We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“W cool opposite the Opera Garnier” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Paris - Opera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added W Paris - Opera to your Saves list
W Paris - Opera
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Rue Meyerbeer, 75009 Paris, France (Opera / Bourse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #262 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“W cool opposite the Opera Garnier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed in a wonderful room for 3 nights. Typically quite small rooms but not too bad. I believe the cosy rooms would be too small. The hotel has only been open a few months but has married some of the original features with the cool, funky feel of the W really well. We didn't eat at Arola, (it looked amazing) the restaurant, but had room service. Loved everything we tried. We were there from a Monday-Wednesday so the bar was quite quiet, but still had a good atmosphere. The staff were all great, helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay again. It's right opposite the Opera, a 2 minute walk from Galeries Lafayette and Printemps and close to Rue St.Honore.

Room Tip: Ask for an Opera view and a room on a higher floor away from the restaurant and bar area if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olivier s, Directeur général at W Paris - Opera, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Hi Maxine,

Thank you very much for your nice comments. Happy to note that you enjoyed the ambiance, as well as the look and feel of your latest experience at the W Paris Opera.
In order to warm the ambiance earlier in the week, we are thrilled to share the future opening of an external terrace, a pure continuity of the W Bar... We also have launched a mid-day "'Lunch and DJ Remix" when you only want to snack on the beats...

Stay tuned on our FACEBOOK community and get the latest Insider hints from the W PARIS OPERA!

Have a wonderful day.

Olivier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    148
    64
    20
    11
See reviews for
53
305
40
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

Yes, the location is probably enough to convince most people, but the proof of the pudding comes with the service, specially when there are challenges. Mr. De Jonge, one of the managers, could not have been more helpful to us, and the whole staff was always there when needed, without being obsequious. Excellent three day stay that made our weekend memorable. Bravi.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olivier s, Directeur général at W Paris - Opera, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear Carlos,

Thank you for having decided to share your experience with the World! You made our day: You just pointed out what makes and should make always the difference at the W. Whatever Whenever.
We want our Talents be fully involved in a genuine service delivery, truly! Apparently you received what you were expecting.
Please do not hesitate to revert to us in the near future so we can organize another amazing moment: you now have new friends in Paris.

Have a wonderful day
Olivier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I just stayed at the W Opera for two nights with my wife — the entire experience fell flat. I can't believe we blew 60K points for two nights on a hotel that should be a Sheraton. I used to work for Starwood and I know their properties very well, and all I can say is what happened? The decor looks dated despite being new, the entrance couldn't be less grand; it's two cramped little kiosks — don't believe the pictures there is reason they only show detail shots. Despite being Gold SPG members, our "upgraded" room was not wonderful nor spectacular. And we had to wait over 30 minutes after 3PM for them to finish cleaning it (after getting off an 11hr flight from LAX). The linens were cheap and felt synthetic, the bathroom soap tray was bent in the shower and was falling apart. The room was so small we couldn't even move around it with the suitcases lying about. The airconditioning didn't work, so we sweated it out at 24.5 degrees celsius all night.

The service was OK, but not befitting of a $1000/night hotel. Not even close. I have had better experiences pay $200/night for Sheratons in NYC.

We didn't eat there and frankly we didn't say anything to management because more than anything it's not their fault that the property is not worth the money. What are they going to do, renovate the hotel for us?

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

Simply put, this is a great hotel. Bed was great, shower was amazing. The staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. One minor suggestion - wireless should be free (it's 2012)

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olivier s, Directeur général at W Paris - Opera, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear Jerzguy2,

Thank you for having chosen the W Paris Opera for your recent stay in Paris. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience and I will immediately share with the team who certainly will appreciate your nice words.
We also have noted your comments related to the Internet and I would like to recall that we are attentive to such concerns. As a matter of fact the Internet access is free in the public areas as long as you have a room at the hotel.

Should you have any travel plan in the near future in Paris, please do not hesitate to inform us in advance so that we can surprise you.

Have a wonderful day
Olivier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

First of all I love Paris, I have been in love with Paris since I lived there for a year almost 20 years ago, its my favorite city in the world, and my favorite neighborhood in Paris is the Opera, so when my husband and I planned our recent trip to Paris and learned that a W hotel was going to be opened next to the Opera we had no choice, we booked our week long stay.
Arrived around 6 pm and was amazed by the location as the taxi approached the hotel, right across the street from the Opera Garnier, next to the Apple Store (they occupy the same building), one block away from Galeries Lafayette, two Metro Stops a block away (Opera and Chausee D´Antin), RER (direct from Auber to Charles de Gaulle Etoile) also a couple of blocks away. Excellent in every way.
We had the cozy room, the most basic one, and was enough for us, very modern taste, nice bathroom, nice closet space and good size TV for the room.
We had to call for toiletries once we were out of soap and body lotion but they delivered them very fast.
One day we left the hotel at 8 am and returned by 12 pm and our room wasnt clean. We stayed in the room for a while when housekeeping knocked and wanted to do our room, we kindly asked to return in a half an hour and the maid didnt want to wait because she had finished her shift, we didnt liked this but left the room anyway so she could clean it.
Another problem we encountered was that on the next to last day of our stay we could only watch the TV in black and white, no colors. We complaint at check out but only a sorry was available.
Highly recommend the property, we didnt use any of the hotel facilities but we´ll definetely be back, I´m still in love with Paris and this hotel was perfect!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veracruz, Mexico
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Great stay at the NEW W Paris. The hotel's location is Excellent, I would like to say from walking distance from everywhere in Paris, I mean, at the end, this is a city that you can walk and walk and never get tired of walking... probably if you walked too far, take the metro or the bus back... since the hotel is next to the Opera, it is very easy to get to. I also found the breakfast very expensive, it is good but now 45 euros as they charged. Watch out for that. Again, its Paris and there are a lot of cafes and boulangeries near where you can get a coffee and pain au chocolat for less than 10 euros. But after all, I would highly recommend staying here if your budget or your points balance allows it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Hotel recently opened, however this is not an excuse for the bad service received in the room (i.e. toiletries not of a high standard, poor linen, no turn down service, etc...).

Breakfast is a nice experience, but again very expensive (45 €uros).

On a positive note, reception and concierge staff is very helpful and professional.

Overall experience was disapointing for a 5 stars hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olivier s, Directeur général at W Paris - Opera, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear G974,

Thank you for having shared your experience. I will be please to investigate a bit further re the problems you mentionned about the Style in the room. We will revert to you immediately in order to get additional information.

I will also share your comments about the overall positive impression and particularly with our Concierge and the Welcome team.

Should you have any wish for your next stay in Paris, please do not hesitate a second to ask. We will make sure you get an unexpected experience.
Thanks

Olivier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to W Paris - Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Paris - Opera

Address: 4 Rue Meyerbeer, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #262 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Paris - Opera 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Priceline so you can book your W Paris - Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Paris - Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.