We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and an attentive staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Paris - Opera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added W Paris - Opera to your Saves list
W Paris - Opera
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Rue Meyerbeer, 75009 Paris, France (Opéra)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #225 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Stafford VA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great Location and an attentive staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for the thrid time in a year. The location near the department stores and the opera metro station is ideal. The metro is a central hub for many lines and this makes it an ideal base for trips thoughout the city. The rooms are not large, which is typical in Paris, but it was well designed for use of the space. The bed was comfortable and the atmosphere was quiet. I got a good nights sleep with no disturbances. The staff is exceptionally helpful and researched and assisted with almost any question. I did not use the restaurant but had a drink at the bar each evening. The drinks were somewhat expensive, but the bar staff was always friendly and attentive and there is a nice atmosphere. There were two evenings out of the 7 that I stayed at the hotel where the bar hosted a band or a special event. It is packed during these evenings with the local 20 & 30 something crowd, but if you can get a seat on the side it is not as bad as standing up in the crowd. I plan to stay here again during my next visit to Paris.

Room Tip: Ask for the Opera view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    130
    58
    19
    7
See reviews for
46
276
34
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Excellent hotel with amazingly high level of service, modern facilities and a fabulous room with tall ceilings.

Enjoyed the bar in the evenings.

Location is perfect for exploring, everything is within a walking distance or a quick hop on a Velib.

This stay has now convinced us to try out other W hotels on our next trip

We will be back

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, Sp
Top Contributor
349 reviews 349 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This trendy, design hotel is next to the Paris Opera and its location allows you move through Paris using the subway just a few steps from the hotel. Service is kind and informal. This is definitely a hotel for those travelling single or as a couple as rooms are not that spacious (do not bring a lot od luggage). Couple with kids should consider other places... During the evenings, the bar has a DJ where you can have a drink to warm up for an exciting night in Paris.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Had 1 night (Saturday 23rd March) stay & loved the hotel. The location is perfect for expolring Paris. I have been to Paris before & knew this was the ideal spot to be based.
The staff on reception were very friendly & helpful.
Our room was not ready as we had arrived around 13.30 & we were upgraded free of charge & the room was available immeadietely. The room was clean & stylish & the bed was very comfortable.
We came back to the hotel around midnight & had a few cocktails in the lounge. Staff were great & very friendly.
Despite the central location & DJ's playing untill the small hours there was no noise audibel in the bedroom.
Had breakfast in the hotel on the Sun moring & again the staff were fantastic.

Loved the hotel & the staff make it extra special

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

The service is the best of any W Hotel I have visited. The bartenders had an amazing fire show which was fantastic. I cannot wait to return and see it again. When we return to Paris we will definitely stay here again. Everyone is so accommodating and pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Sometimes, W's are too trendy for their own good. W Opera kind of falls in that category. The location is amazing and if you splurge for the Opera view, you can brag to your friends that you slept with a view of this famous establishment. Other than that... well, the check-in is impersonal and robotic (they do offer you a coffee), not very accommodating. Rooms are tiny, but well appointed with lots of gadgets and artwork. The multi-charge iphone/ipad/blackberry was appreciated, but the open bathroom plan not. Sorry I dont like to shower in full view of my bed and to sleep in a steamy room. Bottom line is that for the price you are paying for the hype, not the comfort or luxury. Cool minibar items (but super pricey). Bar is nice downstairs but again stupid expensive.

Room Tip: If money is no object, get an Opera view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

this is a new hotel, in a great location. based on W experiences in other cities, decided to try this one out.

check-in was a drama. only one person available ("we are in a new shift so only one staff member is doing registrations/check-ins"???). given that the people before me had issues, I spent first 20 minutes listening to a hefty discussion, while 4 other "staff members" (concierge, porters,..) were standing there and looking at me. Not what you expect from this type of hotel.
once I could check-in the lady was very professional, apologized, offered a free drink and a room upgrade.
good that I got an upgrade because the room was small... room was clean, good amenities. I'm not a fan of "open bathroom - bedroom" lay outs; so this was not my cup of tea.
Room was quiet during the night.

we had dinner at Arola. Nice food, excellent wines. Waiter suggested to decant our wine and than had to come and inform me he couldn't immediately find his decanter :-). Eventually it showed up as from the second bottle. Stayed till the last at the restaurant, so they asked us politely to leave; but offered a nice bottle of wine to be drunk in the hotel bar. Neat.

the breakfast is not on par with an upscale hotel (except for the price). limited options.

Staff is overall friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Paris - Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Paris - Opera

Address: 4 Rue Meyerbeer, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opéra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Paris - Opera 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your W Paris - Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Paris - Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.