We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29, rue Caumartin | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France (Opéra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #450 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
El Puerto de Santa Maria, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel is pretty nice and extremely well located in downtown Paris. The people at the front desk are always nice, helpful and willing to give you a hand in case you need anything. The breaksfast at the hotel is simply awesome!

I only have one complaint about my experience at Hotel Astra Opera. When I proceeded to check-out they wanted to charge 6€ for the minibar, which we did not use at all. So I recomend and encourage prospective guests to check the bill when checking-out.

Room Tip: My advice is to get a room with an exterior baclony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    145
    69
    26
    24
See reviews for
58
110
33
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I've been a lot of times to Paris in the last year for business and this hotel is the best one I've checked into. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff is friendly and very helpful. And the location is really great: In the center of the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modiin, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

All in all this hotel was a decent hotel. This was our first stay in Paris, but I doubt that we would choose this hotel again. The service was excellent and the staff were very helpful and patient. it is in a great location which is basically what you pay for. However, the room was TINY and my feet hung off the bed. Barely enough bed space for two skinny people. The shower/bathroom was also tiny and after every shower the floor was covered in water due to the lack of a shower curtain, in addition to there hardly being any water pressure. The balcony was very nice but the general atmosphere of the hotel/corridor was dark and gloomy. Def not a 4 start hotel, rather a good 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: Dont stay in 601, room was tiny. (I dont know about the rest of the rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Thing I liked the most about this hotel is the location - it's very central, only a couple of minutes to go to the Opera and the Roissy bus that will take you directly to CDG airport. At the same time it's located on a smaller street that is away from the main traffic, so it's protected from the noise.
Another thing I liked is the room size - the room we got was really spacious, what is unusual for French hotels.
I would guess this is not a permanent issue, but when we got to the hotel we discovered that there was no cold water. It suited us too bad as we were craving for a shower after the flight and the stroll in the summer-hot streets of Paris. The issue got fixed in a couple of hours though, but next day it repeated again and it looked like this time they got a more serious problem as water started leaking from the ceiling in the reception hall, and cold water supply got cut off once again, but they fixed it again by the evening. I understand that this must have been a force majeure situation and it got fixed in some time, but I would expect the personnel to cope with this in a more customer-oriented way (e.g. offer some kind of bonus/extra service/discount for that matter). After all, one does expect to get a basic service of being able to have a shower and go to the toilet at a hotel you pay for, and if something like this occurs, it should be handled better.
What I didn't like or what left a really weird impression on me was the hallways. Once you get out of the elevator you get in the world of darkness. The hallways were hardly lit up, and the dark animalish wallpaper added up to the lack of light. I was left wondering - are they saving up money on electricity or what? Speaking about the elevator, it was making so harsh noises when the doors were getting closed that it disturbed us from sleeping in the night (not speaking about us scared to death when getting out of the elevator the first time). Also, they had actually only one elevator, and it could bear only two people.
The breakfast was OK, but selection could have been better. Didn't like that one needed to wait quite long to get served a coffee (would be better if there was a coffee-vending machine or sth like that) and the refill of the omelette bowl (was too small for the amount of customers). Appreciated fresh juices though.
All in all the hotel is OK, but a bit overpriced, and the nuances above did spoil the visit to a certain degree, so I don't think I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The location is extremely great, few minutes walk to the shopping zone, underground, bus station. Lots of restaurants around. The deluxe room was nice and spacious but a bit overpriced. The Bathroom could have been better than this, I didn't like it. The items on the breakfast buffet could have been better as well.

Room Tip: Superior an deluxe are good but a bit overpriced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I've been a lot of times to Paris and this hotel is the best one I've checked into. The rooms are clean and comfortable with sleek decor. The staff is friendly and very helpful. And the location is really great: center of the city center.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Excellent, convenient location saved us lots of money on transportation!!!! We easily walked to Opera Garnier, Grands Magasins, Place Vendôme and rue de la Paix. The lobby is beautiful and comfortable, and the breakfast was varied and delicious: hot eggs and meat, variety of fresh breads (light, crusty croissants), cheese plate, fresh fruits, freshly squeezed fruit juices, and freshly brewed, rich coffee served with hot milk. The front desk staff was friendly, helpful, and well informed about the sights and transportation. For extra convenience, they have a shuttle service to the airports.

Across the street from the hotel is a good, reasonably priced Italian restaurant. There are also grocery stores nearby where you can purchase inexpensive French wines and champagne. A variety of ethnic restaurants are available within a two-block radius. My advice is to avoid the cafes on the big streets (such as the one on Boulevarde des Capucines & Rue Caumartin where I paid ridiculous prices for average food and cold coffee, which our waiter “warmed” with hot water!) and frequent the smaller cafes that have better prices and service.

Whether your trip is for business, pleasure, or both, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel

Address: 29, rue Caumartin | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opéra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #450 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernized older hotel located between the Opera and the Madeleine Church. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Fastbooking, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.