We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable and pleasant hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel to your Saves list
Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29, rue Caumartin | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France (Opéra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #436 of 1,792 Hotels in Paris
south west
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“comfortable and pleasant hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Hade a couple of nights break staying here last week. We were upgraded on arrival from a standard room to a room overlooking street which was spacious with king size bed and sofa area - really nice room amd bed was l0ovely to sleep in.
Our rate included breakfast which was OK ( I would not pay separately however as plenty of places doing a much cheaper breakfast nearby) and free soft drinks sand hot drinks/snacks in the lounge area everyday - areally nice touch especially after a days sightseeing, but we did notice other guests filling their pockets with the snacks to take away - how sad!!
The hotels position is fab though for all the key sights and also for any shopohiolics. The bus tour starts 2 mins away too.
At 300 euros a night its noit chepa - but nothing is in Paris - and for a short break you cannot go wrong.
A special mention to staff who were all very friendly ( esp teh guy who upgraded our room!!)
Finally the restuarant / bar next door ( d'olympique?? ) was fab for food - steaks , spare ribs and onion soup were supurb!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    160
    72
    22
    23
See reviews for
67
129
36
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights in April 2013 having arrived around 10pm one night. The reception area and dinining and common areas are well presented and appealing however the passage ways are narrow with dark decor giving us some doubts about our selection of hotel. Our room was an internal room looking down on the glass topped lounge area with good light and privacy. Although not large the room was an adequate size with a workable ensuite and very clean and comfortable. The location is very good with all the sights of Paris within walking distance (up to 30 minutes). Would I recommend this hotel to friends and stay there again - absolutely!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The hotel is located right by where I needed to be for meetings but given my previous experience of Paris hotels, I had low expectations. I travel frequently and clean, comfortable rooms are not as common as you would hope, nor are friendly staff. However from my late arrival, where I was greeted warmly through to a very comfortable room & great bed, to my check out the next morning, I was pleasantly surprised. The reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially Ailou and the team on duty at check-in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We spent three nights at this hotel and were very pleased! The room was small but very clean and fresh with comfortable beds, nice pillows etc. The staff was very helpful and serviable. We did not eat the breakfast as we prefer eating at some of the nearby cafés but it looked good. The complimentary free "bar" was a nice extra. The location is PERFECT for both shopping and sightseeing since it is basically on walking distance from the Louvre, Place Vendome, Printemps and La Fayette departementstores, Champs-Elysees, Madeleine church and much more. The street is quiet but some noise in the mornings. Perfect for a weekend getaway!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberec, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We spent a few days in Paris and it was wonderfull time. One of the reason was the hotel. Absolutelly comfortable, very good location for shopping as well as for just discovering Paris. Friendly staff, especially once on recepcion - Alilou, Messi and other (sorry I forget the name) - comfortable beds, clean room and bathrooms, excellent breakfast. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is a really good hotel! Friendly staff, good location and nice clean comfortable rooms! The mattress was firm and pillows large and soft! Good powerful shower! I was here on business but actually it's a good location for checking out the sites! Do not eat across the road at Firenze!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in perhaps 17 hotels in 20 days different cities including also another in Paris. This was the best. I even got a free upgrade on arrival. Thank u so much. Comfortable beds. Clean room and bathrooms. Quiet. Excellent caring service. Thank u Alilou!. Taxi was arranged when shuttle booking not possible for airport. Open refreshments bar. Central location- gourmet eat or shop to hearts content. I almost want it kept as a secret so I can afford it continue to afford it next time.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_manager_astra, Gérant at Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions about your recent stay at the Astra Opera hotel.

Our staff has been very sensitive to your comments. Be sure it is always a pleasure for us to provide guests with the service they expect but it is even more rewarding to know it has been appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Paris very soon and please feel free to contact us directly for your next trip, we will ensure to meet your expectations once again.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel

Address: 29, rue Caumartin | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opéra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #436 of 1,792 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernized older hotel located between the Opera and the Madeleine Church. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.