We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a great location- and for family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residence Henri 4

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Residence Henri 4 to your Saves list
Hotel Residence Henri 4
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50, rue des Bernardins, 75005 Paris, France (Quartier Latin)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #81 of 1,773 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Westport, Connecticut, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in a great location- and for family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We are a family of 4 , and stayed for a week . The hotel is an easy walk to everything -esp Notre Dames and Rue Mouffetard- and is centrally located. The hotel is very close to the metro to begin your day!!The staff is very friendly and helpful ( our luggage was held for us when we arrived- so we could go out and sight see).The hotel is quiet and the rooms were comfortable and clean with a small kitchenette. We enjoyed the 8 euro breakfast to start our day. There are also bakeries, cheese, and wine shops around the corner, and away from touristy shops.
We booked the hotel directly via the website.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    261
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
215
441
30
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at this hotel after having booked solely on the basis of previous tripadvisor reviews. The room was nicely decorated, comfortable and quiet. The bed was also very comfortable. The staff were all pleasant and helpful.

We enjoyed the 8 euro breakfast although the breakfast room is not a place you would linger in. We were told they use pastries from Eric Kayser around the corner.

The location was also very handy for site seeing. One tip - if you arrive at the RER station at Saint Michel/ Notre Dame with luggage look for sortie 6 which has an elevator that takes you up to street level (Rue Xavier Privas) avoiding lots of difficult escalators. You can leave this way also but you need to buy the ticket first.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed for a Saturday night with our two small children. The small suite (room 52) was perfect with space for us all, a little cooking area and lovely bathroom. There's a small park with swings etc just at the foot of the hotel, and it's an easy walk into Notre Dame and the sights. We ate at the American Diner that evening, which although not a typical 'french experience', it meant that the children were well fed after a big day out. We ate lunch on Sunday round the corner at Cafe St Victor, and the food there was great. Worth adding that the hotel staff were excellent, ready to help but not overbearing. Would recommend this hotel immensely.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed here July 2013, was an excellent spot to stay and explore Paris in. We had the family room on the second floor, lovely and quirky but comfy as well. Staff were very helpful at all times, and the location is brilliant for exploring the sites. The Seine is a few minutes walk away and brings you out straight opposite Notre Dame. We will definitely return and stay here again when we visit Paris next. Highlight was just sitting on the balcony in the evening opposite the park, drinking a glass of wine and just soaking up the atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Cannot fault this little hotel in the latin quarter of Paris. Warm service and well appointed rooms and guest areas mean the hotel is as far removed from American chain hotels as you could possibly want. Also very comfy beds.

Located within walking distance of dozens of restaurants and also very close to the Notre Dame. A short walk to the Metropolitan and RER services.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Location is great. Close to Odeon and the Pantheon, as well as Rue Mouffetard's charming cafes and restaurants, winding stone streets which are just behind the hotel. A 15 min walk to the ritzy shopping at Rue Four and Grenelle. The large boulevard St. Germain is just a block over. Location is set back pleasantly away from all the "left bank" tourist nonsense. Hotel itself was clean and bathrooms are very comfortable - we had a large tub and the bathroom appeared newly renovated. The furnishings are of a "baroque" nature. Not my favorite but doesn't affect the stay. Relative to French hotels, the room was a comfortable size. My boyfriend and I each had a side of the room with a table and nightstand and plenty of room to fit our suitcases. I will absolutely stay there again if planning to be based on the left bank.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in a standard room on the top floor of this 19th century Parisian building, with our own little balcony facing the park. Our room was perfect for our stay and it was lovely to be welcomed with a small bottle of champagne. My husband and I really enjoyed the quirky decor throughout the hotel. The staff at the front desk and in breakfast room were all very friendly, helpful and welcoming. It was also nice to be able to enjoy breakfast in our room if we didn't feel like rushing in the morning. The room was very clean and the bathroom was a good size with both a bathtub and shower.
The location of the hotel is excellent. The Metro is close by as are many restaurants and markets. For sightseeing you can easily walk to Notre Dame Cathedral, The Latin Quarter and the Pantheon or simply stroll around the lovely streets taking in the neighbourhood.
Yes, we loved our stay at the Residence Henri IV and would thoroughly recommend it for anyone who enjoys old world charm.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Residence Henri 4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Henri 4

Address: 50, rue des Bernardins, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Paris
#73 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence Henri 4 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Residence Henri 4 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Henri 4 Paris
Residence Henri 4 Hotel
Residence Henri Iv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Residence Henri 4, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.