We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay in a great location and very nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Excelsior Republique

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Excelsior Republique to your Saves list
Hotel Excelsior Republique
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Rue De Lancry, 75010 Paris, France (Entrepôt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,487 of 1,792 Hotels in Paris
Puerto Rico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay in a great location and very nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

This hotel is small, the rooms are tiny, but everything worked, and the cleanliness was entirely adequate. The tiny lift works very well. We had a room on the third floor overlooking rue Lancry, and it was delightfully quiet. The location is excellent, not in a tourist area, and there are numerous good restaurants nearby. Just to the right of the hotel as you leave is a tiny cafe run by a marvelous and extremely friendly man. Simple delicious food and generous servings. We felt like family there, and the regular clients were extremely friendly. It is the real Paris in miniature. The staff of the hotel were all very friendly, and the owner and his wife were very helpful. The walls are thin, but the other guests were considerate and we all enjoyed our encounters and conversations. We stayed at the hotel for two weeks, so we became very familiar with the place and the staff, and we were very comfortable the whole time. Anyone who complains about this hotel does not belong in an economical two star establishment. We would cheerfully return for another stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    31
    50
    26
    22
See reviews for
27
62
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

After a mix up with our original hotel booking we were recommended this hotel from the Paris tourist info at the last minute, definately not by choice!!!
As soon as you enter the room you will want to leave this hotel like we did. unfortunately had to stay the one night as we were being charged for it, although personally would have been glad to pay for another hotel that night it was that baddd, but fellow travel companions convinced me to endure one night as we had made alternate reservations the next day for a hotel around the corner. (thank god!!)
the room was small, dirty, dingy, smelly, mouldy and just visually disgusting.
You can definately find much nicer hotels nearby at similar rates or I would pay more to avoid staying here at all costs.
It is very close to the metro that is the only advantage to this hotel.
Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

Unfortunately stayed 1 night at this hotel. We left first thing in the morning to another hotel for the rest of our time in Paris. Upon arrival at the hotel we were told that our room was being cleaned and would be ready in an hour. The room was unbelievable considering it was just 'cleaned'! It was the smallest room I have ever seen, to think they expect three adults to sleep in there was quite disturbing. There was mould in several areas of the bathroom, and there was an unpleasant smell lingering around the room! there was no ventilation, so to avoid suffocation you have to open the 'balcony' window/door. Also, we could hear everything from neighboring rooms.
This place was not a cheap hotel, so we did not expect what we got.
The only good thing I can say is the man at reception was very friendly. Unfortunately that is not enough to make me stay there again or recommend it to anyone else!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

Stayed here for three nights.The rooms are so tiny and smelly that it became difficult to sleep without leaving the windows open. Often the washbasin or bath drain would give out an unbearable stench. Requests for clean bath linen was never entertained and on the last day, they didn't even change the used towels. WiFi works only in the reception area and I was told that it works everywhere. I stayed on the first floor and the signals didn't even reach there. The staff at the reception were okay, the breakfast so so.
Avoid this hotel at any cost, there are better ones available close by for just five Euros more.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2008

Good basic hotel. Safe area. Very close to the metro station. Clean rooms, small but comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2008

This hotel is nice, but dont expect a spotlessly clean room. The top floors of the hotel are a bit tired and in need of a bit of decorating. I think the 1st 2 floors had been decorated as they seemed to be a lot brighter than the top floors.
The staff are friendly and helped us when we asked for directions to areas.
location is great - easy walking distance to x2 metro stations. Republique metro is approx 5 mins walk away. Just one thing to watch out for (same comment as another guest)- the plumbing (or wiring?) kept us awake at night with odd buzzing and tapping noises which started in the early hours. Walking around Paris after 3 or 4 hours sleep is not the best way to enjoy it!!. I can only assume how much noise you get depends where your room is - ours was at the front on the 4th floor. The walls are very thin and you hear everything from the other rooms.
We did nothave breakfast at the hotel as we like to try different cafes, so I can not comment on the breakfast. Over all I would say this hotel is ideal if you are looking for a base camp. I would book this hotel again, if I was staying in Paris for 3 or less days. ( I need my sleep).

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The thin walls and doors slamming early in the morning
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2006

Before selecting this hotel I emailed to verify that they had an elevator. We were 3 senior women traveling with heavy suitcases. I received a response that they did have an elevator. What they didn't tell me was that the elevator only went to the 5th floor. When we arrived they put us in a room on the 6th floor. We had to climb a spiral staircase with 20 narrow steps to get to our room. We asked for help with our luggage but was told they were not allowed to help. They did offer to let us leave our luggage in the (tiny) reception area but everything we needed was in the suitcase. The next morning I asked the desk clerk if he would help me contact the lost and found at the airport to see if our lost luggage had been found. We tried to call but could not understand French. The clerk promptly told me he was not allowed to help. We had to go to another hotel to get the help we needed.
The hotel was a typical 2 star French hotel with dark and small hallways and small rooms with carpets that should have been replaced 5 years ago. However, it was what we expected so no surprises there. Breakfast consisted of 3 pieces of bread, orange juice and coffee.
I have been to Europe many times and can honestly say, I have NEVER been treated with such disregard and lack of respect
from the front desk staff.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Spend a little more money and go to a better hotel.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Excelsior Republique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Republique

Address: 4 Rue De Lancry, 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Entrepôt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,487 of 1,792 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Excelsior Republique 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Republique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Republique Hotel
Excelsior Republique Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Excelsior Republique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.