We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a great location- and for family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residence Henri 4

Save Saved
You added Hotel Residence Henri 4 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Residence Henri 4
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50, rue des Bernardins, 75005 Paris, France (Panthéon)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 1,796 hotels in Paris
Westport, Connecticut, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in a great location- and for family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We are a family of 4 , and stayed for a week . The hotel is an easy walk to everything -esp Notre Dames and Rue Mouffetard- and is centrally located. The hotel is very close to the metro to begin your day!!The staff is very friendly and helpful ( our luggage was held for us when we arrived- so we could go out and sight see).The hotel is quiet and the rooms were comfortable and clean with a small kitchenette. We enjoyed the 8 euro breakfast to start our day. There are also bakeries, cheese, and wine shops around the corner, and away from touristy shops.
We booked the hotel directly via the website.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    529
    243
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
198
412
25
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at this hotel after having booked solely on the basis of previous tripadvisor reviews. The room was nicely decorated, comfortable and quiet. The bed was also very comfortable. The staff were all pleasant and helpful.

We enjoyed the 8 euro breakfast although the breakfast room is not a place you would linger in. We were told they use pastries from Eric Kayser around the corner.

The location was also very handy for site seeing. One tip - if you arrive at the RER station at Saint Michel/ Notre Dame with luggage look for sortie 6 which has an elevator that takes you up to street level (Rue Xavier Privas) avoiding lots of difficult escalators. You can leave this way also but you need to buy the ticket first.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed for a Saturday night with our two small children. The small suite (room 52) was perfect with space for us all, a little cooking area and lovely bathroom. There's a small park with swings etc just at the foot of the hotel, and it's an easy walk into Notre Dame and the sights. We ate at the American Diner that evening, which although not a typical 'french experience', it meant that the children were well fed after a big day out. We ate lunch on Sunday round the corner at Cafe St Victor, and the food there was great. Worth adding that the hotel staff were excellent, ready to help but not overbearing. Would recommend this hotel immensely.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed here July 2013, was an excellent spot to stay and explore Paris in. We had the family room on the second floor, lovely and quirky but comfy as well. Staff were very helpful at all times, and the location is brilliant for exploring the sites. The Seine is a few minutes walk away and brings you out straight opposite Notre Dame. We will definitely return and stay here again when we visit Paris next. Highlight was just sitting on the balcony in the evening opposite the park, drinking a glass of wine and just soaking up the atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Cannot fault this little hotel in the latin quarter of Paris. Warm service and well appointed rooms and guest areas mean the hotel is as far removed from American chain hotels as you could possibly want. Also very comfy beds.

Located within walking distance of dozens of restaurants and also very close to the Notre Dame. A short walk to the Metropolitan and RER services.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Location is great. Close to Odeon and the Pantheon, as well as Rue Mouffetard's charming cafes and restaurants, winding stone streets which are just behind the hotel. A 15 min walk to the ritzy shopping at Rue Four and Grenelle. The large boulevard St. Germain is just a block over. Location is set back pleasantly away from all the "left bank" tourist nonsense. Hotel itself was clean and bathrooms are very comfortable - we had a large tub and the bathroom appeared newly renovated. The furnishings are of a "baroque" nature. Not my favorite but doesn't affect the stay. Relative to French hotels, the room was a comfortable size. My boyfriend and I each had a side of the room with a table and nightstand and plenty of room to fit our suitcases. I will absolutely stay there again if planning to be based on the left bank.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in a standard room on the top floor of this 19th century Parisian building, with our own little balcony facing the park. Our room was perfect for our stay and it was lovely to be welcomed with a small bottle of champagne. My husband and I really enjoyed the quirky decor throughout the hotel. The staff at the front desk and in breakfast room were all very friendly, helpful and welcoming. It was also nice to be able to enjoy breakfast in our room if we didn't feel like rushing in the morning. The room was very clean and the bathroom was a good size with both a bathtub and shower.
The location of the hotel is excellent. The Metro is close by as are many restaurants and markets. For sightseeing you can easily walk to Notre Dame Cathedral, The Latin Quarter and the Pantheon or simply stroll around the lovely streets taking in the neighbourhood.
Yes, we loved our stay at the Residence Henri IV and would thoroughly recommend it for anyone who enjoys old world charm.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Residence Henri 4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Henri 4

Address: 50, rue des Bernardins, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Panthéon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Paris
#51 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence Henri 4 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Residence Henri 4 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Henri 4 Paris
Residence Henri 4 Hotel
Residence Henri Iv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Residence Henri 4, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.