We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better options for these money ” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Merryl

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Merryl to your Saves list
Hotel Merryl
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Rue de Pajol | 18th Arr., 75018 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,641 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
1 review
“Better options for these money ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015 via mobile

Awful location. It was very dangerous at nightsas its more like a thug stronghold . no internet connection in ANY place of the hotel. You need to pay something like 10euros /day for internet. Rooms are not like the ones at photos. Awful stuff. No lights at night as everything was broken. Sink was stuck.There are much better options for the same price

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    42
    39
    55
    76
See reviews for
29
103
15
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brantford, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

absolutely disgusting hotel, nothing like the pictures in the web site, No elevators, super small rooms, the bathrom was small and disgusting, the reception woman was rude, not help at all,
The location is in front a metro station La Chapelle, THAT IS NOT CENTRAL, Only attraction closed in the Moulin Roge and is 1 mile from hotel and also very expensive to go to the Moulin Rouge!!,any attraction is really far from this hotel!!AND REMEMBER METRO ONLY works until midnight!!
IMPORTANT THIS Area was really dangerous at night in front of the hotel is full of indians drunks people seating and looking for trouble or try to rob you, is a LITTLE INDIA Town here! we were really scare and also WAS NOT CHEAP TO STAY HERE!! THIS HOTEL IS A SCAM A REALLY RIP -OFF-DO NOT STAY HERE!!

Room Tip: do not stay here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

It was a great value to stay in this hotel, would do in the future!
The room was very small, but clean, and perfect to spend the night there. The bathroom was tiny as well. The receptionist man was very helpful, explaining us which lines to use on the Metro to get to the Eiffel Tower. The Metro is very close, La Chapelle- line 2 and then change for line 6 which takes you to the Eiffel tour cost around £6.00 return.
We had a great time in Paris!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

After arriving here at Paris, went to the hotel, but have to wait 'till after 3 pm to get the room ready, it's n good location, close to bus station, train station, in a walking distance of many things, a 1 mile from Mouling Rouge, either by train or walking, commercial zone, but quiet street at night, you will rest, extremely clean, really clean, I was surprised seen how clean is the hotel, but inside it's to small everything, this is the first time I'm seen in my live a so small elevator in the world only for 2 people, so tiny that fits the 2 people so close unles you are wife and relatives, other ways, take the stairs, witch is also to narrow, be carefull while using it,
Bathroom..? It's so small, shower it's the same or smaller then the elevator, you can't move inside the shower,
If you plan to used the restroom, be prepare to do everything but to feel uncomfortable doing it, small, extra small...
Good things..? Location, You can reach transportation at 5 minutes walking to anywhere, 40 minutes away from CDG airport, but the train stop so close to the hotel. The Eiffel Tower it's located a walking distance of about 25 minutes or a bit more, same the Arc the Triumph, and some other touristic places, but locals always recommend to take bus or train, so you can move faster, witch is not true,
Breakfast served, but not included, have to pay a part, 6$ per person for two pieces of bread and a cup of coffee, so on this case I suggest you can avoid this step and go out side and eat in a near cafeteria just around the corner, for the same price eat really better and more
Next to the cafeteria it's a place called Name Ben, a restaurant really good and cheap, always fill of people and served by people rally nice, we had a lot of fun there and eat every day after dark.. Great food and taste... Should try it, even though it's not how it looks on the pictures.... No decoration at all,
Attention in hotel... There is only one guy who's really not helpful works in the morning, the rest of the people are really great and helpful
Overall, a good place to stay because of the location, and to rest, to small but for the price don't expect more then what you can have, even though I seen small room and services. It was great place to stay for the price... It was good to rest nice...
Wanna try it... I recommend this hotel, 0 stars, but good location... Have fun

Room Tip: Try to get a room on top of the building.... But tell the receptionist to tell the clean stuff not t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

Horrible surrounding area. We got it for a really cheap deal in expedia. The room we got was near the very small restaurant. It was not a nice place to wake up and go for breakfast. The woman in charge of serving us in the restaurant was grumpy and loud banging of plates as she washes right then and there was a little bit annoying in the morning. The wi-fi would work on certain times, usually after 11pm, when everyone was asleep. The reception staff was friendly though.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagali, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

You get what you pay for, so did not have super high expectations, we wanted to stay cheap.
But what I not accept is grumpy staff and bad service.
The lady in the kitchen was rude and grumpy every morning, I could not even bring a cup of coffee up to my room. The cleaning staff started to knock on the door allready at 9am, and came knocking on the door every 30 min. in the morning. Also grumpy and really not service minded. That is not very relaxing when you are on holiday!!
The hotel promised wifi on the hotel, but that was only in the reception.
The rooms were clean, the bathroom okay, and close to the metro.
I recommend this hotel if you need to stay for a night or two, on low budget.
I do not recommend it for a week of holiday.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

It was my first time to Paris and i've stayed at this hotel, quite small and noisy because it near the roadway. the room was nice, the bathroom was quite small i cannot move freely.
But location was nice , it's near the public transport ( Metro), it near to train station ( La gare du Nord). there are no much choice of food near by, only middle east cuisine.
From the metro i can go anywhere within Paris Territory. it was great time, i purchase ticket for metro for 3 days entry only 23 Euro/person.
the host of the hotel is friendly and ready to explain any question concerning Paris tourist attraction

Room Tip: Ask for quitter room or second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Merryl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merryl

Address: 7 Rue de Pajol | 18th Arr., 75018 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,641 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Merryl 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Merryl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merryl Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Merryl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.