We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best way to get around Town.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Transporte Metropolitano de Paris

Transporte Metropolitano de Paris
Paris, France
Improve this listing
Ranked #170 of 636 Attractions in Paris
Type: Transportation, Other
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
356 helpful votes 356 helpful votes
“The best way to get around Town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This has to be the fastest , safest , easiest way to get around town. Seriously , the Australian State and Federal Governments should take note!!!! There are so many metro stations all connected to each other somehow , which enables you to get from one side of paris to the other in under 20 minutes.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    158
    70
    29
    33
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Top Contributor
859 reviews 859 reviews
472 attraction reviews
Reviews in 150 cities Reviews in 150 cities
1,139 helpful votes 1,139 helpful votes
“New York MTA: take note!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

This is a truly amazing transportation system. To get crosstown easily and in only 15 minutes, there simply is no other way. It's cheap for what you get. We never waited more than 3 minutes for a connecting train. The metro goes everywhere. There are something like 300 stations reaching out into the suburbs. Taxis are good for certain situations, as are buses, but everyone rides the metro whenever they can.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
679 reviews 679 reviews
199 attraction reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
1,359 helpful votes 1,359 helpful votes
“THE way to get around the city - Best Metro in the World!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Paris hands down has the best metro system in the world! There has to be more metro station stops here in Paris than any city I've ever been to. We usually come to Paris for a week and get the week Navigo pass.

Actually a few years ago we got the Navigo card with our photos on it and the durable refillable card lasts for 10 years so we are still using the last one we got.

This trip we were fortunate to stay in Paris for one month and we refilled our Navigo pass. The monthly pass was €62.90 and you can start it at the first day of the month. It's tremendous value if you are here for an extended stay.

You can find everything you need to know about the Navigo pass here: http://parisbytrain.com/paris-train-metro-week-pass-navigo-decouverte/

The pass covers bus lines as well but honestly we haven't taken any buses yet as the metro system here is so good. People say that the bus lines are a more scenic way to see Paris but we're walking around an average of 5/6 hours each day so we are seeing plenty of Paris on foot.

It's GREAT if you have kids. Our young kids love riding on the Metro here. If you are a parent and have young kids, it's essential that you get good compact strollers. Back home we have the Phil & Ted's Vibe stroller but we went out before our trip and got two compact strollers at Toys R Us. They are GREAT as they are compact for our 4 year old and 2.5 year old and this model we bought has a strap on it so you can carry it like a backpack or on your shoulders. It's GREAT for the Metro!

Years ago, Paris had several manned stations where they would open the emergency door so you could fit bigger strollers but most of the stations now are unmanned so it's essential to have small compact strollers with kids.

Also, if you have an Iphone or Ipad, download the free RATP app. It's GREAT! It's free and it works wonderful even without a data plan using GPS. I recommend the Iphone version vs. the Ipad as you can always press the GPS locator button and it will always tell you where you are and the nearest station near you. It works great! We loaded it on our Ipad and our iphone.

Also, a great program if you want to buy one is called Paris2Go for Iphone or Ipad. The one feature I like is it always tells you what direction you are walking and it works free with GPS and you don't have to use your data plan. It also has a metro map on it and you can always see the nearest one you are near and how many feet it is from you.

We've gone all over the city in the Metro and it's great! Highly recommend it to get around.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo, Washington
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“BEST way to get around Paris!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

The Metro is very easy to navigate and definitely the fastest way to get around Paris. We found that most attractions are within a block or two of a metro stop, and there is very good signage to help direct you around the underground. Trains are frequent, and certain times of day expect to stand. Pretty clean, pretty safe, just be very aware of your person and property, espcially when the doors open and close - the masses of people just push their way in and out and it would be easy to become a victim of property crime. Full of fun billboards, musicians, and some Metro stations have stores for food, newstands, and gift shops.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
831 reviews 831 reviews
442 attraction reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
449 helpful votes 449 helpful votes
“Best in the world”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012 via mobile

The transport in paris is the easiest to navigate in the world and can take you to all the major locations in the city with ease. I always prefer taking this to other forms of transport in paris. Not great on sites, but if you want to see the sights between the sights... Walk, paris is wonderful for that.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Transporte Metropolitano de Paris also viewed

 

Been to Transporte Metropolitano de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Transporte Metropolitano de Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.