We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good but costly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Paris - Opera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added W Paris - Opera to your Saves list
W Paris - Opera
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Rue Meyerbeer, 75009 Paris, France (Opera / Bourse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #264 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quite good but costly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed at the W while my husband was in Paris on business, so the bill was paid by the company. The room was clean and generally comfortable, though very small (even by Paris standards).

The location is very central to the hustle and bustle of the Opera area, and within walking distance of some excellent restaurants (as well as some pretty terrible ones). It is quite a touristy area so most people around speak English, and of course the entire hotel staff was fluent. It is about a 30-40 minute walk from the Arc du Triomphe and 50 from the Eiffel Tower.

I have stayed at W hotels before and am not a huge fan of their hip and modern vibe (I generally find it weird and noisy) - more a hotel for the clubbing set and not as much for those who enjoy quiet, local flavour or for anyone over about 35.

The hotel breakfast was very good, though I am not accustomed to paying 8 Euro / $12 for coffee!

Great concierge staff - but keep in mind a lot of the restaurant recommendations they have (especially if they are close to the hotel) will be very expensive!

Bottom line: expensive because of the area and unless you need to be that close to things, spend $200 a night less and hop on the Metro for 5 minutes.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe M, General Manager at W Paris - Opera, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Hello prodigalfun,

Thank you for your recent visit with us and taking to time to share your valuable feedback.

I am happy to hear you had a good stay with us and that you enjoyed our convenient location as well as the languages spoken by our Talents.
As you stated correctly, W is something special compared to more traditional 5 star properties.
We try to create a certain ambiance followed by our brand standards while giving it a local touch.

Rest assured that we have noted your comments and that we will work on them in order to improve our product.

I do hope to have you back with us soon.

Thank you,
Christophe Mercier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    148
    63
    20
    11
See reviews for
53
304
40
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We were booked a suite from Feb 19 to 22, 2014. The W hotel was in a very busy opera and shopping area. Their service was a great plus and We love their CONCIERGERIE person was great. He always gave us a very great restaurant suggestions. My son loves all of his expensive suggestions:-)

Pro:
1: The hotel was small too (Compare US size). But it was a very clean hotel.
2: Location was wonderful. Metro 8,9 or 7.... You can go a lot of places. Opera is in front of the Hotel. A tons of shopping department stores were mins away.
3: Service was wonderful.

Cons:
1: The suite was tiny. We added a bed..no place to walk.
2: Very noisy. You can hear people shooting on the street at night and you can hear bus's engin all the time.

We had a great time here. Thank you W hotel's great service!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe M, General Manager at W Paris - Opera, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear justteresa,
We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here in the city of light; I will definitely share your kind words with our team,
Indeed, rooms are more compact than in the US; this is also due to our Parisian Haussmannien Style in which the hotel has been built and the limit of height of the building
Please let us know next time you stay with us and we can assign you a very quiet room on a higher floor. We also have different room categories which we will be happy to show you.
Again, thank you for your nice feedback,
Have an amazing Day,
Christophe Mercier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We went for a belated honeymoon and it was a great trip from when we first walked in - the staff was awesome and very helpful from the start. We were checked-in quickly and got to our room without a problem.

You must meet Cecile Rummler, their "Insider" -- essentially, if you need any tips on the city she has them for you (not what you'd typically ask the concierge, but more along the lines of finding some things to do that are less touristy, etc.).

These guys were great - they even gave us a lock to put on the Pont de Arts, which added to the charm of the honeymoon in Paris.

Overall, great stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room where the shower has a door - otherwise the whole bathroom gets soaked..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe M, General Manager at W Paris - Opera, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear ASach0831,
We could not been more pleased to have you here for this special occasion,
Your review is the best reward for our Talents; I will make sure they receive these great compliments,
Whatever/Whenever at any time!
We really hope to have you back with us soon on another meaningful occasion,
Have a Wonderful Day,
Christophe Mercier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and I left thoroughly impressed. The service is brilliant and the doormen were incredibly helpful and friendly. It's hard to find anything negative, aside from the fact that Whatever/Whenever desk could do with brushing up on bar/restaurant recommendations. We ended up finding some great places ourselves and were surprised they hadn't recommended them to us.

In general though, the service was impeccable and you really can't beat the location. We were within walking distance of fabulous shopping streets and close many of the sights. Walking out of the hotel itself is a visual treat, located opposite the Opera House.

We didn't visit the restaurant but the room service breakfast was fantastic. The warming box for the bread and pastries was a particularly nice touch, and the poached egg dishes were delicious!

The rooms are small, but well laid out, and the shower was a delight! As always with W hotels I've visited, the beds are incredibly comfortable. The room temperature was hard to change and felt just slightly too hot to me.

All in all, you won't regret choosing this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe M, General Manager at W Paris - Opera, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear bcn_foodie1,
I'm pleased to hear that you liked the location of the hotel & you referred to the outstanding service we delivered to you,
We will of course share your feeling with our Welcome, Style & Food & Beverage department; a great merit for our Talents.
All the W Paris Opera Family is waiting for your coming back for more surprise & delight,
Thank you again,
Have a great Day,
Christophe Mercier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

A long overdue review... But simply the most incredible service and experience delivered by a venue I've had in 20 years of travel. A very special moment, brought about by a dedicated team that will live always in our memories. If you visit and take the time to get to know these wonderful people you won't regret it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe M, General Manager at W Paris - Opera, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear iPhone2000,
We are so happy about your comment and we will share all your feedback with our talents. We do hope to have you back in the city of light for another experience with us.
Best regards
Christophe Mercier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I visited to Paris with my girlfriend, hoping to leave with her as my fiance. I wanted the whole experience to be special for her. An important component to that is the hotel selection. As a platinum preferred guest with Starwood, I decided to stay at the W due to the brand's reputation for delivering a high quality and memorable customer experience.

This property unassuming... tucked around the corner from the front of the Garnier Opera House. We actually had a difficult time locating it at first. If I had not known that it was next to the Apple Store, it may have taken us more time to find it! At check in, we were offered a complimentary upgrade to a spectacular room, which was very large by Paris standards, and nicely appointed with the types of finishes that one comes to expect at a W property. The bed was comfortable and the rainforest showerhead was amazing.

The breakfast was delicious... the chocolate croissants were addicting. I can still picture the flaky crust -- something that I haven't been able to find in croissants back home. Also, the concierge was very helpful in making dinner reservations and suggestions, as well as in reserving tickets to different shows for us on our behalf. Overall, I would recommend this hotel, but it is a bit more subdued than other Ws I've been to.

When I proposed to my girlfriend (although it wasn't at the hotel), she said YES, and the great experience at the hotel certainly contributed to our memorable trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe M, General Manager at W Paris - Opera, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear JamGolf3,
Thank you very much for your nice comment. We are delighted that you have chosen the W Paris-Opéra for this so special moment in your life. Now we are part of your story and you will be always welcome to think back and celebrate !
Best regards.
Christophe Mercier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

The hotel is in a beautiful building in a fabulous central location in Paris. It's opposite (no surprise here) the Opera House and is close to a multitude of shops. The room was a decent size, trendy decor with a lovely modern bathroom. On the downside though, the hotel bar was closed and the breakfast although good was only buffet style which was disappointing given it was so expensive. A glass of wine (not at breakfast) was 16 euros. Service in the hotel generally wasn't the best, slow, and not overly helpful, especially because we had to take our own bags to the room. The focus is definitely more on style and trying to be cool so for us, definitely misses out on being a five star hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Paris - Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Paris - Opera

Address: 4 Rue Meyerbeer, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #264 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Paris - Opera 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Priceline so you can book your W Paris - Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Paris - Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.