollar for good food, but the AUD cost of $338 for this meal, was a big sting. For example, a gin and tonic was 25 euro. I think the cost is highly inflated owing to the star, but honestly, the food isn't deserved of the prices, nor the star.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaParis, Gérant at Shang Palace, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear CBG87,

Thank you very much for your review about your experience at Shang Palace. We are sorry to know that you did not enjoy your dinner. We have tried to contact you through private message on TripAdvisor to further discuss your comments.
We would like to thank you for this detailed review and be reassured that we will share it with all our team in order to improve further more our dishes. Do not hesitate to contact us either by phone at +33153671992 or by email at shangpalace.slpr@shangri-la.com.

We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Best Regards,

Christophe Wong
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shang Palace also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Shang Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shang Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.