We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Etoile Trocadero

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Etoile Trocadero to your Saves list
Hotel Etoile Trocadero
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 rue Saint Didier, 75116 Paris, France (Trocadero)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #961 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We loved this hotel's location. We were just a couple blocks from the Trocadero metro stop and the Eiffel Tower. There are a ton of places to eat within blocks of the hotel as well, and a laundromat just down the block. The pictures of the hotel can be deceiving, the real thing is not as lovely, but the rooms were clean, comfortable and made up daily. We had a refrigerator, enough room to move around and, above all, air conditioning! The staff was very pleasant to work with, especially helpful in storing ice packs for day trips. The continental breakfast was simple, the same everyday, but the bread was fresh. For a place to sleep after a busy day seeing Paris, it was a good place to stay, especially for price and location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    108
    58
    18
    22
See reviews for
37
101
18
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is one of the best hotels you can use at a low fare, however some hostels might be bigger and perhaps cleaner than Etoile Trocadéro.

The rooms are small and the carpets seem a bit mucky; it is not as nice as it would seem from the professional photos. The bathroom however, was clean and hot water was available at all times, no problem in that department.

The breakfast (if included in your fare) is handy perk as you can get what you need to start a long day of walking and sightseeing.

The nearest subway stations (Kléber and Boissière) are just a couple of blocks away; from there you can get to anywhere in Paris, you can even get to Versailles so you don't need to book a tour for that. If location is everything to you then Etoile Trocadéro might be your best choice.

'Arc de Triomphe' and 'Tour Eiffel' are nearby, you just need to walk down Avenue Kléber, although you won't get a view of those landmarks from your window.

Tip: If breakfast is not included in your fare don't buy it (it's pricey) and eat in one of the many restaurants outside. There is a mini-market almost in front of Etoile Tracadéro so you can get bottled water, beer and fruit (you know, the essential) and store it in the mini-fridge in your room. There is also a nice sushi restaurant in the left, down Rue St. Didier where you can get dinner at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Look for a room with a view to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I spent two nights at the Etoile Trocadero during the last week of June, 2012. On the upside: the room had air conditioning (a veritable luxury in a country without air conditioning) there was lots of hot water and it was within a short walking distance of many major tourist attractions (Eifel tower, Arc de Triomph, Louvre etc). Come to think of it, it was also very quiet. On the downside: the room felt dingy, it was very small and there was no shower. It was a little pricey at 209.00 Euros but it was the beginning of the high season and -- as they say -- location-location-location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Good location but rooms are the smallest I have ever been in! We were a family of five so we needed two rooms. We decided to put our teenagers together in the double room and my husband, mother and I took the triple. Boy, were we surprised when we saw the size of our triple room! The 3 twin beds are more the size of a cot and there is very limited room for any luggage. Only one person at a time can move about the room so you really have to do some creative space planning. The room and bathroom feel even smaller than a cruise ship stateroom. That being said, the staff was friendly although not always very knowledgable about tourists venues. The continental breakfast was good and the rooms were clean.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights on a weekend away, we picked this place based on trip advisor reviews.

Pros:
-Location was great, right near restaurants and shops, shortwalk to the eiffel tower
-Helpful reception staff, gave us free wifi, told us how to get to a few attractions and stored our luggage after check out

Cons:
-Tiny rooms, reading from the previous reviews this is normal in Paris. It had a bathroom and bed so we were happy
-smallest elevator I have seen in my life!

Overall this was a great little place to stay, the rooms were small for what we paid for but nothing to not make our stay pleasent.
We would stay again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed at this newly remodeled property last month May 2012 for one week. There were 8 in our party and they put us all on one floor, which was great. The bathrooms were redone and a decent size compared to most Parisian hotels and the room sizes were comparable to other places we've stayed in Paris. (This was our 5th trip to Paris). The staff was very pleasant and helpful at all hours. The continental breakfast was included and enjoyable every morning. The central location in the 16th was walking distance to the Arc, Trocadero, Champs Elysee, one block to the Metro. There were many restaurants, brasseries, bars, shopping all within walking distance. We received a great internet rate and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

this ranks as one of my worst hotel experiences anywhere! the reception was surly and room so bad, small, noisy, smelly, last decorated in the '80s, that we requested a change after the first night. we were moved to another room which at first glance seemed better, i,e, more recently decorated and a bit larger. in fact this turned out to be if anything worse: on the ground floor so that the noise was worse. the aircon was noisy and threw out a smell of cigarettes and mold, so we tried with the window open but this was noisy and we had cigarette smoke from the street. we moved to another nearby hotel the next night.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Etoile Trocadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Etoile Trocadero

Address: 21 rue Saint Didier, 75116 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Trocadero
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #961 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Etoile Trocadero 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fully air conditionned 3 star hotel Etoile Trocadero Paris is located in the famous 16th district of Paris within walking distance from the Trocadero square, the Arc de Triomphe, the Champs Elysees , the Eiffel Tower, the famous avenue Montaigne (the famous fashion avenue), the main embassies and the Palais des Congres located at the Porte Maillot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Etoile Trocadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etoile Trocadero Hotel
Etoile Trocadero Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Etoile Trocadero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.