We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly interesting!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Musee des Arts decoratifs

Musee des Arts decoratifs
107 rue de Rivoli, 75001 Paris, France
0144555750
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #114 of 637 Attractions in Paris
Type: Art Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Museum with incredible and well laid-out collection of furniture and clothing designs form the Middle Ages all the way through the 21st century. Make sure you leave enough time to see all the floors.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly interesting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

Go see the Jean Paul Goude exhibition, GREAT pictures!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    78
    19
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“3 out of 4 times i have been here the fashion gallery has been closed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

If you are planing to see the fashion galleries ring or check the web site to check that it is open. I have been here 4 times in 4 different months and it has only been open once. When it has been open the exhibitions have been fantastic once I have weathered the rudeness of the ticket sellers who are honestly are the only rude people I have ever experienced in Paris.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful permanent collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Excellent temporary exhibitions in addition to their wonderful permanent jewelry collection make this a great museum! They also have a wonderful bookshop.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Shame”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

I was really looking forward to seeing their famous fashion and textiles print archives. Queued for over an hour in freezing January weather to get inside the museum, only to discover that their entire fashion section was closed to set up a new exhibition. I of course understand that this is to be expected with museums, however there was no sign or way of knowing that a massive part of their displays would be closed to the public. In their advertising it was shown as being nothing other than available. So I was very disappointed. Although I did look around part of the rest of the museum it seemed rather small and not what I was expecting at all. Shame, as I was really looking forward to it and the building itself is lovely.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Art in everyday objects.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Near the Louve but overlooked. If you want to see the art of furnishings and household goods as well as clothing and toys, this is a good place to spend a few hours.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee des Arts decoratifs also viewed

 

Been to Musee des Arts decoratifs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Musee des Arts decoratifs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.