We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residence Henri 4

Save Saved
You added Hotel Residence Henri 4 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Residence Henri 4
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50, rue des Bernardins, 75005 Paris, France (Panthéon)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Sydney, Aust
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in a triple share room.
We had the Henri 4 room on the 4th floor.
The location of this hotel was excellent, situated in a dead end street in the St Germain area, very close to Notre Dame and other tourist sights.
The room was cramped for 3 people, with 2 beds in the bedroom and a fold out sofa bed in the lounge room but was ok. I like the fact that 3 chairs were provided, a rarity believe me for triple share.
The bathroom had the annoying combination of bath and shower and unfortunately the shower curtain did not cover everything which means it is very easy to flood the place unless you hold the shower head whilst showering.
Breakfast is not included but is a continental affair costing 8 euros. We did not take up the offer since there is a perfectly adequate Carrefour supermarket on Rue Monge where you can buy and cook up simple meals or heat up ready made meals on the microwave in our room.
Also in the room is a little kitchenette, equipped with all the usual utensils and a fridge.
The fridge is almost filled with drinks though which was a little annoying since it does leave very little room for our own purchases from the supermarket, meaning we had to shop every day.
We had booked a transfer ourselves so did not take up the hotel's offer to book us a taxi at a fixed price.
The hotel is closed to the Metro, shops and supermarkets.
The lift is small though so ask for a lower floor room if you have a lot of baggage or are elderly. There are some steps on exiting the lift which may also be an issue.
One annoying thing for us was the wifi which did not work the whole time we were there.
In summary if you like hotels decorated in a charming louis xiv sort of style then I'd recommend it. There are only 13 rooms so it is very quiet.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    523
    240
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
191
406
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my fourth visit to Paris and my first (and last) visit to Henri IV. I booked this overpriced over rated hotel based on TA comments/reviews and believe me, they let me down. What hurt the most was this was a splurge for our 40th anniversary and this was, without a doubt, the second worst hotel we stayed at during our 1 month tour in Europe.We actually had two rooms during our stay due to overbooking at the first night. We started in rm 52, a superior room with enough space to be comfortable (and a price to match), and then were moved to room 62 (a standard room)for the next 4 nights. This room was a cramped garrett at the top of the building. Our balcony (a TA feature) was 3x3 and could accommodate 1 person on a rusty metal chair provided. The bed was small,(my feet hung over the edge and I am 5'9" and had no tables beside it due to the cramped room size so any nighttime stuff would sit on the floor. The air conditioner was defective and dripped water all night so the floor was soaked by morning (was repaired without apology), the toilet leaked and a towel was used to soak up the excess water, the staff gave no information regarding possible sights, and after arranging a taxi on departure, left me the impression it was paid for as they provided a voucher, turned out the voucher was a rate guarantee and the driver was none to pleased to have to hassle this out with me (fortunately I had lots of cash to pay him). Other things that happened included the hair dryer literal ly falling apart (repaired), a room so small with two suitcases brought up the only place to put them was in front of the closet which meant you could not open the closet without moving the suitcases! Now keep in mind I was paying $450.00US Per Night for this. We left, happy to say good riddance, and will in future return to stay at another hotel. My advice, save your money and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelResidenceHenri4, Responsable réception at Hotel Residence Henri 4, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear John,

It is with great regret that we read your feedback on the hotel. We are sorry that we did not meet up your expectations. However, we would like to assert our point of view: The first night was spent in a different room not because of a overbooking. You have amended your stay and the superior room was the last one available. When you made your booking, you have mentioned an upper floor room & a balcony request. The room allotted had 2 balconies and was on the upper floor. Should you have asked to change the room, we would have suggested other rooms.
We are sorry again for the 2 issues occurred during your stay. We can not unfortunately predict a breakdown or a leakage. We do more than our best to solve issues as soon as possible. This was the case as you have mentioned.
As far as the staff is concerned, we are more than surprised about your opinion. Hundred of comments praise our commitment and devotion. There is brochure display board and our staff is at the disposal for any information.
The hotel arranged a private pick up as requested. The voucher given recapitulates all the informations and clearly states the amount to be paid to the driver. Your hotel bill does the same. Transport was never mentioned to be paid for neither on confirmation, on the bill or by the staff.
Last but not least, I can not see the amount you claim paid at the hotel. Daily average price was 240€ including the night spent in the superior room.

Best regards

Hicham Khazrane

Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is so cute! If you're looking for a bit of old Parisian charm in a great location then look no further. Despite being a small 19th century building the room was a good size with plenty of space for luggage. The marble bathroom was also roomy and spotlessly clean. The decor reflects the time period of the building which I love and was the main reason I chose this hotel.

The location at the end of a cul de sac off the main road means that the rooms are quiet which was a welcome relief from the soccer World Cup madness! At the same time it was an easy walk to Notre Dame and the RER station which goes to the Eiffel Tower.

The staff were very helpful, making sure we had transport organised when they knew there was a train and taxi strike coming up. Bonus, there's even free in room wifi!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a great little place in the heart of the Left Bank. It is set just a bit out of the way which gives it a bit of privacy. Very charming decor, great rooms well maintained and excellent service. The hotel affords easy access to the Seine and to the rest of the city. A great central location with loads of charm. A small elevator provides access to the upper floors. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed 8 nights at this super charming hotel. We were very well treated at the frontdesk day or night. Our bedroom was large enough - 17 meters - and the bed wonderful.The room was well appointed and beautifully decorated in French style, something I was looking for when visiting Paris. The location is very good, between St. Germain, Pantheon and Quartier Latin. The ingredients of breakfast are bought fresh daily and that's why the front desk ask the night before if you want to have breakfast at the hotel next morning. And you can have it in you room, if you prefer. The bathroom is big and spotless.

An extra feature that we enjoyed very much was the absolute silence at night( the hotel is in the dead end of rue de Bernardins. It was almost unbelievable we were in Paris. Finally, we would recommend and certainly go back to Hotel Residence Henry 4. We had a great stay there.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a week inlay 2014. The hotel is perfectly located in a short dead end street opposite a small park in the Latin Quarter, which means it is pretty quiet, and is within easy walking distance to Notre Dame, The Pantheon, Jardin des Plantes, St Germain de Pres and the Marais. Moments from Metro stations, great bakery/patisserie, supermarket, laundromat, restaurants and markets at Place Maubert and Place Monge.

Rooms feature bedroom, separate sitting/ dining room, kitchenette and good bathroom. Service from helpful, friendly staff to top it all off. Breakfast is optional but with an Eric Kayser bakery, market and supermarket just around the corner we did not breakfast in the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

If you want a charming little aparthotel, this is the right choice. Situated very near to the Notre Dame Cathedral, the River Seine, the St.Michel Boulevard and the St.Germain Boulevard, it is confortable and clean. With this Parisian atmosphere, it offers in each room a different decoration, besides providing you with a bit of French History, as every room is nominated after a famous personage. The street is served by restaurants, supermarkets, taxis, buses and the metro station is not far. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Residence Henri 4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Henri 4

Address: 50, rue des Bernardins, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Panthéon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Paris
#30 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#382 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence Henri 4 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Residence Henri 4 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Henri 4 Paris
Residence Henri 4 Hotel
Residence Henri Iv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Residence Henri 4, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.