We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, comfortable and superb value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residence Henri 4

Save Saved
You added Hotel Residence Henri 4 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Residence Henri 4
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50, rue des Bernardins, 75005 Paris, France (Panthéon)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 1,793 hotels in Paris
Ottawa Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quiet, comfortable and superb value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This was our first trip to Paris and this hotel was the perfect choice. It is really quite wonderful, situated across from a little park at the end of a short dead-end street. Quiet, comfortable and superb value. It only has 13 rooms but has all the amenities. The staff were very friendly and courteous, and graciously provided us with suggestions and directions for restaurants and sight-seeing. They stored our luggage when we arrived, and the day we left, as we were not catching our train until the evening, they stored our luggage all day, leaving us free to wander the sights of Paris. Our room had 2 small balconies on the top floor facing the little park. It was a very comfortable room, nice size, little kitchenette, good sized bathroom and very quiet. There was a table and 2 chairs on the balcony and it was a perfect place to unwind with some great food and wine before or after touring the city. We had the hotel breakfast the first morning and it was adequate. From then on though, we chose to walk 5 minutes down to Blvd St Germaine, turn left, and buy fresh food, wine, cheese, bread and anything else we needed for a superb feast on our own balcony at the hotel. The little kitchenette provides the facilities to cook a meal, as we did the next morning for breakfast. This made our hotel experience an amazing memory. The hotel is an easy 10 minute stroll to Notre Dame Cathedral and the Seine. It is in a little quieter area of the city but is easily accessible to all the rest of the amazing sights of Paris. We look forward to returning to Paris and staying at Residence Henry IV.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, you won't be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    505
    237
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
187
392
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hampshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We spent two nights in Paris for my husband's birthday. The choice of the Residence Henry IV was excellent. The staff could not have been more helpful. We initially went to the wrong Henry IV so were very glad to arrive at the right one. The room was lovely with a small balcony overlooking a park and the street. It was very clean and warm with a small sitting area adjacent (which had a sofa bed).
Both areas had separate access to the bathroom. The bed was really comfortable and we slept well. The reception staff were really helpful, finding information about how to get to St Denis for us and providing a map of recommended restaurants in the area. We tried two of them and both were excellent. We had breakfast in the hotel both mornings and it was very good value at 8€ - cereal, compote, croissants, pain au raisin, pain chocolat, bread, preserves, freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee.

Room Tip: We had a 'comfort' room which was a little more expensive but had a small sitting room and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in October because of the great reviews on trip advisor. We arrived early in the morning and they kept our luggage for us while we explored Paris. When we returned, we were checked into Room 1. I was a little dubious because it was right behind the check- in desk. However, it was very quiet. The room was spacious with a small kitchenette. I can't comment on the breakfast because we did not use it. The staff was very patient - helped us with restaurant reservations, directions, the air conditioning and a car to the airport. I would stay here again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Home away from home!!! Spacious rooms, top notch service and excellent location central to all major touristic attractions yet tucked in at the end of a quiet street. Will definitely stay there again!!!

Hats off and a big big Bravo!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I usually stay at the Ritz or Four Seasons, but to be honest, with the prices at these hotels over $1,000 now, I decided to try something different. No, you don't get turn down service or Hermes toiletries at the Henri IV, but what the room lacked in "cookie cutter luxury" (which is the same at any 4 Seasons), was more than made up for in true Parisian charm. Half of the rooms are two-room suites, being much larger than most Paris hotel rooms. The location is fantastic: close to St. Germaine and Latin Quarter, but on a quite side off-street. Easy walk to many tourists sites, cafes, and Metro.

Room Tip: the two bedroom suites are worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel was absolutely fantastic. Great location in a beautiful, up-market part of Paris. It has lovely, traditional Parisian charm. The staff are incredibly helpful and professional. The breakfast was delicious; get ready to gain some weight.
I cannot fault this delightful hotel, and if I am fortunate enough to visit Paris again, we will definitely be staying here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We wanted a hotel in Paris that looked and felt like "Paris" and we could not have chosen better. It is in a perfect location within walking distance to everything! The room was exceptional and even better than the photos on the internet. The breakfast was sublime and the staff could not have looked after us better. Having a kitchenette was great for those evenings when we were wanting a simple evening in. We will only book this hotel in paris and no other and are even prepared to change travel dates to ensure we stay here and no-where else.

Room Tip: If you can, book a superior room as it is actually a suite. The extra space was great for our 10 nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Residence Henri 4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Henri 4

Also Known As:
Residence Henri 4 Paris
Residence Henri 4 Hotel
Residence Henri Iv
Address: 50, rue des Bernardins, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Panthéon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Paris
#34 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence Henri 4 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Residence Henri 4 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Residence Henri 4, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.