We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Excelsior Latin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Excelsior Latin to your Saves list
Hotel Excelsior Latin
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 rue Cujas | Latin Quarter, 75005 Paris, France (Quartier Latin)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #405 of 1,792 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
miami
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights. Had a room on the 4th floor in the annex building that connects by an interior courtyard. We were 2 adults and 1 child. The room was very big and roomy. No street noise. We each had our own little space and weren't on top of each other. The beds were comfortable. The room was very clean. Didn't have the breakfast. Tried different places around the hotel. The location was perfect. 2 blocks from the Sorbonne and about 4 from jardin de luxombourg. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the annex building for no street noise and a room on the 4th floor for a spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    396
    109
    32
    21
See reviews for
299
223
36
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Let me start on a good note :)
The location was very good: close to a metro station, a stone's throw from Pl. de la Sorbonne, within walking distance from Notre-Dame Cathedral and near a very magical and romantic area - Rue de la Harpe with so many restaurants (cuisines from all over the world) that one would need a few months to check all of them. We were staying in a hotel just off Bd Saint-Michele, which is one of the busiest and most interesting streets/boulevards. Thus, I do recommend this location.

The hotel staff was... strange. Sorry to say that, but the man who served as most frequently and who checked us in had such a peculiar sense of humour that we literally didn't know what to say: to laugh or to cry? That was also coupled with his level of English which - I must say - was poor; not always could we understand him. All in all, he made us feel a bit uneasy. Funnily enough, we were once served by an elderly lady, whom you would never expect to speak such fluent English. She nailed it totally :)

The room was very small. Let me steal a line from our beloved Chandler from "Friends": bedroom - slash - bathroom. Or should I say bed - slash - bathroom? There wasn't enough space to put out things. Mind you, we were staying there for just 4 days and had both smallest suitcases so there weren't loads of things. Our room was very dark as the window was facing another part of the hotel - basically a wall :( The condition wasn't the best either: a bit of mould, old desk etc. Nothing too serious, though.
Therefore, we believe that it was overpriced. For the money we paid we had expected something a lot better.

One thing that surprised us a lot was the fact that there are almost no grocery shops on the streets, and anything that you can find will close pretty early or will refuse to sell you alcohol after 21:00 or 22:00. Very disturbing if you want a bottle of water, an ice cream, a snack, or any toiletries.

Room Tip: Go for hotels near Bd Saint-Michel. Perfect location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The Excelsior Latin hotel was absolutely fantastic. We stayed in a Comfort Suite and it was perfect for our family. The room was efficient and well maintained. The air conditioners worked perfectly. The rooms were properly cleaned each day. The location is convenient to bus and Metro stops, making it easy to access the sights in Paris. But people working at the front desk are what really made our visit to Excelsior Latin a truly exceptional experience. There was always someone there and they were so helpful with directions, restaurant reservations, booking tickets to the Louvre, etc. It was like having a travel agent at your front door every minute of your stay in Paris.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for two nights and, as said in the other reviews, it was the perfect location for discover the attractions nearby, use public transports for Tour Eiffel, Versailles and CDG and easily found shops and restaurants in the night.
If we will come again in Paris we for sure will come back to Excelsior Latin.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeddah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Everything was up to standards except the arranged hotel-airport transfer. We were not informed ahead of time (this should have happened at check-in when we paid for the transfer) that there would be other passengers with us on the van so on the way, we got anxious about waiting for ten minutes while the driver,who did not say anything and could not speak English went in to another hotel.This prompted me to phone Hotel Excelsior but the on-duty guy could not be of any help. He was so defensive as to have said, "I don't know about it because it wasn't me you had arranged the transport with." All we needed was information and assurance from him that despite fetching other passengers, we'd still reach the airport in time. We were first-timers in France so we weren't aware of the duration to get to the airport by car. From we where we come from and from other places we've travelled to, airport transfers mean only us as passengers so we didn't have a way of knowing that it was a different case in Paris (or at this hotel only?). Anyway, we had a pleasant stay at room number 2 (comfort category at 149 euros a night from June 19 to 26, 2014. Ridah had always been of great help and was in a cheerful disposition to answer our queries all the time. Prior to arriving, Ridah had promptly responded to our emails and gave us easy & accurate directions to getting to the hotel from CDG via RER - something that made us feel at ease especially for us being total strangers to Paris. The room & bathroom were kept spotless each day, bed was well-made. Location too is great; RER/Metro, eating places, boutiques, key sights (Jardin du Luxembourg, the Pantheon, Sorbonne, Notre Dame) are close by. It was a very good value for money! I'll definitely recommend this to my friends. Thank you very much, Hotel Excelsior Latin! Thank you, too, Ridah! - Mr. & Mrs. Arshad Khan Mohammad

Room Tip: Room # 2, big bathroom, closet, quiet airconditioner
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwendijk, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

During a business trip to Paris, I stayed at this hotel for two nights. I am very satisfied with the overall experience at the Excelsior Latin. The room I had was neat, very clean, spacious (with a desk, good for some work) and the staff were helpful & friendly. There is free WiFi, and it works well. Breakfast was good, there is plenty of fresh croissants and pasties, as well as a choice of yoghurt, cereals etc. I would recommend this hotel to anyway needing a decent place to stay in the centre of Paris, for both business & tourist trips.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I searched for months to find the perfect hotel in Paris for our family of 5. We had 2 adults and 3 teenagers. I was very apprehensive about picking a hotel, and thought for sure we were going to have to get 2 expensive rooms. Not only were we worried about the expense, but our family wanted to stay together. This hotel turned out to be exactly what we were looking for! They had a family suite on the 4th floor that had 2 single beds, a pull out single bed, and a double bed with a wall separating the singles from the double. This was perfect for our family. It was cozy, clean, and very close to the metro, restaurants, and stores. There is no refrigerator or microwave, but we didn't need one with all of the stores and restaurants so close. We also were able to make a reservation without having to put down a deposit up front, and if you need to cancel, you can cancel 24-48 hrs before arriving at no charge. We actually rented an apartment while visiting London the week before, and I think we liked this hotel more than the apartment!! All of the front desk men were very polite, however, one in particular was very helpful. We were planning on taking the metro back to the airport, so we didn't make arrangements for a taxi or shuttle. At 11:00 p.m. the night before we were to leave, we found out ALL transportation....metro and taxis were on strike, and the shuttle must be booked 24-48 hrs ahead. The front desk man made calls throughout the night to find us transportation. He assured us that he would find something, and that we should not worry. He found us a great taxi that would hold a family of 5 with luggage at a great rate!! This hotel is very close to Notre Dame. If you have any reservations about booking a hotel you've never seen, don't worry this one is great. The only thing is if you have a handicap, the elevator is very small. it will only hold 2 adults. it is about the size of a telephone booth. This seems to be the norm in Europe so we didn't mind at all. Just note that in case you have a handicap or a lot of luggage. The hallways are extremely small and narrow, 2 people can barely pass each other, but being from America we thought this was charming. If you are a large person, this may be a problem though. Breakfast was a little pricey, but you can buy croissants, danishes, etc. about a block away. The toilet is in a separate room from the bathtub and shower, and is quite small, but the bathtub and shower are in a huge bathroom area which was very nice. I would definitely stay here again. I only wish we could visit Europe more often.

Room Tip: For a family with children, choose the family suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Cujas Pantheon
Hotel Cujas Pantheon
#456 of 1,792 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design de la Sorbonne
Quartier Latin
Hotel de Suez
Hotel de Suez
#605 of 1,792 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Cluny Sorbonne
Hotel Cluny Sorbonne
#911 of 1,792 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Trois Colleges
Hotel des Trois Colleges
#931 of 1,792 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Excelsior Republique
Hotel Excelsior Republique
#1,489 of 1,792 in Paris
3.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Latin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Latin

Address: 20 rue Cujas | Latin Quarter, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#211 Family Hotel in Paris
#450 Business Hotel in Paris
#572 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Excelsior Latin 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel located in the heart of the Latin Quarter offers spacious rooms which can accomodate up to 5 persons. All the rooms have bathroom, air conditioning and free wifi access. The Pantheon, the Luxembourg Garden and Notre Dame are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Latin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Latin Hotel
Excelsior Latin Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Excelsior Latin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.