We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position and friendly front desk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain to your Saves list
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13, Rue Saint-Sulpice, 75006 | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France (Luxembourg)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Event tickets
Ranked #120 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Oxford
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great position and friendly front desk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The reception staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. All spoke English very well and were patient with my schoolgirl attempts at French. Breakfasts were enjoyable and relaxing with fresh fruit and pastries each morning. Whilst our luxury room was small, it was nicely furnished and perfectly adequate. Wifi worked well. The beds were a little hard but that is a personal preference. After a week in Paris, we came to the conclusion that this little boutique hotel offered the very best position in St Germain in a small street with not too much noise at night. Added to this, it is very close to the Metro station and cafes! Will definitely stay here on our next visit to Paris. Certainly was value for money in a very expensive city!

Room Tip: Certainly opt for a larger luxury room as even that was on the small size!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    165
    49
    17
    3
See reviews for
101
389
48
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife and i stayed here 9/2-9/6/13 for our honeymoon. I emailed the hotel weeks before arrival to see if they offered any honeymoon specials or something I could surprise my wife with. I got a form email in response telling me of tours I could book. It was like they didn't even read the email. Should have seen this as a sign of things to come

Lets start out with the positive: the location. The location is excellent and close to Notre Dame, Saint Michel and the odeon metro.
That's it. The rest of this review is negative

First, there is no parking and you are told to park at the public lot down the street which is 40euro a day and the parking structure is horrible with tiny stalls.

The hotel is small and has a very dark feel to it. The staff at check in was friendly and the maids were friendly but that is where their service stops.
Our room for $200 a night was tiny. The bed was hard and our tv did not work. When calling down to the front desk to tell about the TV, the phone cord ripped out of the phone. Our lights flickered constantly in our bathroom and the bed was extremely uncomfortable.
This was just the tip of the iceberg though.

One of the days we left the "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door only to come back the the sign gone and our room partially made up. Partially because they made the bed but didn't replace our towels or anything. When i complained that our room was entered, their response was that I should have told the front desk that I didn't want them to go in. I replied that's what the sign on the door said. They insisted I was Wrong!!!' And when i went downstairs later to talk to a manager, the night manager threw his Hands up in the air and said "I don't know, I wasn't here"
This place is a joke and their customer service is terrible. Way overpriced and they like to tell customers how wrong they are. I expected privacy and got snooping staff instead. Will never return!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OSGMANAGER, Directeur général at Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at the Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain. We were pleased to see that you find the location perfect, but sorry to learn that you did not like our hotel, perhaps too special for your taste. Curiously enough the comments we hear frequently is that our resident guests appreciate the special atmosphere and attentive service.

We are sorry that you were so upset because we cleaned your room. We just tried to inform you that, as we sometimes find the “do not disturb-make my room” sign on the floor, we prefer to call in the room and make it cleaned if no answer. This is a special attention as we do not have housekeeping service at night. Please remember that we change sheets and towels each 2 days or everyday on request. We do not think that “customer is always wrong”, as we offered breakfast on your last day to apologize for the misunderstanding, we just prefer to be informed that we are not allowed to enter in the room directly at the reception.

We would hope that on a future business or combined leisure trip to Paris, we would be able to show you the personalized attention one expects in today’s world of luxury hotels. All our rooms have different size and are decorated with different fabrics , so perhaps we would have the opportunity of showing you several options that would match better with your expectations. We would maybe able this time to upgrade you…

In any case, do not hesitate to let us know should you chose to plan a future visit, and we will do our best to reverse the impressions you had during your recent visit.

Best regards,

Brice LEMOINE
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Loved the location of this hotel. Close to metro, the Seine and you can walk to the Louvre. A great neighborhood that was very lively even on Sunday. Great recommendation by front desk to try Grom (gelato place)..we went twice. The rooms are small as expected in Paris but very clean and nicely done. Tiny elevator and the bathroom lacked a bit of privacy with a slide door that did not close fully. Overall a great experience. Semilla was a great dinner only a couple blocks away.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Booked it for a solo trip based on a friend's suggestion. Small room but met my needs, very close to everything and staff were welcoming and helpful. Going back for a second trip with my wife able to make it this time so I booked a larger room. Counting on the staff being as pleasant and helpful as my first trip - we"ll see how the larger room are? Very central spot for using as a home base.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Odeon Saint-Germain hotel is in the heart of Saint-Germain des Prés. The neighborhood is full of charm. This part of the city is one of the oldest, around the Saint-Germain des Prés church and at 5 minutes from the river Seine.
The joggers could choose between running in and around the Parc du Luxembourg, or along the banks. Safe and easy, all the shops are offering the best of Paris Fashion. The hotel is situated within a stone's throw away from cafés terraces, excellent restaurants, Orsay and Le Louvre Museum and Notre-Dame Cathedral. Even the Odeon Metro station is at the corner.

This boutique hotel is charming. And the smiling staff is ahead of our needs. Very parisian. Not a product as the others, not services as they do. But a incredible souvenir.
We will not be unfaithfull.

Room Tip: Luxury rooms are charming, Standard rooms are charming but smaller. The Junior suites with a view ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel location was great. Close to many restaurants/shops/ public transportaion. But I was very surprised that my room (3rd floor, street side) was very noisy. Rue Saint Sulpice is a small street, a few blocks away from the main St.Gemain but there were constant traffics as well as regular public bus service. We had to close our window all the time during our stay. The room (Superior) room was small, no proper sitting chair (just a stool and a lounge sofa which we used for our luggage storage place). The hotel charges everything (honor system).. even coffee at the lobby (no machine in the room). The breakfast was OK but no protein (no ham or cheese slices)... only raw eggs you have to boil your self. So it was not worth 13 euro.
I appreciated the hotel employees kindness and helps. The hotel claims 4 star.

Room Tip: Avoid street side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OSGMANAGER, Directeur général at Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at the Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain. We were pleased to see that you find the location perfect, but sorry to learn that you were not totally satisfied by your room and services.

All our rooms have different size and are decorated with different fabrics, do not hesitate to contact the reception for any request before or during your stay, our superior and luxury rooms can have a courtyard view and be more quiet, even if all our rooms on the street have double windows and also soundproof windows. You are right to say that if you want to leave the windows open, it is more difficult to have no noise as we are downtown. Our luxury rooms can also have a sitting area with 2 comfortable armchairs and a table instead of a lounge sofa.

Our Buffet breakfast offers also ham and cheese slices every day. Please accept our apologies if it was no available during a few minutes. Boiled eggs are included in the price and
Omelette, fried eggs or scrambled eggs on request with an extra charge of 5€.

We hope to welcome you again for your next trip to Paris and have the opportunity of showing you several options that would match better with your expectations.

Sincerely,

Brice Lemoine
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, New Jersey
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A quaint and comfortable hotel that was close to lots of sites in Saint Germain. I was able to walk around and it was close to the Metro system as well. The english speaking employees were every nice and accomodating. Thankfully it had good working A/C in the heat of August. They suggested reserving a cab for an early morning ride to the airport and they did not disappoint.

Room Tip: There are no elevators, so you do have to carry luggage up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OSGMANAGER, Directeur général at Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comment on TripAdvisor.
It was a real pleasure to read that you were satisfied with the services of the hotel and that you enjoyed your time with us.

I am really happy that you enjoyed the good quality of the air-conditioning.

We do have elevator on each building of the hotel but you are right to notice that one elevator is only available from the first floor, 15 stairs to clim but remember that our staff is here to help you with the luggages.
If stairs is a problem, the other building is available with direct acces by elevator

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Paris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain

Address: 13, Rue Saint-Sulpice, 75006 | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Luxembourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#80 Family Hotel in Paris
#90 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and very parisian, this hotel was fully renovated by the famous decorator, Jacques Garcia. This hotel offers an exceptional location just a stone's throw away from the church of Saint Sulpice and its delightful square, in the heart of Odeon and Saint-Germain-des-Prés districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Odeon Saint Germain
Odeon Saint Germain Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.