We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful cheating staff, bedbugs and broken airconditioner” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Acadia Opera - Astotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Acadia Opera - Astotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Acadia Opera - Astotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Rue Geoffroy Marie | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France (Montmartre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #569 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awful cheating staff, bedbugs and broken airconditioner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

My title sums it up... At first I was very pleased with the hotel, the rooms are really nice and the location is perfect. Together with a good price this sounded like a great deal. Until...

1) The airconditioner broke and we had to sleep in a stiff room for two days. The night porter said (in a very bad english) that it was our problem and we could wait till morning for the manager.
2) Two of my colleagues had to wait nearly 12 hours before check-in to find out they transfered them to another hotel because of the problems with air conditioning.
3) I was badly bitten by bedbugs on my last night.
4) They tried to charge me extra 30 EUR for a breakfast we didn't have
5) The porter ordered us a taxi to the airport, saying we have to pay him an advance of 50 EUR. Wehn we arrived the driver told me his company does not take advance payment and that I will have to pay him the full sum. When I called the gotel manager he said they MIGHT refund it if I write them a letter about it. To say it simply, the night porter ROBBED me.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASTOTEL, Directrice de l'hôtel at Hotel Acadia Opera - Astotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2010
Dear Guest,

Further to this comment, first we would like to thank you for your interest to our hotel.

As we were in trouble with our air-conditioning system and further to your request, we changed your room the next day with pleasure.
We also had to transfer your colleagues in another hotel because of that.

Regarding your feedback for the bedbugs, we inform you that we called a specialized company and they apparently didn’t find anything.

The breakfast was not included in your reservation, so we just asked you if you had it or not.

Regarding the taxi, the amount of 50 € was just an information for the cost of the transfer to the airport.
But we are very surprised because the Manager didn’t receive any phone call from your part on this matter.

We are at your proposal for any further information or require.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    99
    42
    16
    12
See reviews for
28
90
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
zurich
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

I would not give this hotel 3 stars but only 2. I stayed here for 3 nights while in business. I know Paris and there are better hotels for the same price, unfortunately I had to do a quick short-notice trip to Paris and my favourite hotels were booked already. But if you take the time there are so much better hotels (e.g. Mercure Sorbonne).

This hotel is clean which is already an advantage for Paris hotels, convenient and simple but that's it. It has a good location, close to the metro and to central station (Nord and East). It also has many cafes and supermarkets around. I would recommend for 1-2 days for business, but if this is your first time to Paris, invest the time to look for a nicer hotel. I also had to buy ear plugs since it is super noisy at night, you can hear everything what is going on outside, from the garbage guys, to cars passing by,etc...it is not nice if you have to work the next day, you hardly get to sleep with so much noise. I think the price is expensive for the hotel type, as mentioned invest the time to look for other hotels if you are on vacation, for business is OK I guess.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

i was in this hotel last summer and that is the worest hotel in paris!!there is no airconditioning in the rooms and all the pictures that they publish in this site not even look close to the reality !! we asked to speek with the manager and he was shouted and almost hited us!!!!! he said that the aircondition was working although he did not.we moved 4 rooms because every room was terrible. at the first day we slept in a rooms in the first floor and it was on the sidewalk so we couldnt open the window because people walked on the sidewalk and we heard and saw them and they could also see us! in addition, there was a homeless who slept on the sidewalk below our window! that was very scarey . that brakefast was disgusting and small . all the staff of the hotel was not kind (acept for 2 employees that was very nice and tried to help us)!!.
please, dont do it to yourself!dont fo to this "hotel"!.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

This hotel is in a good central location, with clean rooms, adeuqate for a quick two-day weekend visit. There are so many cafes, bars and restaurants near by or easily accessed by walking, Metro or Taxis, we did not use any hotel facilties except the room. Only complaint - towels were very small.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, Surrey,UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

The rooms were clean and reception very helpful. The location is convenient for theatreland and not far from central places like the Louvre. (It's by Grands Boulevard metro). The room price seemed expensive especially just having come from much better value Munich, but on comparison with other Paris hotels this seems pretty reasonable.
On the minus side, the (continental) breakfast did seem particularly pricey (at 14€) for a basic breakfast - again that maybe par for the course in Paris?

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights in early August. The room was nice, staff very friendly and the location was great in terms of proximity to metro, groceries, restaurants etc. The neighbourhood also felt pretty safe.

It was a little noisy in the mornings with all the activity on the streets and the a/c broke down which meant the room was hot hot hot! Otherwise, very pleased with the experience.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

The hotel is well located in the heart of Paris, close to the Louvre and Montmartre, 5 min away from Metro station "Grands Boulevards".

The rooms are small, which is usual in Paris according to other reviewers. Basically, once you put your luggage on the floor, you can hardly move around the bed. The rooms are close to each other with no sound isolation, so when your neighbour enters his room by night, you will probably wake up and wonder if someone has entered in yours. I would recommend not to have your breakfast at 14 Euros per person in the hotel, as you have several bakeries around.

The "free" wireless internet they promote on their website is actually free for only 24h after first use. You have to pay for it afterwards.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_acadia, hotel manager at Hotel Acadia Opera - Astotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2009
First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comments regarding your recent stay at our property.
We apologize for not exceeding all your expectations.
Anyway, the hotel has only 5 rooms on each floor, so it is quiet, and also without noise of the street. But we are sorry if other customers made noise.
Regarding the internet connection, it is free for 24h after first use. But you don’t have to pay for it afterwards, you just have to ask a new free voucher at the reception.
You can be sure that we always try to do our best to ensure satisfaction for each and every guest experience.
Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving.
It is our hope that you will giver us another opportunity to serve you.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Acadia Opera - Astotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acadia Opera - Astotel

Address: 4 Rue Geoffroy Marie | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #569 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Acadia Opera - Astotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Acadia Opera - Astotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Acadia Opera - Astotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.