We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money, excellent location, comfortable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residence Henri 4

Save Saved
You added Hotel Residence Henri 4 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Residence Henri 4
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50, rue des Bernardins, 75005 Paris, France (Panthéon)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 1,795 hotels in Paris
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Value for money, excellent location, comfortable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Residence Henri 4 for 3 nights last week and I am very happy with my stay there. We got the rooms that we requested and although the bed was a tad smaller than expected, it was very comfortable and we had no problems sleeping or with any noise whatsoever. The location is superb, being very near to the metro, and there are great restaurants closeby. We recommend to take a walk and discover the Latin Quarter area, esp the restaurants in the alleyways between the Clunny Sorbone and Maubert metro stations. We will definitely stay at Henri 4 again and will highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    524
    240
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
193
410
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PO21 1HW
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We wanted a small centrally located hotel in Paris with traditional character, having viewed too many hideously decorated modernised hotels. This is a very small hotel, converted from an old town house, that only has two rooms on each floor, connected by a spiral staircase and a very small lift. There is an attractive small breakfast room, or you can have breakfast in your room. Our rooms was traditional, comfortable, with a small balcony and a tiny kitchenette. It has free wi-fi.
The hotel is attractively decorated with paintings and items mostly relating to Henri IV, small reception desk as you come in, and a little sitting room. Someone is on duty 24 hours basically to let you in, and the only other staff we came across was at breakfast. It is a few minutes walk to Notre Dame, and rather a few more to the Louvre. The price we were quoted in euros on booking.com was the price paid-at around £150 a night, it is n't the cheapest, but it's worth it for the ambiance and position.

Room Tip: From what I saw, all rooms face sideways towards the Rue des Ecoles, with balconies, and the bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

A great location on the Left Bank, 10 minutes walk from Notre Dame cathedral, but small, quiet and full of character. Excellent service, very easy communication (in English) and Metro stations nearby, but I walked easily to the Pantheon, the Louvre, the Luxembourg and St Sulspice.
I'd stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The hotel itself is ok-nothing amazing, and very overpriced-190 EUR a night without breakfast is quite a bit. I'ce stayed in much better places in Paris for less money.. Be aware of the booking service that they use, booking.com. I was quoted an entirely different price when I booked, based on which I made the booking, only to find out that the price when leaving the hotel had increased by 20 EUR. Booking.com quotes you the price in your own currency, and then sends you a confirmation email in EUR. I was careless and did not open the confirmation email, thinking it would be ok, only to find out that the price I was quoted was not correct. The hotel tried to explain it in terms of differences in currency rates-but this is clearly not the case-as any currency calculator on the web can tell you-a rate of a currency does not chage by 20 EUR in one week.
So, if you want a quiet hotel and want to spend a lot of money and not eat breakfast, this is it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelResidenceHenri4, Responsable réception at Hotel Residence Henri 4, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Madam,

We are extremely astonished about your comment and the criticism you formulate about the booking service. Firstly, Booking.com is only one of our distribution channels. It is not our booking system.
You claim that the hotel changes the rates already being confirmed even if you admit not checking your confirmation e-mail. We would like to remind you that - on booking.com- even if you choose a different currency, the total price in Euro is displayed next to the currency chosen before submitting your details and it remains on display until you finalise your booking.
Upon your early check out, our night clerk told you that prices are in the country currency. It has nothing to do with currency conversion as it is impossible for any hotel to convert its guests' bills upon each check-out.

Best regards

Hicham KHAZRANE

Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I took my 17 year old son for his first trip overseas and really wanted to take him to a typically French hotel rather than a bland, could be anywhere, hotel. Residence Henri was perfect. Our room was beautiful and so elegant! Our bathroom was modern but still felt French and the staff were so charming. The hotel is in a fantastic position and we were able to walk to so many places.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My two teens & I stayed at this lovely little hotel for a week in early December and we absolutely loved it. We had a lovely room on an upper floor with a tiny balcony which looked out onto the little park opposite. The room set up was perfect for us with a sofa bed in one room and two singles in the other. The kitchenette was fabulous as we were able to stock up on snacks & drinks at a bargain price from the little supermarket around the corner. We also prepared & ate breakfast in our room which saved us a lot of money on meals. I loved the period furniture and decor and the location could not have been better. You have two metro stations a very short walk away, you have a lot of very reasonably priced restaurants all around you, many of the major sights (Notre Dame, Pantheon, Cluny Museum) are all a short stroll from your front door and there is hardly any traffic noise at all which for me being a light sleeper was really important. The staff are really wonderful, they are friendly and extremely helpful. For those that need to do washing whilst away there is also a laundromat about 50m away. I loved the location in the Latin Quarter I felt very safe wandering around at night and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone who is looking for a quaint place to stay at a very affordable Paris price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We've stayed here a few times now and it has alway been a lovely stay, the hotel is in an excellent location and the rooms are pleasant. The hotel also sent me my left over clothes (at my request) to the UK so I would recommend the good service too! We stayed here after we got engaged and it was wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Residence Henri 4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Henri 4

Address: 50, rue des Bernardins, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Panthéon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Paris
#49 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#393 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence Henri 4 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Residence Henri 4 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Henri 4 Paris
Residence Henri 4 Hotel
Residence Henri Iv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Residence Henri 4, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.