We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, cute hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residence Henri 4

Save Saved
You added Hotel Residence Henri 4 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Residence Henri 4
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50, rue des Bernardins, 75005 Paris, France (Panthéon)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great location, cute hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Probably one of dozens of perfectly fine hotels in Paris. We enjoyed our top-floor room, even a tiny sitting area and kitchenette, which is crazy unusual in Paris. Front desk staff helpful, felt safe and was easy to get to from the Metro, or to walk everywhere! $200USD+/night felt kind of steep but it's Paris.

Room Tip: Room 60 was nice with the best shower, but had a slanted roof - just FYI if you are tall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    524
    240
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
193
409
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eads, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Just returned from an 8 day stay and couldn't have been more pleased. The location was great....just a few minutes away from the metro, markets, restaurants, fabulous baked goods & whatever you could need. The rooms were very comfortable and having the kitchenette was great. There is an elevator which was also helpful. The bathroom was nice and the water was hot which was great for a restful bath at the end of the day. All the people at the desk were extremely helpful. With all the other reviews, I probably don't need to add much more, but certainly wanted to leave a positive review. The only suggestion I might add that I did not see in previous reviews regarding suggestions for places to see in Paris......if you love Art Nouveau, look into the museum visit at Maxim's.

Thank you Henri IV!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

From the location to the staff to the room, this is the boutique hotel to choose if one wishes to embrace their journey to the world's loveliest city. The 13-room inn fills quickly. Reserve early. Situated across from a small park on a dead end street, Henri IV offers a peaceful haven steps away from the bustling beauty of the Left Bank. I stayed in the two-room suite ... A king-sized bed, small but perfect kitchenette, sitting room with pull-out bed (for the kids, but very comfortable!), and bathroom (tub/shower, bath salts, hair dryer, and towel warmer).
Rooms are beautifully furnished, plenty of storage. Two-person elevator for those that can't manage the winding staircase. Xavier at the front desk not only took care of my requests but apprised us of city events not advertised in English, such as classical concerts.
Breakfast is excellent for those wanting lazy mornings, but do take the initiative and walk for thirty seconds to Eric Kayser, Artisan Boulanger. Renowned by Parisians and lines out the door in the evenings for baguettes, but not packed in the morning where you have your pick of almond croissants, pain au chocolat, etc.
Henri IV is so close to Notre Dame, Ile de Cite (home of Berthillon and all sorts of beautiful shops), and Luxembourg Gardens (Saturday afternoons, a puppet show for the children).
Such a lovely stay, I almost didn't want to review it and keep it for myself; however, the inn and its staff deserve the praise.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I've already made my reservations for a second stay in this lovely hotel. It is perfectly situated on the Left Bank and close or easily accessible by foot, metro or bus to the important museums, sites and shopping in Paris. The hotel is right in the "action", but because it is just a few steps off the main street on a dead-end street, the hotel's location is very quiet.The Left Bank has a unique charm - lots of Parisian cafes and restaurants and one day, there was an outdoor market overflowing with fresh fruits and veggies, clothes, handbags, even a few birds! There is a neighbourhood grocery store just a block from the hotel where you can pick up a few staples to store in the tiny fridge in your hotel room - and don't forget - the wine!

The decor of the hotel is very ornate. No mistaking this hotel for a sterile North American hotel! We loved our closet sized kitchenette, Just the right size to have a wee breakfast in the morning and some crackers, cheese and wine in the evening after an exhausting, fun-filled day exploring Paris.

I highly recommend this hotel. Rates are reasonable. It was very clean and the front desk staff are pleased to provide guests with recommenations and useful information. In fact, on our last night in Paris, the young man at the front desk suggested a nearby restaurant for dinner. Dinner was delicious and a most reasonable price!

I'm going back to France in 2013 and one of the first things I did was make my reservations at Residence Henri IV.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Henri IV was a great find, thanks to trip advisor. I looked at so many hotels for Paris and I honestly can say Henri IV had everything my husband and I needed and more.
We had a sitting room with a lovely plush lounge, and a separate bedroom beautifully fitted and there was a bottle of perfume awaiting me when entered the room,, table and chairs to beable to sit and eat our breakfasts and sometimes lunches with the help of the lovely little kitchenette.A balcony that looks over the park to have a evening glass of champagne before we went out to one of the recommended resturants. The staff are fabulous.
I would highly recommend this charming hotel, it is so close to the Notre-Dame as well, and the Siene, we got Batobus tickets (ferrie) and you can just get off at the Eiffel Tower, Louvre...etc..very easy to get anywhere.
Thankyou again to the fabulous staff..
See you again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of Boston, MA USA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I had very specific requirements/wants/desires for a hotel in Paris. I wanted a place within walking distance to the major sights, in a neighborhood that felt "like Paris," a balcony (even a tiny one), and a place to make breakfast and lunches. Voila! I found all of that - and more - in this charming boutique hotel smack dab on the Left Bank of Paris.
We booked a superior room, which had a nice big comfortable bed, a long narrow balcony -- too tiny to sit out on, but lovely to stand on and look out over the small nearby park and the streets and buildings in the neighborhood. The suite included a sitting room with a sofa plus table and chairs, plenty of storage in the form of two armoires and a chest of drawers. We had the tiniest, but most efficient little kitchen I have ever seen -- with a small fridge, microwave, two-burner stove, a sink, and enough utensils, etc., to put together breakfasts and lunches. The bathroom was plenty roomy, having a full-size tub (with shower), and my favorite amenity: a heated towel rack!
An elevator just big enough for two of us (and maybe one large suitcase) brought us up to our 5th floor room. Tall floor-to-ceiling windows let in the daytime breezes, but when closed at night blocked out all the street noises. The staff was polite and helpful.
Conveniently close are lots of wonderful patisseries, boulangeries, the Carrefours, and many other smaller specialty markets. We were less than a ten-minute walk from Ile St. Louis as well as the Pantheon, Luxembourg Gardens, and Ile de la Cite. We stayed only three nights, but we will not hesitate to return to Henri IV the next time we are in Paris and, I hope, stay longer.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room with a balcony; chances are excellent that you will get one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

When we entered our room it was one of those "surely they've made a mistake" moments. Surely this can't all be ours? But it was, the marble bathroom, the sitting room, the bedroom and the ktichenette. All ours, just for us, in the middle of Paris. The decor falls on just the right side of the classy/tacky factor and the location and view from our room are hard to beat. If you can afford it for a special occassion- do it- you won't regret it.

Room Tip: We had the suite on the first floor above the reception and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Residence Henri 4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Henri 4

Address: 50, rue des Bernardins, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Panthéon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Paris
#43 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#391 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence Henri 4 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Residence Henri 4 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Henri 4 Paris
Residence Henri 4 Hotel
Residence Henri Iv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Residence Henri 4, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.