We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I had a problem and they fixed it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Claret Hotel

Save Saved
You added Claret Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Claret Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 boulevard de Bercy | 12th Arr., 75012 Paris, France (Bercy)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,026 of 1,795 hotels in Paris
Zurich
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I had a problem and they fixed it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

when I checked in the room was stuffy so I hoped the window and sat on the bed to log in and check emails. I noticed the smell of urine and thought that it was just a smell from the street below. I got worse so I closed the window, but it continued to get worse. I realized that it was coming from the bed/bedspread. I immediately went back down to the front desk and explained the problem. One guy, a manager I assume, stated that I had already used the room and was hesitant to move me. The person who checked me in however went to bat for me and transferred me just down the hall to an fresh and clean room with no odors whatsoever. I would stay there again because they solved my problem. I hope they are more careful when cleaning a room in the future however.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    104
    75
    36
    8
See reviews for
15
74
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The hotel was very good located. The staff was really professional. The room was clean and the breakfast essential, but good quality. We profit of a last minute offer and they allowed us the room we preferred.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

An older hotel with basic offerings, I would have expected it to be cheaper. Bathroom from the 80's, elevator from the 70's. Lots of restaurants around bet they are all foreign cuisine (Chinese, Thai etc), I was hard pressed to find French. There was a good Italian just round the corner though. There aren’t any supermarkets around so shop before you go back to the hotel. Up towards Dugommier Metro there are good services, too far to walk though.. Hotel is close to the Metro but the bus services are easier to use and go to more places. Ask the staff anything, they’re really good.

Room Tip: Make sure you stay on the courtyard side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Where to begin.....

Four of us stayed here in December for the Swedish House Mafia gig.

First the good bits -
Location was pretty good. Quite a bit away from the airport but the station is next door to the hotel.
Breakfast was ok. All continental but if you can cope with toast and coissants every morning then it's fine.

The room was very small with a big stain on the carpet as soon as you walked in.
The bath was so small my knees were at my chest and I had to sit down in it as the shower (which was attached to the wall) only came to my waist?? (where's the logic there?).
There was no mirror in the bedroom which meant I had to do hair/makeup in the bathroom where my boyfriend was doubled over in two trying to have a shower. (funny at the time).
Also we were the room next to the stairs which was really noisy.We were up every morning at 6am with the noise.

We had a great time in Paris and its a lovely place to walk/go for lunch/cocktails but I wouldn't stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

First, this hotel doesn't have room service! The restaurant isn't even open on the weekend except for breakfast. When we asked the front desk for ice they were pleasant but thought our request very unusual. We were offered a glass with 3 ice cubes.

The room is ridiculously small and very noisy if you open the window to get some air. It's impossible to sleep with the open window and there is no ventilation otherwise so the room is very warm even on a cold night. The rooms on the back side of the hotel are quiet but even smaller.

On the positive side, the breakfast is very good, the beds are comfortable, and the WiFi connection is excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side but be prepared to pay an additional charge of €30.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Superb location right next to the subway station Bercy makes this hotel very convenient . Clean rooms, modern bathroom (but for some reason there was no shower curtain in room 306).
Excellent breakfast ( but you have to boil your own egg) cheese, ham, croissants ( 3 types) cereals, fresh fruit, juices. TV in the room, free wifi in the rooms, safe box, nice toiletries. Some noise from the street that is acceptable ( the hotel is near the train tracks ) . Very friendly reception staff , gives directions and suggestions. Plenty of restaurants around the hotel (pizza, italian, fast food, turkish and oriental,..). I definitely would go back for my next trip to Paris.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We booked the hotel via Groupon so it was very good value for money. Probably won't feel the same if I had paid the going rate.

The rooms are small but cozy, me and my boyfriend didn't find a problem with it at all. Loved the modern and super clean toilet. Absolutely no problem with room service, and the staff were great and helpful. No problem with wifi as well.

Breakfast was satisfying, especially the mini croissants and other pastries. Unlike what another review stated, there actually were egg cups for eggs during the days I visited, if that's important.

The Metro station is so near and convenient! And Bercy Village is nearby too, which is worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Claret Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claret Hotel

Address: 44 boulevard de Bercy | 12th Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy , Reuilly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,026 of 1,795 hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Claret Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small 4-story Hotel housed in an Inn dating from 1850, facing Omnisport Park, near the Ministry of Finance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Claret Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claret Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claret Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.